DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video

Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 04-24-2009, 08:57 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member

Vehicle: 2006 Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Red
Rep:13
bsp is on a distinguished road
Default Installing aftermarket head unit...need some help!

Hey guys and girls, this is my first new thread so I'll try and not sound like a total noob. It has been a while since I have done any kind of stereo mods, and I have only ever done them on foreign cars so bear with me on this one. I have purchased a new head unit, single din Pioneer. I grabbed the standard dash kit and went for the wiring harness and realized there were two options (after searching a few stores and asking the employees). What I ended up with is a $20 harness that looks pretty standard but apparently will not be able to supply power to the radio on vehicle startup. I could purchase one that would supply the power for a little over $50, but the tech said that all I needed to do was run an accessory line to the radio and that will provide the power on startup. The $25 dollar difference seemed a bit much for such a simple addition, so I opted with the cheaper and thought I would try the addition myself.