DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-13-2013, 05:18 PM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,622
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default Anyone install bed lights in their 13

I noticed the mopar light instructions only say for up to 2012 models. I want to tap into my cargo light wire but I do not want to mess up the warranty or the computers or what ever else I could do by tapping into that wire.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-14-2013, 12:12 AM
Lobo Lobo is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Lobo is on a distinguished road
Default

May work but with the things I've read about happening when messing with these truck's wiring, I'd be really sure before I tried jumping any wires.

My dealer didn't want to wire a light in my cover even when I asked about just running separate wires directly to the battery with an inline fuse.

I've decided to use battery operated LED lights with a wireless remote and velcro them underneath my cover.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2013, 12:38 AM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,622
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

That's what I was afraid of. Maybe I can find a spot to mount a switch close to the tailgate or something. I think I'll ask the service guy when I bring the truck in for the new ECM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2013, 12:45 AM
bstunder bstunder is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Prince George, BC
Age: 54
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Laramie Longhorm
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Grey Met
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bstunder is on a distinguished road
Default

Or just pull power from the 7-pin trailer plug at bumper.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2013, 12:49 AM
nikeman nikeman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,622
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Sport 1500 True Blue
Rep Power: 4
Rep:91
nikeman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bstunder View Post
Or just pull power from the 7-pin trailer plug at bumper.
That was my plan if I used a switch, but I just can't find a good place to mount a switch where its out of the way but easy to access. Do any of the 7 pin wires have constant 12v even when the truck is off?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2013, 03:46 AM
DarthRam's Avatar
DarthRam DarthRam is offline
Join the Dark Ram Side!

 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Duluth MN
Age: 43
Posts: 1,839
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:1531
DarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant future
Default

Is this what you were thinking of?

http://www.amazon.com/TruXedo-170499...ery+bed+lights

I was thinking of doing the wired ones but you bring up a good point about the truck's electronics. These may be the only way to go.
__________________
Magnaflow 14" Custom Install Bilstein 5100s Front Only Set at 2.8" Vararam Air Grabber Cravenspeed Stubby Antenna Dee Zee Tailgate Assist Billet Technology "The Punisher" Shift Knob Debadged doors and tailgate Plasti Dipped HEMI Badge The Punisher Grille and Tailgate Badges Exterior Chrome Delete 20" XD Series 795 Hoss LT305/55R20 Nitto Trail Grappler M/T Cabin Air Filter BAKFlip Roll-X Tonneau Cover
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2013, 07:30 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 56
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikeman View Post
I noticed the mopar light instructions only say for up to 2012 models. I want to tap into my cargo light wire but I do not want to mess up the warranty or the computers or what ever else I could do by tapping into that wire.
All you need is to install a relay and a fused wire to the battery and lights. This is triggered by taping into the cargo light wire and it will not over draw power from the trucks OEM wiring. You could run some heavy powered driving lights with this setup or just some LED strip lights. Use the proper rated wire and fuse for what you are going to install as far as wattage needed.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-14-2013, 11:26 AM
CowboyZ51's Avatar
CowboyZ51 CowboyZ51 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary
Posts: 84
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
CowboyZ51 is on a distinguished road
Default

i bought the LED Glow ones, just haven't had time to install yet, but it shouldn't be a problem in you use the relay setup and tap into the cargo light as gcscott suggests.
hoping to get a bit of truck time this weekend, ill update after i have them installed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-14-2013, 11:28 AM
rb10475's Avatar
rb10475 rb10475 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Youngstown, OH
Posts: 113
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:33
rb10475 is on a distinguished road
Default

I plan on using a LED set that is at autozone. They were only $25 and all that needs done is replacing the test button on the packaging with a toggle. Id rather replace a battery one in a while instead of giving the dealer a reason to not fix all the problems with our electronics.
__________________
Truxedo TonneauTrax & K&N Drop In & Bilstein 5100s
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-14-2013, 12:38 PM
kxlexus kxlexus is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 505
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Laramie 4X4 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Laramie Hemi 8 Speed
Color: Maximum Steel Met.
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
kxlexus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobo View Post
May work but with the things I've read about happening when messing with these truck's wiring, I'd be really sure before I tried jumping any wires.

My dealer didn't want to wire a light in my cover even when I asked about just running separate wires directly to the battery with an inline fuse.

I've decided to use battery operated LED lights with a wireless remote and velcro them underneath my cover.
That sounds like an excellent idea. Do you have a link to your setup?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum