DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > 4.7L PowerTech V8 Specific Topics
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-25-2013, 07:00 AM
joe102951's Avatar
joe102951 joe102951 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: gilroy , ca
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: slt 2wd
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joe102951 is on a distinguished road
Default Sensor problems

when i try to start my truck every morning, it will turn over like 2 or 3 times then stop. i try it again and same thing. it takes about 4 or 5 times before it starts.(after its warmed up it starts 1st time sometimes) when i drive it it drives fine. but when i come to a stop the idle is really low sometimes it shuts off. and sometimes when i come to a stop and put it in park it shuts off. actually that happens alot. Ive replaced the IAC/IAT sensor and the other senor on the throttle body. and still does it. when it finally starts in the mornings it will idle normal for about a few mins then the idle goes really low. sometimes it dies . an once in awhile it will rev up then go low then rev up again and then go low . Am ready to drive it off a cliff lol. i cant figure out what is wrong. but when i drive it it runs fine its when i come to a stop that the idle is really low and dies out sometimes. DOES ANY`1 KNOW WHAT IT COULD BE?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:26 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 28
Posts: 13,493
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 13
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

Do you have any check engine lights? I'm wondering if it could be the cam position sensor.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:33 AM
joe102951's Avatar
joe102951 joe102951 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: gilroy , ca
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: slt 2wd
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joe102951 is on a distinguished road
Default

yes pcode 0113 a sensor has high voltage or somthing like that. but it just came on when i disconnected the battery for like 2hrs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:40 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 28
Posts: 13,493
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 13
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

That's the only code?

Try removing the IAT sensor and leaving it off and see if drive ability improves. You said you already tried replacing the IAT sensor, correct? It may be the connection or the harness. Check for a frayed wire, etc. at the IAT or near the IAT.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:43 AM
joe102951's Avatar
joe102951 joe102951 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: gilroy , ca
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: slt 2wd
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joe102951 is on a distinguished road
Default

thanks all try it on my way to work. it should run right ? lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:45 AM
SuperiorStyles's Avatar
SuperiorStyles SuperiorStyles is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 305 MIAMI AKA ZOMBIELAND
Age: 32
Posts: 356
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge RAM 4.8L 290ci
Trim Level: Quad Cab SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
SuperiorStyles is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to SuperiorStyles Send a message via Yahoo to SuperiorStyles
Default

I just had this problem 2 months ago. What I found I will tell you to do first before going crazy changing sensors and wasting money. When I had the problem I changed the Crank and Camshaft sensors and the problem continued well after continuing to have the issue I cleaned the Throttle body completely and replaced my Intake air Temp sensor and amazing it helped and I have not had a problem since. If I was you do the reverse of what I did cleaned the throttle body real good and replace the Intake Air temp sensor check it out see if it fixes the problem .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:47 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 28
Posts: 13,493
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 13
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

Yes it should lol. Removing the IAT will decrease performance but it will run ok. If you have an issue with the harness/connector you may be getting a temperature reading that is WAY off. This might cause driveability problems. The sensor works on a voltage that is read by the computer and translated to a temperature. So say 1v = 50 deg F and 4v = 200 deg F (I'm making the numbers up). If it's got an issue in the harness/connector it may be reading the wrong voltage. So say it's supposed to be reading 70 deg F and it's incorrectly reading 200 deg F it will adjust the air/fuel ratio incorrectly.

I'm not sure this is your problem, but start here. Usually IAT sensors make minor adjustments that wouldn't cause your issue. Are you sure that's the only check engine code?
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:47 AM
joe102951's Avatar
joe102951 joe102951 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: gilroy , ca
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: slt 2wd
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joe102951 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks i will try that !!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:49 AM
joe102951's Avatar
joe102951 joe102951 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: gilroy , ca
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: slt 2wd
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joe102951 is on a distinguished road
Default

yes so far its the only code comming up
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:53 AM
joe102951's Avatar
joe102951 joe102951 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: gilroy , ca
Age: 39
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: slt 2wd
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
joe102951 is on a distinguished road
Default

let me make sure am thinking of the right sensor .... its located on the black air box right? not on the intake manifold? cause i see a spot next to the throttle body on the intake but nothing is screwed into it..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:26 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors