DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101  
Old 05-19-2010, 08:49 AM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

Pictures as promised...

Oh, and sorry for the huge ass pictures. I didn't realize they would be that big.








The first one shows the page that gets added in the vehicle info tab. It goes in the same tab that shows your oil temp, pressure, tranny temp, and engine hours. Right now the trailer is not connected so it shows a cross through the trailer. The 2.5 signifies how many volts I have set it tt as the max. The little bar graph under that will light up to show you how percent of that max voltage you set that it is supplying to the trailer.

The second picture shows the actual controller with the 2.5 lite up.

The third picture shows the module when you first turn the truck on during it's light check.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #102  
Old 05-19-2010, 09:13 AM
yagottaregatta's Avatar
yagottaregatta yagottaregatta is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 52
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Cherry Crystal
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
yagottaregatta is on a distinguished road
Default

awesome pics thanks cormacs. Can you adjust the brakes through the steering wheel controls or do you have to use the + - buttons on the unit? Not a big deal just wondering. Thanks
__________________
BedRug, Bakflip Tonneau, Moroso Catch Can, Tint (all windows), Timbren helpers
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 05-19-2010, 11:04 AM
Sigi's Avatar
Sigi Sigi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fort Erie, ON Canada
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie 4X4
Color: Austin Tan Pearl Coat
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Sigi is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanx to all. Just sold the Module. Was glad to be of help for some one , who otherwise maybe had to wait a long time. The Module is back ordered as I understand.
Special thanks to Cormacs from Ottawa, who figurd all this out.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 05-19-2010, 12:02 PM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

no, the module and only be adjusted by the switches on the box it self. Not the steering wheel.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 05-19-2010, 07:11 PM
fu2010 fu2010 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
fu2010 is on a distinguished road
Default

FYI. I ordered mine on Monday and was told there were 394 on back order. The dealer received it on Monday, a week later, shipped it to me (300 miles away) on Tuesday, and I received it today! Doesn't seem like it's back ordered to me??? I received a controller with the AF part number, a mfg date of 3/29/10 on the box, and made in mexico.

Anyway, I've installed it and it appears to work fine. Wondering about the add sales option to build. Is that a big job? The Service Rep says it pays them 1 hour to do, $92.50 and they have to reflash the entire memory, all the settings are updated. From this thread it sounded to me like all the other settings would be left alone and the trailer brake option/codes would be all that's added. Does what the dealership is telling me sound right. Actually I don't trust that they know what they're doing and want to see if it makes sense before they screw something up.

Last edited by fu2010; 05-19-2010 at 10:51 PM. Reason: clarified
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 05-21-2010, 05:37 PM
sowardcustoms's Avatar
sowardcustoms sowardcustoms is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Burleson,TX
Age: 38
Posts: 490
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:145
sowardcustoms will become famous soon enoughsowardcustoms will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fu2010 View Post
FYI. I ordered mine on Monday and was told there were 394 on back order. The dealer received it on Monday, a week later, shipped it to me (300 miles away) on Tuesday, and I received it today! Doesn't seem like it's back ordered to me??? I received a controller with the AF part number, a mfg date of 3/29/10 on the box, and made in mexico.

Anyway, I've installed it and it appears to work fine. Wondering about the add sales option to build. Is that a big job? The Service Rep says it pays them 1 hour to do, $92.50 and they have to reflash the entire memory, all the settings are updated. From this thread it sounded to me like all the other settings would be left alone and the trailer brake option/codes would be all that's added. Does what the dealership is telling me sound right. Actually I don't trust that they know what they're doing and want to see if it makes sense before they screw something up.
They are telling you right they will pull your vin up and add the sales code for the brake controller. then they have to hook the truck up to the witech or starmobile and download the new config to your truck...Then you will be able to see the info on your evic...
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 05-25-2010, 09:35 PM
fu2010 fu2010 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
fu2010 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sowardcustoms View Post
They are telling you right they will pull your vin up and add the sales code for the brake controller. then they have to hook the truck up to the witech or starmobile and download the new config to your truck...Then you will be able to see the info on your evic...
Called my dealer today to make an appointment to take it in to get the trailer brake controller sales code added to my build. Service Mgr said plan to leave it with them because they have never added a sales code to a build before and it may take awhile for them to figure out how to do it.
Should I be worried and skip having it done at my dealer and wait until I can go to a bigger city dealer to have it done? Or is this a pretty "Fool" proof process?
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 05-26-2010, 11:12 AM
sowardcustoms's Avatar
sowardcustoms sowardcustoms is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Burleson,TX
Age: 38
Posts: 490
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:145
sowardcustoms will become famous soon enoughsowardcustoms will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fu2010 View Post
Called my dealer today to make an appointment to take it in to get the trailer brake controller sales code added to my build. Service Mgr said plan to leave it with them because they have never added a sales code to a build before and it may take awhile for them to figure out how to do it.
Should I be worried and skip having it done at my dealer and wait until I can go to a bigger city dealer to have it done? Or is this a pretty "Fool" proof process?
Its an easy process they just add the sales code thru dealerconnect then wait about 30 minutes hook the truck up to witech or starmobile an update vehicle config. very simple process...
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 05-29-2010, 01:52 AM
fu2010 fu2010 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
fu2010 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sowardcustoms View Post
Its an easy process they just add the sales code thru dealerconnect then wait about 30 minutes hook the truck up to witech or starmobile an update vehicle config. very simple process...
Sowardcustoms, thanks for the info. I took my truck in to my local dealer and the Tech knew exactly what to do and it works just as Cormacs described and pictures show. Just note to self, the Service Writers and even Service Mgrs are out of touch with what the Techs are actually doing in the shop. Thank you all for the help;-)
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 05-30-2010, 11:27 AM
yagottaregatta's Avatar
yagottaregatta yagottaregatta is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 52
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Cherry Crystal
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
yagottaregatta is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks to Sigi I too have my brake controller in and it works great. Now i have to talk to the tech to download the build codes and i'll be laughing. Thanks again Sigi.

fu2010 thanks for the tip about talking to the tech and not the service manager. I will certainly do that.
__________________
BedRug, Bakflip Tonneau, Moroso Catch Can, Tint (all windows), Timbren helpers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum