DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 4th Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-11-2012, 12:35 AM
TheRileyFactor's Avatar
TheRileyFactor TheRileyFactor is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Age: 28
Posts: 88
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lone Star
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
TheRileyFactor is on a distinguished road
Default RHB Radio with a Zune

So I did a short search and didn't come up with much, so I figured I'd make a new post... I have an older 80gb Zune that I've had for a few years mostly because I hate itunes and didn't want an ipod... I've been trying to get it to connect to work through either the front or glove box usb port and the RHB radio doesn't see it through either one... it'll charge through both, but my radio won't read any music off of it... does this only work with ipods? if that's the case, that's annoying but oh well.... I also couldn't get it to recognize my android phone (Droid X2) This could completely be user error, and I haven't tried a USB stick yet, although I've been thinking about it... only been home a few weeks and haven't really had a chance to "play" with all of the buttons and features of the truck yet... so any insights y'all got would be awesome I got it to work through the Aux port, but it's annoying having cables running everywhere (not to mention that the only cable for the Aux port I could find around the house was one my wife used to use and it's pink........ DEFINITELY don't want that hangin around the interior of my truck!!) I like listening to the roughly 70gigs of music that are on that zune (that barely survived Afghanistan, LOL), and it would be super annoying trying to find a USB stick that big, or trying to transfer it all to something, unless hard drives that are powered off USB work? Thinking out loud here now

Thanks for any ideas!!
D
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-11-2012, 09:55 AM
Hex's Avatar
Hex Hex is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Richardson, Texas
Age: 32
Posts: 347
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Hex is on a distinguished road
Default

My understanding is the software in the radio is designed to read Apple products. And seeing how nicely Apple does NOT play well with others, I wouldn't expect it to read anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2012, 07:30 PM
SJP2X11RT's Avatar
SJP2X11RT SJP2X11RT is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Va
Posts: 165
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 09 Challenger SRT-8 11 Ram R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:59
SJP2X11RT will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRileyFactor View Post
So I did a short search and didn't come up with much, so I figured I'd make a new post... I have an older 80gb Zune that I've had for a few years mostly because I hate itunes and didn't want an ipod... I've been trying to get it to connect to work through either the front or glove box usb port and the RHB radio doesn't see it through either one... it'll charge through both, but my radio won't read any music off of it... does this only work with ipods? if that's the case, that's annoying but oh well.... I also couldn't get it to recognize my android phone (Droid X2) This could completely be user error, and I haven't tried a USB stick yet, although I've been thinking about it... only been home a few weeks and haven't really had a chance to "play" with all of the buttons and features of the truck yet... so any insights y'all got would be awesome I got it to work through the Aux port, but it's annoying having cables running everywhere (not to mention that the only cable for the Aux port I could find around the house was one my wife used to use and it's pink........ DEFINITELY don't want that hangin around the interior of my truck!!) I like listening to the roughly 70gigs of music that are on that zune (that barely survived Afghanistan, LOL), and it would be super annoying trying to find a USB stick that big, or trying to transfer it all to something, unless hard drives that are powered off USB work? Thinking out loud here now

Thanks for any ideas!!
D


The Zune will only ever be of use via the heaphone out/head unit aux in.

As for hdd's they have to be flash ram based as true physical hdd's that are usb powered don't get the full signal from any usb port in the truck.

For my 3 rides with 2 MyGigs and an Alpine HU I have two ipods (80 and 160 GB), several usb sticks and two 32GB MicroSD cards that all run through any of the usb inputs with the right cable or card reader.
__________________
'09 Challenger SRT Torred 6MT with Airaid CAI/TBS, Magnaflow CatBack, Diablo 93 CAI, TSW on Invo's
'11 Ram R/T BB with Airaid CA & Magnaflow CatBack
'04 Titan XE with Airaid CAI/TBS & Magnaflow CatBack, Superchips 93 Tune
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2012, 10:08 AM
TheRileyFactor's Avatar
TheRileyFactor TheRileyFactor is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Texas
Age: 28
Posts: 88
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lone Star
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
TheRileyFactor is on a distinguished road
Default

Ya that's what I figured..... if only it would work... I'll probably just end up buying an older ipod and using that even though I hate itunes.... and you just use the normal ipod usb cable to use it, right? I know my wife's sonata's nav system has a special hyundai cable that you have to use.......
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2013, 12:09 AM
MrGoodbar's Avatar
MrGoodbar MrGoodbar is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sunny So Cal
Age: 31
Posts: 69
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport
Trim Level: Sport Quad Cab
Color: Deep Ocean/ Water Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:65
MrGoodbar will become famous soon enough
Default

You can try this. I did it on my cadi. i will on my dodge ram once i get the lockpick

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum