DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 3rd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-02-2013, 04:57 PM
08Dram1500 08Dram1500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: brooksville, FL
Age: 25
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram 1500
Color: Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
08Dram1500 is on a distinguished road
Default Cruise Control issues??????

I recently replaced both front hub assemblys on my 2008 dodge ram 1500 4.7L and now my cruise control works only between 30mph-40 and 55-65mph, anywhere outside that range and the cruise light wont even turn on? i had to use all the old wiring when replacing the hub assembly because the new connector on the hub assembly didn't match up to my original wiring but all that looks fine? I have no idea what could be doing that, i would assume the wiring or connectors not being put on well, tonight i'm gonna take a more detailed look and see if i can hopefully fix it. i would appreciate any opinions or help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-03-2013, 12:01 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

Got any speed sensor codes in the ABS module or PCM?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2013, 10:28 PM
08Dram1500 08Dram1500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: brooksville, FL
Age: 25
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram 1500
Color: Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
08Dram1500 is on a distinguished road
Default

Ill take the truck to auto zone and have them use the scan tool and see what they can find out?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:38 PM
namccanna's Avatar
namccanna namccanna is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 134
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn Edition
Color: Black & Chrome
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:50
namccanna will become famous soon enough
Default

How did you retrofit your old wiring on the new hubs? From my understanding of the speed sensor is that it is basically permanently attached to the hub assembly. My GUESS would be that this retrofit would be the issue.

If the new hub connections don't match your truck's connections, I would question the parts store where you purchased them if they are the proper hub assemblies. The aftermarket hubs should match your truck!
__________________
I WELD FOR MONEY! IF YOU WANT LOYALTY.....BUY A DOG!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2013, 11:53 AM
08Dram1500 08Dram1500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: brooksville, FL
Age: 25
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram 1500
Color: Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
08Dram1500 is on a distinguished road
Default

There is a male piece and a female piece on wiring with old hub assembly wiring to attach to vehicle wiring(sensor wiring), the male piece on the new assembly would not fit into the female piece on the vehicle wiring so i just cut a piece of the wiring out of the old hub assembly with (proper male piece) and then put that onto new hub assembly wiring. so the new hub assembly had the proper fitting now to just put together. the male and female pieces i'm speaking of are plastic pieces, sensor connections. I would have to agree that the retrofit must be the issue but it still puzzles me as to how the cruise control is working at certain speeds just fine but not working at other speeds whatsoever? I completely agree with you again, i was in a rush and impatient father was helping with vehicle so we just worked with what we got. The hub assembly them selves matched fine, it was just the cruise control sensor wiring connection didn't match up with the new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum