DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion

Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 08-21-2013, 01:01 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer

Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep:13
teryxrider is on a distinguished road
Default Newbie question .. how to load a trailer

Greetings all,

I'm sure someone can help me out with my query.

I have got myself a UTV and a trailer. I have no experience in how to load the UTV onto my trailer and hook it onto my Ram.

It sounds obvious enough, but my attempts so far have failed.

The trailer is a single axle trailer and looks a bit like the picture at the end of this post.

I have hooked the connector arm to my tow hitch. The snap lock doesn't seem to close, perhaps because the tow ball is too large. To compensate, i've wrapped a steel chain around the connector arm and the tow bar.

When its standing empty, the trailer sits horizontally, attached to the tow hitch. The issue i'm facing is that when i try and drive the UTV onto the trailer, the front of the trailer flips upwards as the weight is added to the back of the trailer where the UTV is being loaded. The trailer arm went into the back of my Ram I suffered a deep gouge to the back tailgate result :-(

I've tried leaving the trailer disconnected from the Ram and sitting on the jockey wheel, but i get the same result; when i try and drive the UTV onto it, the front of the trailer flips up.

There must be a technique to this. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Sponsored links
Old 08-21-2013, 01:11 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

Vehicle: 2001 Cummins 4x4
Trim Level: SLT Laramie
Color: Red