DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > 4.7L PowerTech V8 Specific Topics

Notices

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 09-12-2013, 03:26 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

Vehicle: 2002 Ram 1500 4.7 v8
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Burgandy
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep:55
Dodgey will become famous soon enough
Red face 2002 Ram1500 Maintenance Schedule

Hi there. I am a newbie. I have had my 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 since brand new in 2002. It has only 36K miles on it since I only drive it for hauling my boat or other heavy things. I am going to ask many stupid questions and if you all could please refrain from calling me stupid as I feel bad enough about my truck as it is.

This is the first 4 wheel drive vehicle I have ever owned and have no idea (other than oil changes,m which I am religious about) what other maintenance is required. Folks just seem to know this inherently as if such knowledge is born with one from the womb. I have no idea what is required and the dealer I was taking it to went out of business. That is a good thing too because one time they returned my truck to me without any oil.

I have not changed the coolant since I bought it. Please do not reply that i have ruined my engine. I already lose sleep over this. How do I change the coolant? I couldn't find a stopcock to drain it. What type of coolant do I use? Where can I find the maintenance schedule? I couldn't find it in the owner's manual. I am pretty sure I need to service the automatic transmission periodically but have no idea what is required. The spark plugs are original as I am afraid they will snap if I try to take them out now.