DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-01-2013, 12:36 PM
Dmcphee13ram Dmcphee13ram is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario
Age: 29
Posts: 61
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 outdoorsman
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Copperhead pearl
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Dmcphee13ram is on a distinguished road
Default LOC or speaker level inputs

I am new to hooking up amps to stock decks. What provides better sound/less distortion, LOC into the rca's or speaker level inputs directly into the amp? I lost the harness for my amp so either way I have to buy the harness or LOC, cost is about the same.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-01-2013, 01:41 PM
ONOutdoorsman's Avatar
ONOutdoorsman ONOutdoorsman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Windsor
Age: 48
Posts: 1,007
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC 1500 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black (PX8)
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:388
ONOutdoorsman is just really niceONOutdoorsman is just really niceONOutdoorsman is just really niceONOutdoorsman is just really nice
Default

The nice thing about a LOC is you can get one with a remote turn on lead and gain control.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2013, 03:38 PM
Jon3sgte Jon3sgte is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 210
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Jon3sgte is on a distinguished road
Default

you will def get better sound with a LOC. I recommend the LC2i if that's within your budget. If not, PAC makes a nice one thats a bit cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2013, 05:54 PM
Dmcphee13ram Dmcphee13ram is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ontario
Age: 29
Posts: 61
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 outdoorsman
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Copperhead pearl
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Dmcphee13ram is on a distinguished road
Default

My amp says it doesn't need a remote wire if the speaker inputs are used, it triggers off the speaker wire. I am looking for sound quality tho so I will look into the LOC 's mentioned, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2013, 07:00 PM
012RAMbo's Avatar
012RAMbo 012RAMbo is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Monroe, La
Age: 27
Posts: 442
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 CC
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:264
012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough
Default

I ordered the LC2i for my install. Will hopefully get it done next week sometime and will give you some input when its all done. Ordered Fox Box three weeks ago and still waiting on it...Good luck on the install bud.
__________________

Cabin Air Filter -Debadged -14" Magnaflow -Mopar T Grip Shifter -Foxbox w/ 10" Type Rs -B Pillar tape removed -Tint matched -CST/Pro Comp 6" Lift - 35x12.50 ATZ P3 and 20x9 +1mm Fuel Mavericks -AMP Power Steps -8k HID -HEMIFEVER Tune
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2013, 10:10 AM
Jon3sgte Jon3sgte is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 210
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Jon3sgte is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 012RAMbo View Post
Ordered Fox Box three weeks ago and still waiting on it...Good luck on the install bud.
Are these things made to order?!? I went a different route because I didnt want to wait a month plus to get my system in.

I'm pretty happy with the PAC LOC. Been running it for a couple months now. The LC2i would def be the better choice though. It's goingto be cheaper to order one online. Local stereo shops wanted double what you could find them online for.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2013, 04:09 PM
jeepguy's Avatar
jeepguy jeepguy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 240
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:29
jeepguy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon3sgte View Post
you will def get better sound with a LOC. I recommend the LC2i if that's within your budget. If not, PAC makes a nice one thats a bit cheaper.
I completely disagree. If you use a good quality amp, like JL, you do not need an LOC and adding one will make the signal worse.

The only time you want something between your OEM HU and an aftermarket amp is if you need to signal summing, or if you have an OEM amp that is driving too high of a signal for your amp. Neither of those apply to you.

A sound processor would be the exception.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2013, 12:20 AM
012RAMbo's Avatar
012RAMbo 012RAMbo is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Monroe, La
Age: 27
Posts: 442
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 CC
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:264
012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough
Default

[QUOTE=Jon3sgte;1086935]Are these things made to order?!? I went a different route because I didnt want to wait a month plus to get my system in.

Really not sure man. I called him yesterday and he said finally got the shipment of supplies in from the dealer Thursday to start making a large "batch" of ram boxes. I have heard this from other people on here too, that when you call, he always says "it will be done within a week", but thats never the case...so we will see.

Sorry for the thread jack OP...any progress on the install yet?
__________________

Cabin Air Filter -Debadged -14" Magnaflow -Mopar T Grip Shifter -Foxbox w/ 10" Type Rs -B Pillar tape removed -Tint matched -CST/Pro Comp 6" Lift - 35x12.50 ATZ P3 and 20x9 +1mm Fuel Mavericks -AMP Power Steps -8k HID -HEMIFEVER Tune
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2013, 12:41 PM
sheikyerbouti's Avatar
sheikyerbouti sheikyerbouti is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Toronto
Age: 49
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500
Trim Level: outdoorsman
Color: Blue/mineral gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
sheikyerbouti is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy View Post
I completely disagree. If you use a good quality amp, like JL, you do not need an LOC and adding one will make the signal worse.

The only time you want something between your OEM HU and an aftermarket amp is if you need to signal summing, or if you have an OEM amp that is driving too high of a signal for your amp. Neither of those apply to you.

A sound processor would be the exception.
I am assuming you are referring to amps with speaker level inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2013, 02:04 PM
jeepguy's Avatar
jeepguy jeepguy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 240
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:29
jeepguy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheikyerbouti View Post
I am assuming you are referring to amps with speaker level inputs?
Yes. Which every amp I've ever used has. Some are not so obvious though. My JL HD900.5 accept speaker level or line level, but both are through the RCA inputs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum