DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-12-2013, 10:14 AM
dawoodsman dawoodsman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Up North, Minnesota
Posts: 229
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Crew
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: True Blue Peal/Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:92
dawoodsman will become famous soon enough
Default Is anyone running a newer Uconnect Version

Than 13.38.52 in their 2013 ram?

Asking because my latest uconnect issue tech support experience led to another statement by tech support that there is a new flash update out there for my 2013. I ran the one that came out in October with the version number above.

The issue again is--if you install your own flash update, the ram system does not reflect that. They think you haven't done it and continually tell you there is an update for your truck. The only way for the RAM system that tracks whether you have an update available or not keeps track is if the dealer installs the update for you.

I get that RAM wants to make it difficult for customers to perform their own simple service, and send them to a dealer. Or rather that's what dealers want.

But this type of thing just pisses everyone off.

It's all so easy, all Ram needs to do is make available to every tech which software version the most recent flash update installs.

But they don't.

I was sent to a dealer once on the certain advice from ucconnect tech that my truck was due for an update, only to find out that was true--but I had already installed it!

Even more bizarre is that I have on several occasions reached uconnect techs who claim they can see what software version I am running from their end w/o me having to go to the radio setting to look it up for them. This has occurred when I have called them from the truck using the assist feature.

Lately every tech seems to think that is not something they have access to at all--whether I call them by phone or from the truck.

Bizarre.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:00 AM
DarthRam's Avatar
DarthRam DarthRam is offline
Join the Dark Ram Side!

 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Duluth MN
Age: 43
Posts: 1,839
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:1531
DarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant future
Default

I don't think they can actually access your truck when they say they can "see" the version you have. They are just looking at your info on their computers from your last service at a dealer. Just like the odometer reading is recorded at your last service.

It will update the next time you go to the dealer because they will plug in their computer to get the truck info and this will update the system.
__________________
Magnaflow 14" Custom Install Bilstein 5100s Front Only Set at 2.8" Vararam Air Grabber Cravenspeed Stubby Antenna Dee Zee Tailgate Assist Billet Technology "The Punisher" Shift Knob Debadged doors and tailgate Plasti Dipped HEMI Badge The Punisher Grille and Tailgate Badges Exterior Chrome Delete 20" XD Series 795 Hoss LT305/55R20 Nitto Trail Grappler M/T Cabin Air Filter BAKFlip Roll-X Tonneau Cover
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:23 AM
rkuhl84's Avatar
rkuhl84 rkuhl84 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 221
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Sport QC
Rep Power: 2
Rep:88
rkuhl84 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthRam View Post
I don't think they can actually access your truck when they say they can "see" the version you have. They are just looking at your info on their computers from your last service at a dealer. Just like the odometer reading is recorded at your last service.

It will update the next time you go to the dealer because they will plug in their computer to get the truck info and this will update the system.
I would not doubt that UConnect tech support can see your firmware version since it is a cellular, subscription based, two-way communication system. They may not see it live but they may be able to see what software version recently checked into their servers. Every time you do a remote start or unlock from your phone, your truck sends back a confirmation of start or unlock so it's clearly sending back information regularly.

I think the odometer thing is entirely different since your Uconnect radio is not storing your odometer reading (you can swap radios without losing your odometer mileage). That was a whole different thread earlier this week.

Last edited by rkuhl84; 12-12-2013 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2013, 12:02 PM
DarthRam's Avatar
DarthRam DarthRam is offline
Join the Dark Ram Side!

 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Duluth MN
Age: 43
Posts: 1,839
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:1531
DarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant futureDarthRam has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkuhl84 View Post
I would not doubt that UConnect tech support can see your firmware version since it is a cellular, subscription based, two-way communication system. They may not see it live but they may be able to see what software version recently checked into their servers. Every time you do a remote start or unlock from your phone, your truck sends back a confirmation of start or unlock so it's clearly sending back information regularly.

I think the odometer thing is entirely different since your Uconnect radio is not storing your odometer reading (you can swap radios without losing your odometer mileage). That was a whole different thread earlier this week.
It sends a confirmation email of start if you use the app. I don't think Uconnect is getting any info like that.

The only time I had an issue with Uconnect I had to call them while I was sitting in the truck. They couldn't do anything from their end. I had to punch all the buttons etc. I ended up having to go to the dealer so they could reset the radio.
__________________
Magnaflow 14" Custom Install Bilstein 5100s Front Only Set at 2.8" Vararam Air Grabber Cravenspeed Stubby Antenna Dee Zee Tailgate Assist Billet Technology "The Punisher" Shift Knob Debadged doors and tailgate Plasti Dipped HEMI Badge The Punisher Grille and Tailgate Badges Exterior Chrome Delete 20" XD Series 795 Hoss LT305/55R20 Nitto Trail Grappler M/T Cabin Air Filter BAKFlip Roll-X Tonneau Cover
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-2013, 12:42 PM
rkuhl84's Avatar
rkuhl84 rkuhl84 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 221
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Sport QC
Rep Power: 2
Rep:88
rkuhl84 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthRam View Post
It sends a confirmation email of start if you use the app. I don't think Uconnect is getting any info like that.

The only time I had an issue with Uconnect I had to call them while I was sitting in the truck. They couldn't do anything from their end. I had to punch all the buttons etc. I ended up having to go to the dealer so they could reset the radio.
I'm not saying they can control your radio but there is definitely information going to Uconnect servers for unlock/lock/start commands from your phone. The command isn't going directly from your phone to your truck and back. The email is generated from this address: Notification@uconnectaccess.moparownerconnect.com and the app gets it's own notification separate from the email. I wouldn't doubt there is some basic information (i.e. firmware revision) being sent along side these commands.

Also, your truck radio would receive an IP address from the cellular carrier that varies according to the tower/carrier you're on (not static IP) so that IP would have to be logged by your truck to Uconnect in order for your truck to receive commands from Uconnect. Your phone app has no idea what your truck's IP address is going to be as it is not constantly receiving information like Uconnect servers would have to.

Last edited by rkuhl84; 12-12-2013 at 12:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2013, 01:07 PM
Explorer Rob's Avatar
Explorer Rob Explorer Rob is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Age: 48
Posts: 1,215
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Black Gold / White Gold
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:264
Explorer Rob is a jewel in the roughExplorer Rob is a jewel in the roughExplorer Rob is a jewel in the rough
Default

I am the only one that has performed every Uconnect update on my Ram since I picked it up in April. Each time a new update came out, the Uconnect website knew that there was a new version available for my Ram. They are either tracking it from downloading it directly from them or my radio is telling them somehow.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:20 PM
dawoodsman dawoodsman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Up North, Minnesota
Posts: 229
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Crew
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: True Blue Peal/Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:92
dawoodsman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Explorer Rob View Post
I am the only one that has performed every Uconnect update on my Ram since I picked it up in April. Each time a new update came out, the Uconnect website knew that there was a new version available for my Ram. They are either tracking it from downloading it directly from them or my radio is telling them somehow.
I've only had one update on my truck purchased in august--unless there is a new one out there. I just realized that when I performed my update it wouldn't have tied my vin to getting the update, as their servers were down for weeks and I eventually just grabbed it from a location someone had posted here.

So you are saying that you personally grabbed and ran an update off the uconnect site and that it remembers you have run the update? That would be better than my understanding, Uconnect told me the only way their site or they know you have run an update successfully is if you have a dealer do it for you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2013, 06:26 PM
dawoodsman dawoodsman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Up North, Minnesota
Posts: 229
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Crew
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: True Blue Peal/Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:92
dawoodsman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthRam View Post
It sends a confirmation email of start if you use the app. I don't think Uconnect is getting any info like that.

The only time I had an issue with Uconnect I had to call them while I was sitting in the truck. They couldn't do anything from their end. I had to punch all the buttons etc. I ended up having to go to the dealer so they could reset the radio.
All I know is that several uconnect techs have told me they have access to or could see--somehow--what version I am running. I am quite positive I did not misunderstand them as on one of those calls (back in October I think), the tech specifically told me I can see that you are running the latest software update--you don't need to obtain a new one because no newer one exists. Every other tech I have talked to acts like I am nuts when I ask if they can see what version I am running.

Just to clarify any confusion, these calls were placed from the truck, using the assist feature. NOT through the truck using my paired cell phone--but a direct conversation between uconnect and my truck routed through the radio, without any phone of mine involved. I've taken to calling them that way to save cell phone minutes, each time I call is a good 1/2 hour on the phone with them it seems!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2013, 07:30 PM
Explorer Rob's Avatar
Explorer Rob Explorer Rob is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Mesa, AZ
Age: 48
Posts: 1,215
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Black Gold / White Gold
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:264
Explorer Rob is a jewel in the roughExplorer Rob is a jewel in the roughExplorer Rob is a jewel in the rough
Default

Yes, I think it's through the site that knows what version I'm on. I know the version prior to this one, I tried downloading it one too many times when it said I have reached my download limit for that version. I kept downloading it every one to two weeks to see if a new version was out yet since that was about the time Uconnect started saying that future updates would be dealer only. Once this latest one came out, the site said that I was eligible for an update so it let me download it. Now instead of continuing to download it though, I back out once I see that the date is October 7. It does say that I am eligible for an update but I'm not positive if I got this one from the link here or if it's because I've only downloaded it once. It doesn't appear that my Ram is telling them though. If it did I would think that it would tell me I have the latest version which is what it has said every other time prior to this version. I'll find out for sure the next time a new version comes out. If it is still stuck on October 7 version, then it would appear that they actually did switch over dealer only. I do know for sure that I can download the October 7 version from the Uconnect site.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-12-2013, 08:28 PM
Tom-G Tom-G is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Central NY
Posts: 172
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM CC 4X4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Blue
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Tom-G is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dawoodsman View Post
All I know is that several uconnect techs have told me they have access to or could see--somehow--what version I am running. I am quite positive I did not misunderstand them as on one of those calls (back in October I think), the tech specifically told me I can see that you are running the latest software update--you don't need to obtain a new one because no newer one exists. Every other tech I have talked to acts like I am nuts when I ask if they can see what version I am running.

Just to clarify any confusion, these calls were placed from the truck, using the assist feature. NOT through the truck using my paired cell phone--but a direct conversation between uconnect and my truck routed through the radio, without any phone of mine involved. I've taken to calling them that way to save cell phone minutes, each time I call is a good 1/2 hour on the phone with them it seems!
I had spoken to a UConnect rep once via the "Assist" button concerning my 8.4 periodically rebooting and getting a few "vehicle phone requires service" messages. The rep asked me for the software version number displayed on the radio. However she did state that every time it reboots, it does send a message to UConnect which is logged.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum