DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 04-25-2013, 08:12 PM
Biffster2001 Biffster2001 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 44
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport CC
Trim Level: Sport 6speed
Color: Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Biffster2001 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a 8.4AN. And have auto time turned off.
I have to set my clock once a week to get back on time.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #12  
Old 04-26-2013, 01:08 AM
Pic18 Pic18 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 88
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
Pic18 is on a distinguished road
Default

I never noticed if it loses time, but it aggravates that the time on the radio has to be manually set, but the time on the Vic is automatic, and doesn't necessarily match the time I set. It is annoying that there can be 2 different times shown in the same vehicle on factory systems.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-26-2013, 10:46 AM
theGSE10's Avatar
theGSE10 theGSE10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: VA
Age: 25
Posts: 310
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4WD Crew Cab
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Maximum Steel
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:33
theGSE10 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myrk View Post
I have this same issue! 8.4A (no nav, so no GPS).

I typically lose 1 minute for each 7-8 minutes of drive time. It's infuriating. I applied the latest update last night but no help. It did seem to make a difference with the temperature gauge though.

I think the issue is with the display, not the underlying clock. This morning I noticed it was stuck on 7:13 for about 5 minutes. When I went to set the clock the "set" buttons read "7" and "18". I hit the "+" button and the clock display updated.

My theory is the display is set to update on an "event". IOW, the clock changes time and sends an event to the display to move forward one minute. If the display is busy (we already know the head unit is doing a ton of stuff) it misses the event and doesn't move. Maybe the next few minutes it receives the "event" and moves forward. Then it misses another one, etc. Eventually, you're several minutes behind.

I also have issues with the compass being wrong - typically it's 90 or 180 degrees off and it usually changes when I turn but remains the same 90 or 180 degrees off. Because it changes, my suspicion is that it is also set to update via an "event" - like the mechanical compass turning 45 or 90 degrees. If the display misses an event it winds up off.

My other piece of anecdotal evidence is the issue with the temperature gauge being off. Before updating last night my gauge would frequently be wrong by a few degrees. It would rarely change. Today, it's changing frequently. I suspect they fixed an issue with detecting the temperature change "event" in the most recent update.

I'm hopeful this is the case is because this would indicate the clock and compass problems are a SW issue and are fixable - like the temperature gauge. My theory is just a theory, but next time you notice your clock is off and go to set it - pay attention to what the display on the "clock set" reads. Is it accurate?
Thanks, I'm glad i'm not the only one having trouble with this. I have to say I agree with you, I think it must operate like that and is most likely the cause if the problem. I havent updated my truck yet but it doesnt sound like thats the fix either. Hopefully they come out with another update soon cause it is kind of annoying! I guess for now I'll just have to check my phone every once in a while to correct it.

BTW do you think it could have anything to do with the engine going into ECO (cylinder deactivation) mode? I noticed when the A/C is on full blast and it goes into ECO the air speed drops slightly. Think the clock issue might be because of a jump or lack of power from the alternator when it kicks in and out of that mode? Just curious on anyone's thought?
__________________
Hellwig Sway Bar, Green filter, Borla XR-1, Line-X, Bak RollX, JBA TCC Shorty's, Raptor 4" nerf, Hunter Bull Bar, 20" Cree LB, Moroso Catch Can, Bilsteins @ 2.8, Fox 2.0 rear, TGC 1.75 spacer, Air Lift 1000, Bak Box 2, Trinity T1000

Pics: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ut4enlwx4fslgd8/slpdRXv6z2

Last edited by theGSE10; 04-26-2013 at 10:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-26-2013, 03:09 PM
Myrk Myrk is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
Myrk is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm still only ~500 miles on my truck but I haven't noticed ECO mode kick in (assuming there would be an "ECO" symbol displayed in the EVIC somewhere like my wife's Durango has). Since I haven't noticed ECO mode and the clock issue is constant I'm not sure there's a link there.

Of course, I also haven't noticed a separate clock displayed in the EVIC. Where is that? I don't see it on any of the hard-coded pages and the customizable display page doesn't list "clock" as an option. Am I missing the obvious?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-26-2013, 03:46 PM
Grimass Grimass is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 204
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Ram
Rep Power: 3
Rep:76
Grimass will become famous soon enough
Default

Perhaps just buy a watch?
__________________
--
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-26-2013, 05:40 PM
ewb's Avatar
ewb ewb is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 85
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 dodge ram cc
Rep Power: 5
Rep:171
ewb has a spectacular aura aboutewb has a spectacular aura about
Default

Well I downloaded the new version and it seem to fix most of the issues but today the radio station froze up on me and couldnt change stations but then I changed it to satellite from fm and it at least did that and then to the sd card and that work but when I put it back on fm and the only station that it froze on it still wouldnt change to another station so the new version doesnt completely fix all the issues. Currently waiting for the next one so my 40k truck works properly. I still think the individuals who signed off on the release of this should be fired.
__________________
Walter
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-26-2013, 06:07 PM
satan47's Avatar
satan47 satan47 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Diego
Age: 36
Posts: 178
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Express
Color: Mineral Gray Metallic
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
satan47 is on a distinguished road
Default

i have had issue with the temp gauge on the evic. it will sometimes stay at the wrong temp for periods of time and then all the sudden jump to the correct temp. i know it is wrong because it says 66 when it is clearly closer to 75-80 degress out.
__________________
LineX,10tint,AriesW2Wsteps,Sonnaxbooster,20x9XDMon sters,295/65/20 TrailGrapplers, 4" CST lift, rear 1.5" spacers/5100's, 87mmTB,SB CAI,18" Maganflow/Y pipe,BT Catchcan, T1000, Factory 4.10s, transgo shift kit and JBA headers, Maghytec diff/tranny cover
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-26-2013, 06:08 PM
satan47's Avatar
satan47 satan47 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: San Diego
Age: 36
Posts: 178
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Express
Color: Mineral Gray Metallic
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
satan47 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewb View Post
Well I downloaded the new version and it seem to fix most of the issues but today the radio station froze up on me and couldnt change stations but then I changed it to satellite from fm and it at least did that and then to the sd card and that work but when I put it back on fm and the only station that it froze on it still wouldnt change to another station so the new version doesnt completely fix all the issues. Currently waiting for the next one so my 40k truck works properly. I still think the individuals who signed off on the release of this should be fired.

what is the downlaod and where would i find it and how would i get it into my vehicles computer?
__________________
LineX,10tint,AriesW2Wsteps,Sonnaxbooster,20x9XDMon sters,295/65/20 TrailGrapplers, 4" CST lift, rear 1.5" spacers/5100's, 87mmTB,SB CAI,18" Maganflow/Y pipe,BT Catchcan, T1000, Factory 4.10s, transgo shift kit and JBA headers, Maghytec diff/tranny cover
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-26-2013, 11:21 PM
Myrk Myrk is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
Myrk is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by satan47 View Post
what is the downlaod and where would i find it and how would i get it into my vehicles computer?
Go here: http://www.driveuconnect.com/support/ramtrucks/

Click on "System Updates" and enter your VIN. You should have an update available for download. Be sure to read the instructions as you should not apply the update if you get a warning when your system starts up.

You'll need a formatted USB drive with, I think, ~1GB free space. The update is in an ISO file. You copy it to the USB then take it to the truck. The directions will tell you when to insert it into the USB port. The radio will recognize it, mount it, and then ask whether you want to proceed with the upgrade.

Took me about 10 mins to download and another 10 mins to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-27-2013, 08:21 AM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,622
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 5
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

Are people having the clock issue with the nav and auto time set to on?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors