DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old 10-03-2013, 02:22 PM
PJRNM's Avatar
PJRNM PJRNM is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Alb NM
Posts: 112
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT Bighorn
Color: True Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:17
PJRNM is on a distinguished road
Default

To burn a disc image from an ISO in Windows:

First, navigate to the ISO or IMG image file you want to burn, right click on it and select Burn disc image.

The Windows Disc Image Burner application will now open. You can choose which disk burner to use, if you have more than one, in the Disc burner drop-down list. To double check that the burning process was successful, you can select the option "Verify disc after burning". Insert a disc in your DVD or CD burner, wait for a few seconds and click on Burn.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #92  
Old 10-15-2013, 10:58 AM
dauer53's Avatar
dauer53 dauer53 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Age: 32
Posts: 92
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 1500 Quad Cab Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dauer53 is on a distinguished road
Default

I was able to perform both updates without pulling any fuses. Updated to the 33 then the 50 from version 20.02.01 with an RBZ radio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cupcars View Post
2011 RBZ w/ Version 22.02.01 software.

I ran the ver 33.01.23 update. When I loaded the disc it asked if I wanted to update from ver 20.02.01 to 33.01.23. I picked yes. it went thru two processes (see pics) then the screen went blank. I waited about 10 minutes to see if it was going to do anything....nothing. I tried turning it on, eject the disc,... nothing, it was dead!

I removed the radio fuse under the hood for a few seconds, put it back in and turned the key on and the radio was alive again. It did update the software (see attached pics). It never asked me to "Update baseline data files on HDD" per the install instructions. Not sure if that needs to be installed and how to do it?

I plan on installing Ver 50 so I can have the black screen. I will post when I decide to do it. I have Lockpick 5 installed and I did not remove it for this software update.

Before:


Process 1




Process 2:


After:
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 10-21-2013, 03:18 PM
4Play1 4Play1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Arkansas
Age: 39
Posts: 150
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 CC Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
4Play1 is on a distinguished road
Default

I updated to 33 from sox. Which file do I use to go to 50? I have a 2011 RBZ if that matters. What is the latest gracenotes file? From my understanding this is the only thing that makes the radio sound better anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 10-22-2013, 11:55 PM
gr8ridn gr8ridn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kern Valley CA
Age: 67
Posts: 22
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: True Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
gr8ridn is on a distinguished road
Default Update Hell

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhepper View Post
Just tried doing the update on my RBZ radio and am beginning to think I am screwed. Inserted update disc (going from like 2x to 50) and it asked if I wanted to update (though didn't ask to update base files?) so said yes. Updated, went black, showed flashing, rebooted to show rams head and logo with uconnect underneath and it was just looping off then that, off then that. I can't get disc out and can't get it to do anything. Am I just screwed
Like behepper I loaded the 50.00.07 update into my RBZ radio expecting different results than him. Believe me, I hate breaking things that are working. I burned a disc and it went according to plan as far as loading the flash into the hard drive. Then it decended into update hell cycling between the Ram flash screen and black screen. I waited patiently thinking it is verifying what was loaded before. After 20 minutes nothing changed except the alternating screens. Oh no, bricked my perfectly good radio.

Next I went inside and burned another disk thinking the original was corrupted. When I returned to the truck it was still cycling screens. Time for bold action.

I pushed the first button since this odyssey began. The load button opened the screen, but no disk. Tried several times several times with the same result. the screen closed and went black. I figured it wasn't going to allow ejection while the disk was being read (I could hear it spinning and reading). The next time the flash screen came up I immediately hit the load button and viola, the update disk came out.

Inserted the new update disk and the same deal, cycling screens. The next step was to turn off the key perhaps releasing the radio from the crazy loop. No workie. I pulled the #12 radio fuse and the radio finally stopped the loop of screens. Tried to start the process again with the new disk same deal.

Unlike bhepper, I knew a warranty replacement was unlikely because the truck originally came with the RBZ 135 base radio and this one was purchased used from a radio recycler.

I had that sinking feeling I had ruined a $600.00 radio for nothing to gain except a change of screen colors. I re-read this entire topic again and towards the end I came across a thread that warned do not use a DVD but rather a CDR disk. My 2 DVDs were good enough to write to the hard drive in the first step, so this didn't make real sense. Well I had nothing to lose so I scrounged around the computer room and found a blank CDR, who uses these anymore?

Went back out to the truck and extracted the DVD still running nowhere and was able to eject it using the method above.

Viola! The looping stopped and it went into a flash load sequence with no further action. After waiting for this to finish the radio came to life. Checked the info screen and the radio now showed 50.00.07! Everything works as before. U-connect still recognizes the phone and works perfectly.

All of this tale of woe is to save another hapless updater from throwing in the towel and save some sanity.

USE ONLY CDR Disks when updating these radios.
__________________
McGaughys Deluxe Drop, Fold-a-Cover, Hellwig sway bars, DeeZee bed mat, Bilstein shocks
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 10-23-2013, 11:10 PM
nick.watkins nick.watkins is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denton, TX
Age: 35
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT Lonestar
Color: Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
nick.watkins is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4Play1 View Post
I updated to 33 from sox. Which file do I use to go to 50? I have a 2011 RBZ if that matters. What is the latest gracenotes file? From my understanding this is the only thing that makes the radio sound better anyway.
update 50 can be downloaded here http://www.mydrive.ch/browse#/14983985/MyGIG 430N - RHB Garmin

I'm in the same boat looking to update grace notes database
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 10-24-2013, 02:12 PM
4Play1 4Play1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Arkansas
Age: 39
Posts: 150
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 CC Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
4Play1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Nick. I'm updated to 50 and all is good. Let me know if you find any gracenote update.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 10-25-2013, 04:13 PM
Natedog37 Natedog37 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: temperance
Age: 36
Posts: 37
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Dark Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:33
Natedog37 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks going to try the update this weekend.

Here is my question. I have the basic RBZ

No nav etc.

Will the 50.00.07, and 33 work

The names say RHB-RBZ-RB@, and 430N_RHB-RBZ?
__________________
2012 Ram C.C. 4x4 Hemi, 1989 Conquest TSI Stock heheh, 1988 Conquest TSI 440 BB
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 11-07-2013, 12:19 AM
MrGoodbar's Avatar
MrGoodbar MrGoodbar is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Sunny So Cal
Age: 31
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport
Trim Level: Sport Quad Cab
Color: Deep Ocean/ Water Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:65
MrGoodbar will become famous soon enough
Default

did both updates. looks great.
but when i used 50.xx.xx disc for update, it said that "PND was not updated" when it tried to update nav.

looks great and works fine.

what is PND and is it needed?
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 11-07-2013, 11:47 PM
letchcj letchcj is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
letchcj is on a distinguished road
Default

I have this same issue. Any advice?
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 11-08-2013, 07:58 AM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 801
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

This message just lets you know that the Garmin OS is the same level as what is on the update disc. This SW version has nothing to do with the Navigation SW version, only the operating system. Navigation updates are a purchased update.





Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGoodbar View Post
did both updates. looks great.
but when i used 50.xx.xx disc for update, it said that "PND was not updated" when it tried to update nav.

looks great and works fine.

what is PND and is it needed?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:46 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum