DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-15-2013, 03:15 PM
Muddy's Avatar
Muddy Muddy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 36
Posts: 48
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearlcoat
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:80
Muddy will become famous soon enough
Default Cruise Control issue

Today when I ventured out, I got on the freeway and tried to set my cruise control but it wouldn't turn on. Stopped to fill up with gas thinking, hoping, that it would reset its self but it didn't, still wouldn't turn on. Got to Best Buy, wondered around in there for awhile, came out and it worked. Only thing I did different that time was try to turn it on before I ever put it in drive. Does anyone have a solution by chance, something to look far so I don't have to take it in, or is this maybe just a freak glitch in the system. I have a 2013 1500 Express, the most basic version of the Express you can get I think. I did try to search this topic for the 2013's and couldn't find anything so if this is a new thread on an old topic I apologize in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-15-2013, 05:40 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,622
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

That's a little strange. Not sure what could cause that. Did you try to set it even with the indicator light not on? Maybe it would have set the cruise and the light itself was acting up? I know that if I hydroplane while in cruise it will turn the cruise off on its own but that's not your issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2013, 08:56 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Not normal, Cruse control can be activated during driving and set, bring it to the dealer these is a glitch with that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2013, 10:53 PM
madhatr02's Avatar
madhatr02 madhatr02 is offline
MOPAR or no Car

 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 525
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 2500 HD
Color: Red
Engine: 2014-20?? 392ci (6.4L) Hemi V8 410hp 429lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:145
madhatr02 will become famous soon enoughmadhatr02 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asur View Post
Not normal, Cruse control can be activated during driving and set, bring it to the dealer these is a glitch with that.
^^^^This, use your warranty, but I would see if it does it every time. I know from personal experience if it only happened once the dealership may have a hard time tracking down the problem. I have a great dealership but they need an active problem to find it, seems like.
__________________
Semper Fi,
Kevin

2014 2500 HD
aka "Big Red"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2013, 10:59 PM
ejb426 ejb426 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Indianapolis
Age: 28
Posts: 305
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 CC 5' 7" bed
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Copperhead Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ejb426 is on a distinguished road
Default

The only thing I will say is these buttons are kinda hard to get pressed right. It is the same buttons that were on my Jeep and I had to make sure I was pushing squarely on the button it would not work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2013, 11:03 PM
RedSmart's Avatar
RedSmart RedSmart is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Age: 48
Posts: 1,056
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Hemi 8-speed
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:883
RedSmart is a splendid one to beholdRedSmart is a splendid one to beholdRedSmart is a splendid one to beholdRedSmart is a splendid one to beholdRedSmart is a splendid one to beholdRedSmart is a splendid one to beholdRedSmart is a splendid one to behold
Default

My Chrysler 200 convertible did this to me last year as well.

I was out of town and I had a problem getting it to work (let say on a Saturday), when I got back in the car the following day it worked fine.

I was going to mention it to my dealer, but I couldn't get it to do it again so I didn't bother.

I wondered days later if I was pressing the resume button (the one with the + symbol) instead of the set button (the one with the - symbol) when I was first trying to set my speed?

As I said it hasn't happened since, so perhaps you were doing the same thing too?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-16-2013, 08:30 AM
bhardy bhardy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: alberta
Age: 52
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 ram 1500
Trim Level: longhorn
Color: white
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bhardy is on a distinguished road
Default

I had the same issue on my 2013 longhorn 8 speed trans., i found if you push the manual transmission button on steering wheel it will work then.Booked an appointment to get fixed and its worked every day since
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2013, 09:45 AM
RAM SPORT CREW's Avatar
RAM SPORT CREW RAM SPORT CREW is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: East Coast Canada
Age: 29
Posts: 488
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Sport Crew
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:110
RAM SPORT CREW will become famous soon enoughRAM SPORT CREW will become famous soon enough
Default

My buttons on the other side of the wheel (ones you scroll through evic with) don't always work, and they seem to be the same type of buttons, I guess when my buttons don't work it's less of a bug deal, but I'd say the buttons are prone to issues. If you can repeat the issue often, I'd take it in for warranty
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-16-2013, 12:23 PM
Muddy's Avatar
Muddy Muddy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 36
Posts: 48
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearlcoat
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:80
Muddy will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikeman View Post
That's a little strange. Not sure what could cause that. Did you try to set it even with the indicator light not on? Maybe it would have set the cruise and the light itself was acting up? I know that if I hydroplane while in cruise it will turn the cruise off on its own but that's not your issue.
Yeah I forgot to mention that. I did try to set it even though the indicator wasn't on and it still wouldn't work. I've owned a lot of Chrysler products and everyone of them has had some small little glitch and I think that is all this was since it's working fine now. I will still take it to the dealer Monday and let them know what happened. Hopefully they won't keep it for too long. Thanks everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-16-2013, 01:45 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,622
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

I drive a really old van with 240+K miles on it and that things cruise control has a mind of its own. I'll use it driving when I have a long drive and it will work fine for a good hour or more and then it will just turn it self off and you can not turn it back on until you turn the van off and back on. Almost like it has its own personal time limit or something and it drives me crazy because i'll be at a comfortable speed for a long period of time and all of a sudden I'll feel the van slow down! Hopefully yours was just having a bad day and will be fine from here on out! lol
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum