DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion


Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-24-2014, 09:29 AM
dodge.ram dodge.ram is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 22
Posts: 90
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dodge.ram is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone installed a dball remote start?

I am trying to put one of these on my truck but it won't start. It is hooked up exactly as shown on there site. The truck goes into accessorie mode and turns on the radio when I hit lock 3 times but won't start.

What could be stopping it from starting? I think it was flashed with the correct firmware if it's communicating with the truck right?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-24-2014, 09:46 AM
RocketFoot's Avatar
RocketFoot RocketFoot is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Southwestern PA
Posts: 352
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Western Brown Monotone
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:59
RocketFoot will become famous soon enough
Default

I heard that there were a lot of problems with the wiring on the dball harnesses...check and make sure all the wire terminals are seated in the connector housings properly.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2014, 12:37 PM
Exxzaust's Avatar
Exxzaust Exxzaust is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: kamloops
Age: 21
Posts: 194
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:24
Exxzaust is on a distinguished road
Default

I hope you used the CHDT2 harness or whatever it is called, hardwiring it in was a pain when we did it on my buddies, there could be a program with how its flashed or programmed as its happened to me aswell, also there is a certain setting that has to be turned on, believe its called D2D makes it so you can use your stock remote.

Do some digging on this site there is a huge forum on it im just trying to point you back in the right direction, goodluck!
__________________
Dont be scared of the dark! Shine some light on it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2014, 03:50 PM
dodge.ram dodge.ram is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 22
Posts: 90
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dodge.ram is on a distinguished road
Default

I am using the CHTH2 harness. It's literally 3 or four harnesses to plug in so I am convinced the guy on ebay programmed it wrong. Kind of a piss off considering I waited 3 weeks and now he won't answer phone calls or ebay messages.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2014, 04:47 PM
dodge.ram dodge.ram is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 22
Posts: 90
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dodge.ram is on a distinguished road
Default

Still haven't figured this one out. I found out for an 06 1500 they are the exception for the provided instructions and if you use a harness you have to splice the remote start 12v output into the ignition harness start wire. My remote start starter wire provides 12v when I hit remote start. However the wire they tell me to tap into doesn't get 12v when I crank the truck manually.

I can't find the 12v starter wire in the ignition harness I've held a meter to every wire and not one see voltage when I bump the starter.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-26-2014, 04:53 PM
johngus johngus is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Amity Harbor,NY
Age: 41
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: express
Color: Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
johngus is on a distinguished road
Default

try the flip switch on the unit.the switch on mine was labeled reverse.i flipped the switch and it started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-26-2014, 07:43 PM
dodge.ram dodge.ram is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 22
Posts: 90
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dodge.ram is on a distinguished road
Default

it's a safety shut off switch so when it is ON it deactivates the whole unit. The unit functions as it should but doesn't crank.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum