DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2011 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2011 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2011 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-12-2013, 02:40 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,619
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default Quick question on running wires

I am installing a front camera and I am trying to find an easy acess point that I do Not have to drill into anything to run the wire threw the firewall. I see a few groments with wires going threw already but they are pretty tight. What's the easiest safest place for one thick wire with the video out plug to go threw?

Last edited by nikeman; 02-12-2013 at 02:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-12-2013, 03:19 PM
ronnie11223's Avatar
ronnie11223 ronnie11223 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brooklyn NY
Age: 39
Posts: 39
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram sport 1500
Trim Level: sport
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ronnie11223 is on a distinguished road
Default

on the main grommet there is a blank tit so to speak you should only have to nip off the tip and you should be able to run your wire threw that I will try to get a pic of it and post it later I used this to feed the wires from my rear cam
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2013, 04:42 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,619
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

I pushed on a small grommet under the big main one and it pushed it pretty easy. I just ran it threw the bottom of that one and it worked perfectly. Put the wire inside right above the gas pedal so I could just go straight under the carpet and to the lockpic
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2013, 09:59 PM
Connman67 Connman67 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vacaville, California
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Outdoorsman SLT
Color: black/gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Connman67 is on a distinguished road
Default

Pick a place, there are a few to choose from(Existing holes) There is also a blank plastic plate just below where the steering column that goes through the firewall. You can drill a small hole there, the replacement piece is a couple of bucks if you later change your mind, no biggie. For just a wire, i would just use one that already has crap running through it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2013, 10:00 PM
Connman67 Connman67 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vacaville, California
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Outdoorsman SLT
Color: black/gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Connman67 is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you buy a lockpic?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2013, 10:33 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,619
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

I do have a lockpic and now I have a front camera installed! It would have only taken 10 mins if I could get the wire inside from the start. Very easy!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2013, 10:35 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,619
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

On a side note though. The screen still goes back to the main menu instead of going back to what ever video I was on after the auto function disengages for either front or back camera.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:49 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,619
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

Looks like ill have to call them and see what the deal is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum