DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-13-2012, 04:46 PM
csdrummer csdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 30
Posts: 6
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
csdrummer is on a distinguished road
Default Single disc res to rbz touch screen help please!

Hello everyone, I posted this in the general topic area but hope to have better luck here.

Have a question here and any info would be greatly appreciated.

I have a stock res single disc radio and pickedup a rbz touch screen 4959AH model off ebay and all hooks up but no power. Do i have the wrong bus speed, something wrong with the radio, not compatable, or something I have to do to make it work?

Again any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-13-2012, 05:52 PM
RansRAM's Avatar
RansRAM RansRAM is offline
Addicted to the Z


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 12,149
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Quad Cab 4X4 Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Rep Power: 15
Rep:2453
RansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I did the same thing, it should be a simple plug and play. Perhaps the unit is defective ? From what I remember you take the plugs off the RES and plug them into corresponding connectors on the RBZ. Mine powered right up as soon as I tried it. It initially showed a chrysler logo however the next power cycle it showed the RAM.
__________________
BT CC / Hood Kit, LED Tails, Recon 3rd Brake & Xtreme LightBar, Black Aluminum Side Steps, Leer 700, DeeZee Tailgate Assist, MOPAR Valve Caps, Lighted RAM hitch cover, Front Tow Hooks and Bed Post Hide-a-Hooks, Tints (20% frt, 35% rear and slider), Painted Engine Cover/Brake Calipers, K&N Drop in,OEM Fender Flares/ bug deflector, FM 40, SC Cortex, Oracle H11 LED Heads, 4000k Putco Fogs, LED Interior Lights, Honeycomb Grill, Bilstien 5100's.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2012, 09:56 PM
APSTRAM's Avatar
APSTRAM APSTRAM is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 48
Posts: 1,346
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2010-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 383hp 400lb/ft (2500/3500)
Rep Power: 4
Rep:82
APSTRAM will become famous soon enough
Default

From what I have found P05064959AH is the low speed version of the RBZ radio. Your truck needs the high speed version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-13-2012, 10:03 PM
RansRAM's Avatar
RansRAM RansRAM is offline
Addicted to the Z


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 12,149
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Quad Cab 4X4 Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Rep Power: 15
Rep:2453
RansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond reputeRansRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APSTRAM View Post
From what I have found P05064959AH is the low speed version of the RBZ radio. Your truck needs the high speed version.
Agree,missed that. Mine is the high speed one.
__________________
BT CC / Hood Kit, LED Tails, Recon 3rd Brake & Xtreme LightBar, Black Aluminum Side Steps, Leer 700, DeeZee Tailgate Assist, MOPAR Valve Caps, Lighted RAM hitch cover, Front Tow Hooks and Bed Post Hide-a-Hooks, Tints (20% frt, 35% rear and slider), Painted Engine Cover/Brake Calipers, K&N Drop in,OEM Fender Flares/ bug deflector, FM 40, SC Cortex, Oracle H11 LED Heads, 4000k Putco Fogs, LED Interior Lights, Honeycomb Grill, Bilstien 5100's.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2012, 01:30 AM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 17,987
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 18
Rep:2597
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

sorry Jeremy, you bought the LOW SPEED RBZ

http://www.oemautopartsco.com/usacan-low-speed-rbz-4959-30gb-p-160.html

the one that you needed is the HIGH SPEED RBZ
USA/CAN- HIGH SPEED RBZ 4678 (30GB)

http://www.oemautopartsco.com/usacan...30gb-p-33.html
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2012, 06:30 AM
csdrummer csdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 30
Posts: 6
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
csdrummer is on a distinguished road
Default

Thats what i thought. thats a bummer. So that will keep it from even powering up at all? Just now at least wanted to rule out it being defective before selling it back off or return it if it was defective.

thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2012, 08:13 AM
APSTRAM's Avatar
APSTRAM APSTRAM is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 48
Posts: 1,346
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2010-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 383hp 400lb/ft (2500/3500)
Rep Power: 4
Rep:82
APSTRAM will become famous soon enough
Default

Yes, no power at all. I did the same thing with my swap, the seller listed the radio as a high speed unit even though it was really low speed, luckly he was a local Ebay seller and took the radio back once he found out his mistake on the listing.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2012, 12:11 PM
06Stang's Avatar
06Stang 06Stang is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 218
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Granite
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:40
06Stang is on a distinguished road
Default

Cant use it all. What I did when I bought a low bus and needed a high bus was go onto ebay and look for someone selling a high bus because they needed a low bus. Sent them a message and swapped out for the cost of postage. Requires some trust between the two though.
__________________
Chrysler Jeep Accessories Tech
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2012, 01:17 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 17,987
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 18
Rep:2597
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

CAN bus (for controller area network) is a vehicle bus standard designed to allow micro controllers and devices to communicate with each other within a vehicle without a host computer

The High Speed CAN BUS is used in a few Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep/Ram vehicles
most of the vehicles still use the Low Speed CAN bus systems
the ones that use a LOT of micro controllers, must use the HIGH SPEED CAN BUS

What we call our Ram radio, is much more than just a radio, so they call it more of an INFOTAINMENT system.
The MYGIG radios talk to the EVIC, talk to your cell phones, & i am sure talk to a few other components

You could still bench test your High Can Bus Radio, just as you would bench test a Low Speed Can Bus radio
They use the same 12 volt power source, they connect up to the same antennas, the CD players are identical, they also use the same speakers.

The difference comes into play when the radios need to talk to the Vehicle, or visa versa

This is the best that i can explain it, using my limited knowledge

I hope this helps a bit
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:52 AM
csdrummer csdrummer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Age: 30
Posts: 6
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
csdrummer is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the replys everyone! Another question before getting into the same boat im in now. I want to upgrade to the touch screen with sirius, back up camera ready, hard drive, and u connect ready. which part numbers would these be?

Also I'm assuming the gold plug on the back is the sirius radio antenna... but some units have a white serial plug and some dont... what is that plug... I just dont want to end up witb a radio i cannot add the camera to.

Thanks again in advance!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:57 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum