DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-03-2013, 10:01 AM
Sporty12 Sporty12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Collingswood, NJ
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Sport Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Sporty12 is on a distinguished road
Default Push Button Start

The 2013 Rams are equipped with push button start. I was wondering if any Ram owners have looked into having it installed in your Ram. I called the service department of the dealer where I bought my 2012, and was told it couldn't be done.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-03-2013, 11:04 AM
King D King D is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Alberta
Age: 31
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
King D is on a distinguished road
Default

This is the one thing I would have liked to have on my 2012...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2013, 11:17 AM
gusman's Avatar
gusman gusman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester, MA
Age: 26
Posts: 566
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black on Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:47
gusman is on a distinguished road
Default

it's a whole integrated system on the 2013's and includes different exterior door handles with integrated lock buttons on them. I'm assuming to add it aftermarket would be more expensive than trading in and trading up to a '13 with it..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2013, 11:42 AM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 15
Rep:4373
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

It can be done but after market only on the 2012 and below, cost, Around 600$, I looked into this cause I wanted it, the problem is the wire harness and sensor system that needs to be installed into the truck. 2013 you can order it, you will probably not be able to after the fact install it if it was not ordered originally. but then again who knows. You might be able to. I did not do the after market on cause there are way more mods I could do for that 600$, and that was not installed.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2013, 01:03 PM
Sporty12 Sporty12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Collingswood, NJ
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Sport Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Sporty12 is on a distinguished road
Default

I had it in my SRT8 Challenger, and got a little spoiled. I, now wish I would've waited for the 2013s, but I wasn't crazy about having a knob instead of a shifter.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2013, 02:28 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 15
Rep:4373
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Feel the same way lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2013, 02:35 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member



 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 44
Posts: 13,487
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1909
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sporty12 View Post
I had it in my SRT8 Challenger, and got a little spoiled. I, now wish I would've waited for the 2013s, but I wasn't crazy about having a knob instead of a shifter.
Not all Rams have the knob. I drove a Big Horn the other day that has the console shifter.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2013, 03:49 PM
gusman's Avatar
gusman gusman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Rochester, MA
Age: 26
Posts: 566
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black on Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:47
gusman is on a distinguished road
Default

^ My '13 sport has shifter. Knob is only for 8 speed trans coming out in the spring
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2013, 06:39 PM
GNIUS GNIUS is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 29
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
GNIUS is on a distinguished road
Default

anyone look into the jeep grand cherokee push start? My parents just bought an '13 grand cherokee and it has our key fob with a push button. Basically you can pop the push button off and still start the car.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2013, 06:43 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 15
Rep:4373
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GNIUS View Post
anyone look into the jeep grand cherokee push start? My parents just bought an '13 grand cherokee and it has our key fob with a push button. Basically you can pop the push button off and still start the car.

correct, as long as the FOB is located withing the cabin Driver area, you can start it with the push button, the issue with old vehicles, they do not have a sensor strong enough to pick up the FOB on your person to get the code from the FOB, so for the push button to work, they install a bunch of sensors around the cabin to pick up the FOB information. with out the wire harness and all the sensors installed, it can't see the FOB. The complete kit "after market I found was over 600$ not installed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors