DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > 4th Gen UConnect
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 05-02-2013, 07:35 PM
scanner scanner is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Eastern NC
Age: 60
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Laramie 5.7 Hemi 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
scanner is on a distinguished road
Default My 8.4an troubles...

Let me jump in to say I also am having problems with 8.4an. Mine also resets the preset channels on satellite and I have to reprogram them in. This radio has already been replaced by dealer because Sirius kept cutting out. The new radio still cuts out Sirius (Accquiring Satelite Signal) alot and looses presets. In addition, sometimes it will not "see" the SD Card. Or it will see it but not play anything. This seems to happen sometimes when I put it in reverse, but not always. The only way I can get it to come back (play the card) is to shut off truck, open driver door, count to 10 and start it up again.

Strange thing is that the NAV works absolutely perfect and has never missed a beat! In fact, it's probably the best onboard NAV system I've ever had. Go figure.

Anyway, it' back to the dealer Monday for some more head scratching.

Great forum! Glad I foumd you guys! Lots of good info here.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #42  
Old 05-31-2013, 09:59 AM
ldesabrais's Avatar
ldesabrais ldesabrais is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: BC
Age: 38
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ldesabrais is on a distinguished road
Default

I too am having these same issues. The thing reboots itself randomly, 3 times so far and I have only had the truck for a little over a month. Today was a new issue, my screen froze, well everything froze. It was stuck on SXM, not playing music anymore, even the time froze in both the main screen and my screen behind the steering wheel. I stopped for a coffee, started my truck back up and it was still frozen. Got to work and sat in the parking lot, turned off the ignition, opened and closed the driver door and let it power down, then turned the key to ACC and everything was fine again... Frustrating.
I love the system and love the truck, but they need to fix these problems, too many of us having them.
Awesome forum, I have learned a lot on here!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 07-19-2013, 02:35 PM
MrHammond MrHammond is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
MrHammond is on a distinguished road
Default Fixed????

Fingers Crossed. I had an oil change a 6 weeks ago and they did a number of updates, one was to the Uconnect 8.4. It seems to come up immediately every time, no reboots so far. Will keep you posted.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-09-2013, 04:04 PM
MrHammond MrHammond is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
MrHammond is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrHammond View Post
Fingers Crossed. I had an oil change a 6 weeks ago and they did a number of updates, one was to the Uconnect 8.4. It seems to come up immediately every time, no reboots so far. Will keep you posted.
Bummer - went a long time without resetting but it did it today in spades:
Locked up when I started the truck, had to power down and try again. Took a long time coming up, up for about 30 seconds then rebooted. 15 minutes later rebooted again.

Anyone else have any updates. Do we need to live with this? I wont, I will sell it and stick with Chevy, Ive never had issues like this.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-09-2013, 05:46 PM
skooter125 skooter125 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Nebraska
Age: 33
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: White monotone
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
skooter125 is on a distinguished road
Default

Just did the full reset (hold the drivers temp up and down) with ram Uconnect for my presets being reset. once the radio is reset to factory you have to let it sit for 30 min. She called back after 30min to tell me to turn on the truck and let things load, then we shut if off turn it back on to make sure everything was working still. The lady at Uconnect was very helpful. The dealer didn't know anything. For now everything is working and i have my app button back.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-09-2013, 06:46 PM
Gonzo Gonzo is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Texas
Age: 26
Posts: 18
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram CC
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Gonzo is on a distinguished road
Default

My screen has been black and not turned on for two days. Very frustrating! I wish i could of opted for a regular radio.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-16-2013, 12:25 PM
parambliss parambliss is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Barrie, ON
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
parambliss is on a distinguished road
Default Same Issue here

Same thing happening here. It would restart randomly. Took to the dealer and they could not diagnose. Since they could not even replicate the issue, they would do nothing to fix it. On the way back from dealer it totally froze on me. What a shame.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:22 PM
Yotaconvert Yotaconvert is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cibolo, Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 85
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Baby
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:172
Yotaconvert has a spectacular aura aboutYotaconvert has a spectacular aura about
Default

Going through the same issues with mine right now....it would seem that this kind of issue would have been resolved in the 10 months or so since its release.

Mine also takes out the climate control completely when the screen goes black. NO FAN BLOWING WHATSOEVER...Its 100 degrees here in Tx and I travel a lot and also have a 1 and 3 year old. This isnt gonna fly.

I traded in a 2012 Tundra on this hoping not to have these issues. The dealer is trying to resolve it but its been in the shop 5 times in its 1200 miles......
__________________
2013 Black Beauty
-Spyder Halo/Projecter/LEDs
-SB CAI
-Flowmaster 40
-Bullydog Hemi GT
-MB Rims (cuz im cheap lol)
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:41 PM
2013Sport's Avatar
2013Sport 2013Sport is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Quebec
Age: 25
Posts: 110
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
2013Sport is on a distinguished road
Default

I tried the reset in the ''secret menu'' and nothing. The only fix is a new screen... I've been waiting since May for mine .

Anyone ever notice the back up camera has a little lag time? It feels like its not direct feed from the screen to the camera... Almost ran into a poll once loll.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-19-2013, 09:52 PM
Yotaconvert Yotaconvert is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cibolo, Texas
Age: 34
Posts: 85
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Baby
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:172
Yotaconvert has a spectacular aura aboutYotaconvert has a spectacular aura about
Default

If they tell me its gonna be months its not gonna end quietly
__________________
2013 Black Beauty
-Spyder Halo/Projecter/LEDs
-SB CAI
-Flowmaster 40
-Bullydog Hemi GT
-MB Rims (cuz im cheap lol)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2013 ram, uconnect issue, uconnect reboots, uconnect resets

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:40 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors