DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion


Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-30-2014, 03:22 PM
SasquatchTDG's Avatar
SasquatchTDG SasquatchTDG is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ladson
Age: 26
Posts: 128
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
SasquatchTDG is on a distinguished road
Default Adding factory brake controller

How would I go about adding the factory electric brake controller to my 2012 Laramie? I have the towing package with the 7pin connector. Just no brake controller.
__________________
2012 Ram 1500 Laramie CC 4x4, RCX Leveling Kit, 35x12.50x20 MXT's, 18% Tint 27% Windshield, True Dual>X-Pipe>Dynomax VT's>5" Tips, RMR Bird Dog
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-30-2014, 04:10 PM
Hermes1's Avatar
Hermes1 Hermes1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 2,511
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 4WD Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 8
Rep:2538
Hermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Although you could technically install the factory brake controller yourself, the computer would still need to be flashed by the dealer. Personally if it were me, I would just have the dealer do the whole thing since they would have to flash it anyway.
__________________
Regards, Bruce
Sure you can take my truck, the door is un-locked and the keys are under my Akita.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2014, 08:26 AM
SasquatchTDG's Avatar
SasquatchTDG SasquatchTDG is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ladson
Age: 26
Posts: 128
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
SasquatchTDG is on a distinguished road
Default

Any idea how much that'll set me back?
__________________
2012 Ram 1500 Laramie CC 4x4, RCX Leveling Kit, 35x12.50x20 MXT's, 18% Tint 27% Windshield, True Dual>X-Pipe>Dynomax VT's>5" Tips, RMR Bird Dog
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2014, 11:25 AM
Hermes1's Avatar
Hermes1 Hermes1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 2,511
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 4WD Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 8
Rep:2538
Hermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

No I have not had it done and labor would vary by location. I cannot imagine the labor to be too bad as it does not take very long to install a BC. You might check with your dealer and see what they charge, and don't hesitate to ask for a discount since you bought from them.
__________________
Regards, Bruce
Sure you can take my truck, the door is un-locked and the keys are under my Akita.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2014, 03:51 PM
picker picker is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: florida
Posts: 103
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 ram
Trim Level: st
Color: mineral grey
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:9
picker is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

We installed our brake controllers here in our shop. Buy the factory unit from dealer, You Do NOT need to have anything "Flashed" It'll work fine, Your truck is set up for it just plug it in (easy job)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2014, 03:00 AM
SasquatchTDG's Avatar
SasquatchTDG SasquatchTDG is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Ladson
Age: 26
Posts: 128
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
SasquatchTDG is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picker View Post
We installed our brake controllers here in our shop. Buy the factory unit from dealer, You Do NOT need to have anything "Flashed" It'll work fine, Your truck is set up for it just plug it in (easy job)
On what year model truck? Mine is the '12 and instead of the brake controller its just a random cubby hole in the dash. I'm assuming i'll have to pop that out.
__________________
2012 Ram 1500 Laramie CC 4x4, RCX Leveling Kit, 35x12.50x20 MXT's, 18% Tint 27% Windshield, True Dual>X-Pipe>Dynomax VT's>5" Tips, RMR Bird Dog
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2014, 03:12 AM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 18,853
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 19
Rep:2615
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

check out the ETRAILER website before you make your decision
http://www.etrailer.com/
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2014, 02:09 PM
picker picker is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: florida
Posts: 103
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 ram
Trim Level: st
Color: mineral grey
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:9
picker is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

This is not hard, Buy factory 2012 unit from dealer, comes with two bezels beige & grey follow simple directions plug it in drive it. No need to "flash" anything. Picker
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2014, 11:48 AM
Hermes1's Avatar
Hermes1 Hermes1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 2,511
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 4WD Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 8
Rep:2538
Hermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by picker View Post
We installed our brake controllers here in our shop. Buy the factory unit from dealer, You Do NOT need to have anything "Flashed" It'll work fine, Your truck is set up for it just plug it in (easy job)
Good to know. Another shining example of being skeptical when a dealer says something, as a dealer indicated to me the install of a OEM BC requires the computer to be flashed.
__________________
Regards, Bruce
Sure you can take my truck, the door is un-locked and the keys are under my Akita.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-2014, 09:15 AM
Redfour5 Redfour5 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: MT
Age: 58
Posts: 57
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 Tradesman 5.7
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Redfour5 is on a distinguished road
Default

Interesting, maybe model year differences on "flashing" the computer? I have a 2013 and I just got quoted 350 including flashing the computer on Thursday. That is with the discount for buying there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:26 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum