DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 3rd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-28-2013, 10:55 AM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default Accessory Fuse Block

Has anyone on here tried putting in an accessory fuse block? I've been wanting to for a while to hook my accessories into(emergency response lights, CB radio, accessory lights). After some internet research on "other brand" forums, I think I have a handle on the basics of installing them, but I wanted to know if any other Ram owners out there have them and what, if any, issues you ran into?

__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-31-2013, 02:35 AM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 50
Posts: 11,586
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2929
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I don't know of any, but this sounds like a pretty good idea. Hmmm, I'm gonna have to look in to that.
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2013, 11:48 AM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default

Just placed my order for this one:
http://www.seaboundsupply.com/blue-s...2-circuit.html

Hoping it comes this week, and I will hopefully have it installed by next week, time permitting. When that happens, I'll post pics along with any issues I may have run into- maybe it'll help anybody else who is looking at doing this
__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-02-2013, 11:54 AM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 50
Posts: 11,586
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2929
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Excellent. Looking forward to the write up and the pics.
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-02-2013, 09:21 PM
hriczko806's Avatar
hriczko806 hriczko806 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA.
Posts: 194
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Ram Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:91
hriczko806 will become famous soon enough
Default

Ive done this. I mounted it right under the dash with a relay. I ran power to the relay and then from the relay to the fuse block. I ran switched power to the relay using the cigarette lighter. So the fuse block only comes on when the ignition is on. I also installed a ground block as well, just for the convenience.

Ive had this installed for almost a year with no issues. Good luck with the install.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-02-2013, 10:04 PM
CdnoilRAM's Avatar
CdnoilRAM CdnoilRAM is offline
I push the skinny pedal


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 17,288
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Blown 349 Hemi
Trim Level: Sport - Modified
Color: Brilliant Black/Snake Skin Green
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 20
Rep:3277
CdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I've done this with both of my trucks. I mounted a piece of aluminum angle right next to the existing fuse panel and wired everything in. All my mods are wired into the fuse block so I can troubleshoot any issues as they arise.

I picked up a painless wiring CirKit fuse block, the one I have has 3 constant-on and 4 ignition on and has been a blessing when hooking up multiple devices.
http://www.painlessperformance.com/w...rchField=70207
__________________
Sponsored by Bully's Performance
Green Mamba '09 Ram 1500 QCRB 4x4 Sport - dropped, blown, and bottle fed
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-02-2013, 11:12 PM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default

Glad to see I'm not the only one who's considered this In my research, I've come across some conflicting info on what gauge of wire to use to supply the fuse block- some say 4ga, some 8, 10, and so on. I've had trouble finding connectors and terminals for anything bigger than 10ga- in you guys' experience, would this be a safe size of wire to use?
__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2013, 11:38 PM
CdnoilRAM's Avatar
CdnoilRAM CdnoilRAM is offline
I push the skinny pedal


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 17,288
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Blown 349 Hemi
Trim Level: Sport - Modified
Color: Brilliant Black/Snake Skin Green
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 20
Rep:3277
CdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

your supply gauge wire is completely dependent on your power requirements. Since the fuse block you're looking at is a 12 circuit, and rated to 30amp per circuit, and if you're running all 12 AT 30 amp you'd be drawing 4,320 watts. An automotive rated 10ga wire less than 3ft will easily be able to dissipate enough heat without overheating due to voltage loss. If you're worried about it you can oversize the wire to 8ga, but it'd be overkill, especially since you won't be running all circuits at 30amp.
__________________
Sponsored by Bully's Performance
Green Mamba '09 Ram 1500 QCRB 4x4 Sport - dropped, blown, and bottle fed
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-03-2013, 11:18 AM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CdnoilRAM View Post
your supply gauge wire is completely dependent on your power requirements. Since the fuse block you're looking at is a 12 circuit, and rated to 30amp per circuit, and if you're running all 12 AT 30 amp you'd be drawing 4,320 watts. An automotive rated 10ga wire less than 3ft will easily be able to dissipate enough heat without overheating due to voltage loss. If you're worried about it you can oversize the wire to 8ga, but it'd be overkill, especially since you won't be running all circuits at 30amp.
Thanks!
__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-09-2013, 05:32 PM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default

Alrighty- the fuse box came in, installed beautifully, and everything worked great- until I went to start my truck, that is. Truck won't turn over, nothing comes on when I turn the key to the on position, and none of the switches attached to the fuse box work. I hooked up the battery charger, and it started right up immediately with no charge-up time; shut it off, and it won't do anything again. The fuse box has a relay and switch between it and the battery, so it shouldn't be draining power if the switch is off. I have no clue what may be the problem, and I'm planning on unhooking the main wires for the fuse box until I figure it out. Any thoughts or suggestions?
__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum