DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 4.7 Liter V8

Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 4.7 Liter V8 Discuss modifying your Dodge Ram with Performance Parts and Accessories!
Factory Spec: 4.7-liter V8 engine - 310 horsepower, 330 lb-ft of torque.

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 02-15-2009, 06:01 PM
Big Country

Default Air Filters

I have been researching a bit about the best kind of drop in air filter to get for my Ram. I haven't made up my mind about an intake yet, and if I do get one I will have my buddy that owns a performance shop make me one. He has already told me he wants to do it.

Anyway, I have been hearing for a couple years now that air filters such as K&N (where they are basically oiled gauze/cotton) aren't necessarily the best way to go. While these type of filters give great air flow (at least initially), they are actually bad at stopping the smaller particles of dirt. Not to mention when they become dirty, which will be 80% of the time while in the vehicle between cleanings, their flow rate decreases a great deal.

There are two air filters that are catching my eye at this point.

The Amsoil Ea Air filters look very nice and are the most appealing right now. They use nano fiber technology to catch the smallest of particles yet still flow extremely well. http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/eaa.aspx They also have them for the 09 Ram. From what I can tell though, it appears as though the same size filter has been used for the Ram (for the 5.7 anyway) since the 2003 model. http://www.amsoil.com/catalog.aspx?code=EAA176-EA