Anyone have an 09 with factory brake controller? - DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum
DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, & Solutions - Maintenance & Repair > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Towing


Notices

Towing 4th Gen Dodge Ram Towing Questions


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-17-2013, 10:19 AM
32seventeen 32seventeen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ackermanville, Pa.
Age: 52
Posts: 174
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Laramie QC
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Brillant Black Pearl/ Sandstone
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
32seventeen is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone have an 09 with factory brake controller?

I have an 09 with neither factory gray plug (male). My truck just has the blue female plug at the brake pedal for after market brake controllers.
I have read a lot of info on here about hooking up the factory controller. From what I gathered, it looks like I should be able to make it work by wiring the controller to a connector that will plug into the blue connector at the brake pedal.
Last night I connected it and nothing will show up on the controller at all. I have not jumpered into the harness and hooked up the smaller connector yet. But, I thought that it would function without that?

Anyone have any suggestions or real world experience with an 09?

I am hoping I just have two wires swapped by mistake?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-03-2013, 10:57 AM
32seventeen 32seventeen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ackermanville, Pa.
Age: 52
Posts: 174
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Laramie QC
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Brillant Black Pearl/ Sandstone
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
32seventeen is on a distinguished road
Default

Update: I hooked up the wires for the smaller plug and it seems to work fine. Although, I have not run my trailer to test the brakes. I did hook up the plug to the trailer and everything seems fine.
The one thing that is weird, the display only shows up when the lights are on...
Anyone figure out how to make it work normally?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:12 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors