DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-16-2014, 05:45 PM
jrnannery jrnannery is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Schertz/Cibolo/San Antonio, TX
Age: 44
Posts: 101
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram QC SLT 4.7L 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Mineral Grey Metallic
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jrnannery is on a distinguished road
Default Rear bumper sensors

I am having an incredibly difficult time finding a chromed rear bumper with exhaust cut outs and sensor holes. Can you just drill the holes yourself, or not?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-17-2014, 07:52 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 57
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

Yes you can drill the holes and make sure you get the holes in the same place. The sensors come with the drill bit. Go slow with the hole saw. You may need to get 2 bits do to getting dull. Use some silicone cocking to seal from rusting before installing the sensors.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2014, 09:59 PM
padillavp padillavp is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Colorado
Posts: 246
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: mineral gray
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:19
padillavp is on a distinguished road
Default

I would like to install the rear backup sensors on my try what all do i need to purchase to get them to work, sensors ,wiring etc. ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2014, 11:52 PM
Ramzaq Ramzaq is online now
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern California
Posts: 650
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram CC 4X4
Trim Level: SLT, Big Horn
Color: Black Pearl coat
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:233
Ramzaq has a spectacular aura aboutRamzaq has a spectacular aura aboutRamzaq has a spectacular aura about
Default

Not sure you can have Ram do it and intergrate it into your EVIC, but you can always ask a dealer if they can.

If you don't want to go the dealer route you can find plenty of kits from $40 to $200 depending on how far you want to go. Rear only or front and rear for park assist. If you want chrome sensors they are available from some suppliers. Check Ebay or Amazon or do a search on the web. Chrome sensors http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...7C-Chrome.html

It is not hard to drill your own as the kits provide a hole saw. The biggest problem is lining them up and spacing them properly.

Tape off the bumper and measure then mark the location. Check alignment and location as many times as you feel comfortable, once drilled it is drilled. Punch the centers of the holes and drill pilot holes before using the hole saw. Treat the drilled metal so it won't rust, insert sensors, run wires to cab, hook up wires, find a location you like for the display unit, that's it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2014, 12:36 AM
jrnannery jrnannery is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Schertz/Cibolo/San Antonio, TX
Age: 44
Posts: 101
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram QC SLT 4.7L 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Mineral Grey Metallic
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jrnannery is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors