DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 1ST Generation Dodge Ram 1993 & Older Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 1st Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-25-2008, 03:57 PM
psychomekanik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Rewiring a shunt ammeter

First off I'd like to thank any and everyone who might be able to help me on this matter.My name's Mark. I'm new here, I've posted in the newbie check in and Look forward to helping when I can. I have 18 years of dealership experience, and I'll do what I can to help. I have a 89 w-150 power ram. I put an 85 police interceptor out of an old diplomat, put a little bigger cam in it, and dropped it in with a set of headers. I used the stock throttle body fuel injection. I could never get this thing to run right. It would surge at idle, die and get really crappy gas mileage. It run great at a 3000 rpm cruise. But, when I came to an idle it would die with a map/vacuum code. It would'nt run right again until I keyed the ignition off and cleared the fuel trims and restarted it. 1 thing I know was wrong is the o2 sensor was too far away from the engine. I had to put the bung in the collector. Another is the flow of the 360 heads on the 318 hampered with the computer. Well I got tired of it, and yanked it all off and rewired the ignition, and the voltage regulator and put a carberated intake on it. The only issue I'm having is with the ammeter. It's a shunt ammeter (It dont carry all the load like the older ones did) It has 2 wires, a red one going into the cluster from a splice at the battery and a black one coming out of the cluster. Where would you recommend putting the black wire?? I have gotten rid of all the problematic fuse links and installed a maxi-fuse power distribution center. I'm just not sure where I should put the black wire. I don't have it running yet but I've put the wire on the ignition circuit and it shows a discharge. But thats because it's wanting to power up the ignition module and coil through the guage. if i put the wire on the fuse block main terminal the guage just sits idle and wont move even when applying loads. Should I put the black wire on the alternator battery terminal? Not sure. I'd like to have a game plan before I put the carberator on it and put it all back together. Thanks again in advance to any who might be able to help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-25-2008, 06:58 PM
Zonestar's Avatar
Zonestar Zonestar is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: LaGrange, GA
Age: 57
Posts: 372
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 7
Rep:235
Zonestar has a spectacular aura aboutZonestar has a spectacular aura aboutZonestar has a spectacular aura about
Default

An ammeter has to be wired in series of the circuit it measuring the amps of. A voltmeter serves a more useful purpose then an ammeter any chance you could swap it. I will do some more checking around to see if I can get a 100% correct answer for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2008, 09:51 PM
psychomekanik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zonestar View Post
An ammeter has to be wired in series of the circuit it measuring the amps of. A voltmeter serves a more useful purpose then an ammeter any chance you could swap it. I will do some more checking around to see if I can get a 100% correct answer for you.
I'd be willing to do that if I could find a voltmeter that would fit in the dash as the oe did. I want to keep it original looking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2008, 08:14 PM
psychomekanik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Voltmeter swap

Well, I finally gave up on making the shunt ammeter in my truck work right. I decided to try to fab something that looked original. A year after mine was built, Dodge did away with the ammeter totally. They changed the cluster completely. The newer version has an voltmeter. I went to the junkyard and found a newer cluster with the voltmeter in it. I brought it home and immediately noticed a major difference in the clusters. The newer one has an electronic speedo. (no cable) So I decided to try to swap just the guage. I took the new cluster apart and removed the guage. They mounted totally different. I had a replacement cluster the same as the original in my truck. I wanted to experiment on a donor cluster rather than take a chance on making mine totally d.o.a. The voltmeter facing was the right size, But it mounted on bosses molded into the plastic instead of lugs bolted right to the printed circuit. Also it was too big for the cluster. I would have to cut a hole on the printed circuit to make it fit. I thought, Not a bad Idea. So I went to work. I drilled it out to make the guage fit flush. Then I cut the mounting bosses out of the donor cluster. I epoxied the mountings into my cluster, and fit the guage into place. Now on to the wiring. When I drilled the hole out. I severed the tape on the printed circuit in three places. 2 of which were the contacts for the guage I was replacing, and the last was the bright light indicator. I removed the printed circuit, and found the pins for the cluster connector were hollow. I simply soldered a wire to the backside pin of each severed circuit. I brought the 3 new wires through the board. I removed the 2 hollow pins from the voltmeters original cluster and soldered them to thier respective wires for the guage. Plugged them into the guage. The last wire (bright light indicator) I simply drilled a hole behind the speedo through the broken circuit, and attached it directly to the board. Then all I had to do is splice a ground, and a power wire from the power supply connector on the opposite connector on the vehicle wiring. I installed all of my remaining original guages in the rebuilt cluster and installed it in the truck. It may be crude. But, it looks original. I dont have a cluster of redneck aftermarket guages mounted by drilling holes in my dash. I thought some of you would appreciate how i customized it. I know I'm not the only one frustrated by the problematic ammeters of the PR. Here's a few pics of the process. #1 The original ammeter in the original cluster. #2 a view of the guage that was too big to fit.#3 A view of the backside of the original cluster and printed circuits. #4 a view of the mounting bosses I epoxied in place to mount the guage.#5 A view of the printed circuit showing the hole I drilled the guage installed, and the wiring in place.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg before.JPG (40.2 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg New guage.JPG (43.1 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Donor original.JPG (51.3 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg mounting bosses.JPG (28.2 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg backwiring.JPG (53.0 KB, 10 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2008, 08:17 PM
psychomekanik
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default the last pic'.

#6 a view of the finished product.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg after.JPG (35.2 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum