DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-09-2013, 11:01 PM
82corvette's Avatar
82corvette 82corvette is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Fairbury, Nebraska
Posts: 118
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Crew Rambox
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:128
82corvette will become famous soon enough82corvette will become famous soon enough
Default Sirius radio loses presets

My 12 Laramie has the Alpine stereo & loses the presets on the Sirius radio about every 2 weeks, anybody know what to do? Dealer doesn't have a clue & doesn't care.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-10-2013, 08:55 AM
MTPete's Avatar
MTPete MTPete is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Larime Limited 4X4
Trim Level: Limited
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:50
MTPete will become famous soon enough
Default

That is strange. I don't think my radio lost any presets even when I disconnected the battery. Google around and see if you can find any discussions of someone who has had that problem and fixed it.

For instance, from a jeep forum:

For over a year, since our vehicle was purchased 9/2011, we've had this same problem of irregularly losing sat presets when going from Driver 1 to Driver 2, and on rare occasion vice versa. Twice last year the dealer we bought it from called Jeep, which said said they were working on a fix. The third time I went to that dealer they refused to discuss looking into it any further unless there was a TSB, so I went to another dealer, arguably the best in our area. For months they changed firmware (2.110, 2.116, 2.120 and now 2.126) and replaced radios -- we're now on the third radio.

Nothing has worked. So now, after having beavered away on this for nearly a year, they're no longer returning my calls. In bygone years Chrysler's customer help hotline was actually effective in resolving issues like this, but from what I read online they no longer respond meaningfully.

After 14 months of this I am ready to do something with more teeth in it, like filing a formal BBB complaint with the Detroit BBB office (link underlined). But before going down that road I wondered whether there might be a better solution; or, barring that, whether those of us who have run out of patience would like to band together to file a joint formal complaint or several individual formal complaints against Chrysler with the Detroit BBB.

I suspect the problem has various stages. First, it may be present solely in radios made before a certain time or otherwise having some sort of unique production characteristic.

Second, folks who've had this problem have had their radios replaced. Those replaced radios get "refurbished" and put back into stock as service replacements. So when defective radios are replaced they are replaced with these earlier-returned radios, most or virtually all of which were returned because of the presets defect. So you send in a radio with defective satellite presets and they replace it with what? Another radio with the same satellite presets defect.

Would replacing with a brand new radio, rather than a refurb, end this cycle of replacing radios with radios having the same defect? Perhaps, but we don't yet know because Chrysler is adamant they won't replace a defective radio with a genuinely new radio --only a refurb. It's Detroit's answer to Catch 22.

IMO, with all other options having failed they should at least try replacing with a new radio, not a refurb. If that doesn't work for two or three weeks, they can take it back and reinstall the earlier radio. But their rules say using a new radio is verboten, so here we sit like idiots and dealers' hands are tied.

Last edited by MTPete; 10-10-2013 at 08:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2013, 08:57 AM
Grubrunner's Avatar
Grubrunner Grubrunner is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4,240
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT8
Rep Power: 13
Rep:3883
Grubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond reputeGrubrunner has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Is it losing all other programmed presets [AM, FM, etc...] or is is exclusive to the Sirius presets only?
__________________
Truck was sold today [5/19]. I got an offer I couldn't turn down. I had no more need for a pickup so I cut it loose. About to purchase a '14 Jeep SRT8 this week.

Grub out!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors