DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Detailing and General Maintenance Forum

Notices

Dodge Ram Detailing and General Maintenance Forum Wax on, Wax off! Chat about anything that gives you Carpal Tunnel or Tennis Elbow in here! ;)

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 10-28-2008, 10:10 AM
psychomekanik

Default Important maintenance recommendation

I've been a dealer tech. for a number of years now. I believe in maintence instead of repairs. You know the old saying, an ounce of prevention is worth more than a pound of cure. I'd like to let some of you guys in on a valuable secret that I believe can extend the life of an engine IMMENSLY. And you wont find it in any owners manual. That's an E.F.I. cleaning and service. It consists of a can of combustion chamber cleaner, an aersol can of injector cleaner (can be substituted for In tank cleaner) Here's what it entails as I perform them. with the engine hot, I'll remove a manifold vacuum line or go right through the throttle body if possible (Recommended) With the engine running, Spray a topside or cumbustion chamber cleaner in the engine flogging it down causing it to smoke bad but being careful not to hydrolock the engine. I like to spray the cleaner through the i.a.c. port to clean the valve as well. use enough of the cleaner to make the engine want to die out. Kill the engine By covering the throttle plate with your hand, or have someone shut the key off. let the cleaner saturate the pistons, rings, valves and such. wait about 10-15 minutes. at this time clean the throttle body with a small brush, and more of the cleaner. restart the engine. You might have to clear flood it to get it to start. (hold the accelerator pedal to the floor while cranking.) when it starts