DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-24-2013, 06:51 AM
RamUK RamUK is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RamUK is on a distinguished road
Angry No Zip Code / Postcode Navigation Option

I couldn't quite believe that the top of the range 8.4 UConnect would not allow you to navigate to a destination by Zipcode or postcode.

I spent hours reading the manual / trying all ways to enter a destination, on Google, on these forums...

It appears you can't

Not a problem if you know the Town / Street / Number of everywhere you want to go. BUT ... if the place you want to go is in the countryside and doesn't have a street name, or is between towns ... you have no way of entering it into the Nav unit. It does not recognise small village names

ALL sat navs from the $50 portable units to the $50 iPhone apps allow you to navigate by post code/zipcode ...

What possible logic caused someone at Chrysler to decide that this is not needed in a $2000 unit?

Am I being dumb here and missing something?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-24-2013, 07:58 AM
edge35's Avatar
edge35 edge35 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 452
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn 4x4
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:70
edge35 will become famous soon enough
Default

Yeah, I've never understood why built-in automotive GPS units cost so much since they are terrible compared to a $150 Garmin or the built-in apps on a smartphone. Then to add insult to injury they try and charge $200 for map updates when everyone else gives them out for free.

In the old days people who just absolutely had to have a built in GPS could replace the factory unit if they found a better aftermarket system but now that the radio also controls othe vehicle functions and settings I don't think it is possible.

When I'm King of Chrysler I will give the option of having an iPad mini dock built in where the stereo goes. You'd be able to download an app to control the radio, settings etc but you'd also be able to use whatever GPS app you want (like my beloved Waze).

So let this message be my official announcement that I'm running for King of Chrysler.

I'm Edge and I approve of this message.
__________________
2013 Laramie Longhorn 4x4
6 speed (although the 65RFE is really a 5 speed), 3.55, air suspension, anti-spin, 20" Goodyear Wrangler SRA tires (aka crap), sunroof, Bakflip Fibermax & BakBox, bed extender, 8.4AN, black/cattle tan interior
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2013, 11:38 AM
Monster5601 Monster5601 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oakland, Michigan
Age: 64
Posts: 1,249
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500 Laramie
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:465
Monster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of light
Default

No sh!t. This navigation system I spent $500 on doesn't hold a candle to a $100 Garmin.

Yesterday I used VR to set a destination, so where does it look, in Florida of all places. I was in Michigan and it knew that, it showed my current location correctly on the map. And how does Michigan sound like Florida to the VR system?

I want my money back!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:01 PM
PJAvenger's Avatar
PJAvenger PJAvenger is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: London, ON
Posts: 22
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:41
PJAvenger is on a distinguished road
Default

OP is from UK? Good grief, I had trouble navigating a little Toyota rental car on those roads, can't imagine getting around in a 1500!!!

The VR is pretty crappy. Apparantly my house in Ontario is somewhere in Maryland.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2013, 12:12 PM
KJ48 KJ48 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East TN
Posts: 503
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Ram CC
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Mineral Gray
Rep Power: 3
Rep:117
KJ48 will become famous soon enoughKJ48 will become famous soon enough
Default

Its not just the Dodge navi, the MFT in the '13 F150 I just traded would not let you change the destination state, would only search the state you were driving in using voice or manual input - silliest thing I ever seen.

The Garmin/Uconnect will let you pick a destination outside the state you are driving in when in motion at least. You can always use the 'city center' where-to on the menu if you know the name. unfortunately that doesnt work using voice commands so it a no-go while driving.

I dont think I have found any factory nav units that work as well as a 100-200.00 Garmin of the same generation, the newest 5" Nuvi I have has flawless voice commands, lifetime updates, better traffic etc.

But the factory NAV has one big advantage, its built in..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-24-2013, 02:13 PM
RamUK RamUK is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RamUK is on a distinguished road
Default

... yep ... in good old rainy England. Small roads. Small parking spaces. Driving on the left hand side of the road ... Ideal environment for a 1500 crew cab!

But some people over here do love their Rams.

The 2012 Nav units worked great (they looked a little dated ... but you could enter a zip code!) - the 2013 nav units look great but have much less functionality when it comes to entering where you want to go ... which seems a big step backwards. I really thought I must be missing something and there would be an option somewhere I hadn't ticked... but I guess not.

Love the trucks and the features they added for 2013 ... just wish they hadn't deleted some that they had in 2012!



Rams across the Atlantic!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-24-2013, 03:43 PM
KJ48 KJ48 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: East TN
Posts: 503
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Ram CC
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Mineral Gray
Rep Power: 3
Rep:117
KJ48 will become famous soon enoughKJ48 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamUK View Post
... yep ... in good old rainy England. Small roads. Small parking spaces. Driving on the left hand side of the road ... Ideal environment for a 1500 crew cab!

But some people over here do love their Rams.

The 2012 Nav units worked great (they looked a little dated ... but you could enter a zip code!) - the 2013 nav units look great but have much less functionality when it comes to entering where you want to go ... which seems a big step backwards. I really thought I must be missing something and there would be an option somewhere I hadn't ticked... but I guess not.

Love the trucks and the features they added for 2013 ... just wish they hadn't deleted some that they had in 2012!



Rams across the Atlantic!
I had the 730 (non Garmin NAV) in my '12 and I liked it way more than this '13, but I'll get used to it. It doesnt matter what they do some will like it and others will want different features. my biggest complaint with the '13 is its pretty easy to get it confused and it will just lock up, when it comes back some settings will change.

I'm sure after about 20 software/firmware updates down the road it will work better
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2013, 09:02 PM
phobos512's Avatar
phobos512 phobos512 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lexington Park, MD, USA
Age: 34
Posts: 113
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 2500 4x4 CCSB CTD
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Maximum Steel
Engine: 2011-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 800lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:6
phobos512 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Postcodes are pretty useless in the US - that's probably why it's not in there. (Yes, I understand you're in the UK but think about where the system was designed). Personally I think they're great because they've always come in handy when I've been over there (have about 5000 miles in the past two years in the UK).

That said, there is something that will do the trick and that's GPS coordinates. You can indeed enter locations by typing in the GPS coordinates, which if you have the postcode you can get very easily using Google Maps. Then just punch it into the navacomputer and make the jump to lightspeed. That's what I did to get to a place up in the hills that didn't have an address. Worked just fine.

https://support.google.com/maps/answer/18539?hl=en
__________________
Matt || 2013 2500 Laramie || CCSB 4x4 CTD || Maximum Steel || Nitto Terra Grapplers 305/70-17s
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-25-2013, 11:49 PM
mids mids is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NE PA
Posts: 185
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
mids will become famous soon enough
Default

In the US, GPS coords are much more accurate than navigation by zipcodes. In the US, navigation by zipcodes, would be nearly useless —except for confirming correct city or town. Coords can get you within a range equivelant to the accuracy of your GPS system —typically within a few feet on consumer GPS devices.

I have never visited the UK, and I am not familiar with their zipcodes, however, I would imagine this to be true there as well
__________________
Black 2013 RAM 1500 Big Horn 4x4 QC with 8spd, Hemi, air suspension, 3.92, 8.4AN, Alpine audio, anti-spin rear. 17" rims, and 3x Infinity Kappa 32.9 in dash location.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2013, 03:46 PM
ShaneDiddy ShaneDiddy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New Mexico
Age: 33
Posts: 205
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
ShaneDiddy is on a distinguished road
Default

I haven't tried but are you not able to just click on a spot on the map and go NAV to that spot? I loved the NAV I had in my Acura and havent seen a build in NAV that compared to that yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
nav, navigation, post code, uconnect issue, zip code

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:50 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum