DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 03-22-2013, 05:56 PM
mrpositraction mrpositraction is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Janesville, WI
Age: 33
Posts: 188
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Ram 1500 Sport Crew
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:95
mrpositraction will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemmisis1 View Post
No problem running 55w in the projector? Also I think I'm going with a 55w canbus 5k kit... Low beams and fogs.... What r ur thoughts? Also know any place where we can get a decent price for them besides retro and gtr?..... 200 a kit is high. I have seen kits on eBay 55w decent kits for 100-125 bucks canbus non the less...
I don't know much about the canbus kits, but stay away from the cheap ebay imitations. I purposely bought a cheap set and a **************** kit about a 1.5 years ago to compare quality. The difference starts from you open the package and the light output quality was night and day.

I ran **************** in three of my vehicles in the past (including my current) and haven't had one issue. I love them.
__________________
2013 F150 Ecoboost SCrew FX4
5* Tune, AFE 2 Intake
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #12  
Old 03-22-2013, 06:13 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathstalkr View Post
Asur,

Can you link or PM the link to the blubs you used. I'd be interested in buying them given your input.

Can anyone tell me the difference in lighting. I've read on this topic multiple times and it just confuses me for some reason. As I understand it, the sport comes with low beam projectors and high beams that aren't, correct?

Bottom line: Do I need to install a 'canbus' on my '13 sport with the projectors or is that only for the high beams?

Sorry for the highjack...

Mike
I use ****************, have bought over 12 kits from them and never had an issue, many use there kits here on the site, some with great results others with some issues. I serious have had no issues with them. Now that being said, I only heard of issues with some on the 2013, so I would check with them and confirm there kits are fully running on the 2013, email sales to the attention of Todd, they are slow answering cause they have about 300 emails a day for quarries. But they have been great for me up to date. There not cheap, but Ebay is give or take, you pay for what you get, My projectors are Morimoto D2S, I built my own headlamps, but all my bulbs and ballasts and wire-harnesses are ****************.

answers to your questions.

Can you link or PM the link to the blubs you used. I'd be interested in buying them given your input.

As indicated, I used other bulbs than those on the 2013, D2S is what I used, but the HID bulb you need is different for your projectors, check with
Todd, he will tell you the bulb you need.


Can anyone tell me the difference in lighting. I've read on this topic multiple times and it just confuses me for some reason. As I understand it, the sport comes with low beam projectors and high beams that aren't, correct?

If you have the projector headlamps, your lows are projectors (looks like a magnifier glass lens) and your highs are standards reflectors

Bottom line: Do I need to install a 'canbus' on my '13 sport with the projectors or is that only for the high beams?

each set you replace you can get either a canbus system or a wire harness system HID kit. I have only used a wire harness for replacing bulbs with HID's, some swear this is the best way because your running on your battery direct, other prefer and swear by the canbus system cause its less complicated to install. Some have other reasons. its really a personnel preference. I have a set of canbus as a spare in case.

So if you replace your fogs, your lows and your highs, your talking about 6 bulbs, 6 ballasts if your running canbus, and if you go wire harness, you will need 3 wire harnesses, you can also go canbus for your fogs, and wire-harness for your lows, etc. like I said, personal preferences.



Hopefully this gives you some info, you can go to ****************.net and check out there FAQ's, lots of great info in there to understand stuff.

End of the day, you pay for what you get, with 12 kits installed, and not one with an issue, I love my Retro's
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-22-2013, 06:29 PM
Deathstalkr Deathstalkr is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: WA
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Ram Sport
Trim Level: Crew Cab
Color: White
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
Deathstalkr is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the reply. I definitely need to do some more reading and figure out what would be best for my situation.

You cleared up some of the differences I was concerned about. Thanks again.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:51 PM
buckmaster buckmaster is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Age: 67
Posts: 102
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Deep Cherry PearlCoat / White Gold
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:16
buckmaster is on a distinguished road
Default

ASUR,
Do you get any error messages on you Evic? Like "headlamp out" using the Retro setup.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:55 PM
s1000rrhp s1000rrhp is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Calgary
Age: 33
Posts: 312
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
s1000rrhp is on a distinguished road
Default

I run the canbus system only 35w don't need the hassle of 55w problems. Canbus system is nice for the 2013s because it is plug and play and you won't get errors on your evic
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-22-2013, 07:59 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckmaster View Post
ASUR,
Do you get any error messages on you Evic? Like "headlamp out" using the Retro setup.

No errors with my kit
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-22-2013, 08:06 PM
buckmaster buckmaster is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Age: 67
Posts: 102
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Deep Cherry PearlCoat / White Gold
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:16
buckmaster is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the input. I know where to buy the Retro setup because you have posted it before. Where can I purchase the Canbus system? I have seen several that are called Canbus including the some of the cheap ones listed on ebay. I agree that a relay with harness is needed as the ignition requirement for the hids can be 20 amps and they could be a strain on the OEM harness, switch, etc. Relaying it directly from the battery makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-22-2013, 08:59 PM
mrpositraction mrpositraction is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Janesville, WI
Age: 33
Posts: 188
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Ram 1500 Sport Crew
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:95
mrpositraction will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s1000rrhp View Post
I run the canbus system only 35w don't need the hassle of 55w problems. Canbus system is nice for the 2013s because it is plug and play and you won't get errors on your evic
I keep hearing you talk about 55W problems. What are these problems you speak of?

I also have 2013 and don't get any error messages, I even posted a video to prove it. Also, the retro-solution is also plug and play, you cut no wires. They provide a harness that goes to the battery for direct voltage and that runs to the ballasts.

Isn't the Canbus system more expensive also? I thought I heard you say it was $250. I paid $145 shipped for my **************** kit shipped.
__________________
2013 F150 Ecoboost SCrew FX4
5* Tune, AFE 2 Intake

Last edited by mrpositraction; 03-22-2013 at 09:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:43 AM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buckmaster View Post
Thanks for the input. I know where to buy the Retro setup because you have posted it before. Where can I purchase the Canbus system? I have seen several that are called Canbus including the some of the cheap ones listed on ebay. I agree that a relay with harness is needed as the ignition requirement for the hids can be 20 amps and they could be a strain on the OEM harness, switch, etc. Relaying it directly from the battery makes sense.
You are correct, which is why I still prefer a wire harness, at the end of the day you wont burn out your plugs, or strain your switch etc, both 50/55 watt HID kits draw significant current, over 10 amps for almost 250ms, so lets say you install 6 canbus ballast, you going to draw for 250ms a shot to the OEM harness of 60amps, compared to halogen bulbs of maybe 25 - 30 amps. In 4 -5 years how much damage will it do to your OEM wire harness and switches. If you sell the truck or swap it in at the dealer, you can pull everything out, and just plug your old bulbs back up no issues, so its not like you have to hard wire anything, many think that cause your putting in a harness your hard wiring it into the truck and get Canbus plug in ballasts instead. Since I only bought one kit of canbus as a spare I picked it up on Ebay, I wanted to test it on my truck also. Its nothing special and have not run it more than for testing so I cannot give you a good link on where to get a great Canbus ballast. Now that being said, I would still check with Retro what they have come up with for the error message in the EVIC for the 2013's, by now they must of setup a kit that will not give this issue. Also it would be nice to find out from the Canbus people what there current draw is. My Canbus ballast indicates a 5amp draw on running but does not tell me my startup draw.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-23-2013, 03:06 PM
mrpositraction mrpositraction is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Janesville, WI
Age: 33
Posts: 188
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Ram 1500 Sport Crew
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:95
mrpositraction will become famous soon enough
Default

I HAVE A 2013, I HAVE NO ERROR MESSAGES ON THE EVIC

Is nobody reading this?
__________________
2013 F150 Ecoboost SCrew FX4
5* Tune, AFE 2 Intake
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:06 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum