DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 03-11-2013, 11:49 PM
Chromag Chromag is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 216
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Don't own a Dodge
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Chromag is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuabroad View Post
When connected it'll show as MTP above the SD card in the source device listing onscreen
MTP stands for Media Transfer Protocol. My understanding of it is that it only supports playing media files stored on your phone. It does not support audio streaming with Pandora or other music phone apps.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #32  
Old 03-11-2013, 11:52 PM
stuabroad stuabroad is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: From Scotland to Alberta
Posts: 92
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Sport Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Sport fully loaded
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:36
stuabroad is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromag View Post
MTP stands for Media Transfer Protocol. My understanding of it is that it only supports playing media files stored on your phone. It does not support audio streaming with Pandora or other music phone apps.
yeah i wasn't relating it to app streaming, just playing standard MP3 content.
__________________
14" FlowMaster | Black power-coated tailpipes | Debadged | Tint | Stubby Anteannae
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-12-2013, 12:01 AM
Chromag Chromag is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 216
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Don't own a Dodge
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Chromag is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stuabroad View Post
yeah i wasn't relating it to app streaming, just playing standard MP3 content.
Sorry - I was referring to another post. I only quoted yours because you mentioned the MTP icon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vdubbry View Post
So maybe I am not configuring my phone right, do you know if the USB port in there is only to play music loaded on the phone/ipod? I was trying to use it for Pandora and another app I use that streams my iTunes library, I don't have my songs stored on the phone itself.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-12-2013, 05:40 AM
gto90 gto90 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 63
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:17
gto90 is on a distinguished road
Default

I can not be 100% on this but I plugged in my Iphone
And started pandora and it did play... But then the POS
Stopped working.. But I couldn't stream my music either
So I say yes you can for the few minutes your port works.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-12-2013, 02:53 PM
Vdubbry Vdubbry is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Maryland
Age: 36
Posts: 41
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Vdubbry is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok thanks, yes that is strange! That's why I thought it did in fact play Pandora from the USB port, it did for a few seconds when I first got the truck, then things went wonky and it never did it again.

Also when it did that, a thing popped up on my iphone saying I needed to download an app to work with this accessory and it never launched an app. Hmmmm.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-13-2013, 04:04 PM
av41medic's Avatar
av41medic av41medic is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 145
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 4X4 CC
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:16
av41medic is on a distinguished road
Default

Lost all my XM presets again today..grrr
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-18-2013, 05:42 PM
GooeyDuck GooeyDuck is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Maximum Steel
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
GooeyDuck is on a distinguished road
Default

Anyone heard anything new about the radio reset issue?...ive been in twice now and still no definite answer from them. They told me it was a static buildup behind the radio and that unplugging everything would solve the problem...not true. They had my truck for the day...did the work and said it shouldnt happen again...and it did. I got a call from chrysler the other day asking about truck satisfaction...i told them this issue has been happening to lots of people so hopefully if enough people bring it up it will become a recall. Nice truck other than that.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 04-22-2013, 01:36 PM
joeramirez joeramirez is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 18
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Laramie 4x4
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joeramirez is on a distinguished road
Default

Bump. Any updates yet?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 04-23-2013, 06:23 AM
MrHammond MrHammond is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
MrHammond is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeramirez View Post
Bump. Any updates yet?
My resets now are about once a week and are often just after I start the truck comes on for 10 seconds then re-boots. Not always, sometimes in the middle of the drive.
It did something new yesterday the touch screen was working but It ignored any external input: The tune button on the steering wheel did not work. It did not display the Fan display when I changed the setting, Back up camera did not display. Turned off engine, waited until radio shut off, turned on and still the same. A few hours later I tried it and it was back to normal.
No sense taking it to a dealer, they will just say: cannot duplicate concern. The truck otherwise is awesome, such a shame the Uconnect has these issues. I hope they are taking this seriously
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 04-25-2013, 01:23 PM
Keg3me Keg3me is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Longhorn
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Metallic Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
Keg3me is on a distinguished road
Default

I had my screen locked up this morning, with no way to turn the radio off or on, and no volume control from either the head unit or the steering wheel controls.

I got to work and shut the truck off, and went back two hours later, and all is well.

I hate ghost problems like this....already had a Chevy Tahoe go back to GM under the lemon law due to an unresolved error.

Hopefully Dodge gets this figured out! Nothing more frustrating than having a truck for four days and already having to go thru this type of crap.

Also, great info on this site - thank to y'all!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjmlakota View Post
I found this on another forum (thanks boomer135). I Was having issues with my radio reseting at least once a day. After reading another forum, I competed the following.

NOTE: do at your own risk!!

"Hold both the Heating and cooling buttons for 5 seconds, I have dual climate so I held both drivers and passenger side heating and cooling, for 5 seconds.

Then you will enter the "secret" engineering menu.

You can scroll down and reset to factory settings

the system will reboot, and you have now reset your system."

After The reset the radio and menus were completely different from when I received the truck. I thought I really screwed up. Prior to doing the reset I had the ram logo on the screen and everything was orange and black. After the reset i had the uconnect emblem and everything was blue and black. The buttons in the bottom menu were different as well. The settings were complete different too.

The next morning I called and made an appointment to bring my truck in. Well, when I got off the phone, I went out and started the truck. When the radio came on everything was back to normal. The only thing I can think is the radio download the correct software over the air through the night.

So far everything has been working great. Hopefully this will correct my reset issues.

Again do the following at your own risk.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2013 ram, uconnect issue, uconnect reboots, uconnect resets

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:19 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum