DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 11-08-2013, 01:16 AM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APSTRAM View Post
Great job. I am glad to see someone complete this mod on a '12, I did the wiring mod to my '11 1500 swapping in an upgraded steering wheel and everything worked, as you also found the sales code was just for the radio buttons to work and I was able to get that added to my truck.

For yours it sounds like the wiring comes from the factory ready to go for communicating with the EVIC. Any chance the radio buttons are plug and play? maybe the system does not need the code to recognize the buttons.
I can verify that the radio buttons aren't plug and play i just did a steering wheel swap that had everything and the evic/cruise controls work but not the radio controls. I'm going to the dealership tomorrow for a reflash i'll let you know if it works after that.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #32  
Old 11-08-2013, 07:54 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Default

they were booked up for the day i've got an appointment for monday. guess i'll play with useless buttons until then.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-10-2013, 02:50 AM
ultra2207 ultra2207 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Valparaiso, IN
Posts: 41
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012
Trim Level: Express QC
Color: True Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
ultra2207 is on a distinguished road
Default

You'll probably run into trouble at the dealership. For '09-11's dealers can add necessary sales codes to vehicles to get stuff like radio control buttons (code RDZ if I remember correctly) to work. It changed for '12, can't do that now. The dealer will pull up your vin and see what codes are available for it. Since your truck didn't come from the factory with the one you need it won't be listed and he won't be able to do anything for you. Only way to do that on 12's is to somehow contact a Ram factory engineer and have him basically hack into your vehicle configuration and add the sales codes. Then you would go back to dealer and the codes would be available when they looked up your vin. Another option is to send your TIPM to Jon at after hours mopar in FL. He can do it from what I've read. I did LOTS of reading about this crap when I was trying to complete my evic conversion. T'was awesome when I came across this thread, all I needed to do was put my stock wheel back on and change the switch to an evic switch. Oh well, done now at least. Keep us updated.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-11-2013, 08:04 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Default

went to the dealer and they were not able to add the RDZ sales code because "dealers can only install upgrade sales codes (remote start, nav, trailer brake, backup camera, ect. but not radio controls)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-11-2013, 09:41 PM
Jhouse's Avatar
Jhouse Jhouse is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 463
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: blue streak pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:163
Jhouse has a spectacular aura aboutJhouse has a spectacular aura about
Default

I figured that would happen. The only hope is a programmer like somebody else mentioned. It would be really nice to have the radio controls but to me its not worth the hassle to ship my pcm and wait for it to come back
__________________
K&n cai, bt catch can,moes 87mm throttle body,flowmaster super 44,20% tint front 15% rear,egr vent guards, black weatherguard toolbox, debadged,tinted tails,retroshop hid's 6000k in fogs and lows, custom mopar badges
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-20-2013, 10:44 PM
mxracer72584's Avatar
mxracer72584 mxracer72584 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bay City, MI
Age: 30
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram
Trim Level: Express
Color: Blackberry pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
mxracer72584 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Well I finally got my cluster back from being reset with my correct mileage, and the evic switch.Iinstalled them today, no dice. No horn and no evic control, Doesn't make sense to me that some of yours have been plug and play, and mine has not. I read up on the "wiring mod" but it is not very clear to me. Some say to "splice" wires, and some say to "cut" wires. No definittion there and I really dont want to hack my truck wiring up. Hoping our electrial diag. Tech at work (I work at a Chrysler dealer and he is a good friend) can figure something out for me in the next week or two.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-20-2013, 10:56 PM
Jhouse's Avatar
Jhouse Jhouse is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 463
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: blue streak pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:163
Jhouse has a spectacular aura aboutJhouse has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thats really odd. Do you know what year your cluster came out of?
__________________
K&n cai, bt catch can,moes 87mm throttle body,flowmaster super 44,20% tint front 15% rear,egr vent guards, black weatherguard toolbox, debadged,tinted tails,retroshop hid's 6000k in fogs and lows, custom mopar badges
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-20-2013, 11:26 PM
mxracer72584's Avatar
mxracer72584 mxracer72584 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bay City, MI
Age: 30
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram
Trim Level: Express
Color: Blackberry pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
mxracer72584 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, it was a 2011
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-23-2013, 09:16 PM
Jhouse's Avatar
Jhouse Jhouse is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 463
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: blue streak pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:163
Jhouse has a spectacular aura aboutJhouse has a spectacular aura about
Default

Thats the year cluster mine was too. Any update?
__________________
K&n cai, bt catch can,moes 87mm throttle body,flowmaster super 44,20% tint front 15% rear,egr vent guards, black weatherguard toolbox, debadged,tinted tails,retroshop hid's 6000k in fogs and lows, custom mopar badges
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-27-2013, 10:49 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhouse View Post
I figured that would happen. The only hope is a programmer like somebody else mentioned. It would be really nice to have the radio controls but to me its not worth the hassle to ship my pcm and wait for it to come back

Sent my TIPM to a programmer and he added the feature for radio controls. Plugged the TIPM back into my truck, started it, after a few minutes the radio buttons were working. Now it works every time i start the truck immediately (I figure that first time was the truck reinitializing some modules)

Basically it is possible just not through the dealer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum