DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 06-11-2013, 12:11 AM
TRCM's Avatar
TRCM TRCM is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 346
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Laramie 4x4 CC
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: White w/silver trim
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:63
TRCM will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fast31 View Post
If you happened to have an issue, turn the ignition off! I laughed when Toyotas had issues with the floor mats interfering with the gas pedal and people would be speeding down the highway out of control. Seems pretty logical to me to turn the engine off...

Agreed, other than the fat that had I done that, I would have lost power steering and power brakes, both of which were needed to avoid an accident.

Out on a country road with no other traffic, yes, turn it off, but in the city with lots of traffic, not always a good idea.
__________________
1996 Cherokee Sport 4x4
1988 Cherokee Pioneer 4x4
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #12  
Old 06-11-2013, 01:10 AM
scrappy scrappy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: princeton
Age: 39
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: '12 ram 3500
Trim Level: laramie limited
Color: mineral grey
Engine: 2011-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 800lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:29
scrappy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naturecannon View Post
Anyone else feel a little uneasy with no throttle cable. I know, I know the chances are probably slim but what if..........!!

Feels kinda weird having a box and wires connected to the pedal and going to the computer for throttle rather than the good old fashioned cable.

I could always throw it in neutral if things went bad I guess. Does anyone know if any other safe guard is in place if something broke and she just decided to rip off on ya because something in that box behind the pedal malfunctioned??
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperr817 View Post
Harley has been doing throttle by wire for atleast four years now, mine has it and never had one issue.
The Dodge Cummins trucks have not had a throttle cable since "98.5. since then all of them have had an electronically controlled injection pump that has no mechanical inputs. Even though some still had a cable, it did not actuate anything other than the pedal position sensor(commonly called the APPS sensor) so technically throttle by wire. They usually get a dead spot but I have NEVER seen or heard of one that went WOT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum