DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #111  
Old 05-30-2010, 12:24 PM
wobly's Avatar
wobly wobly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 33
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wobly is on a distinguished road
Default

Last weekend, I bought a 2010 Ram 1500 SLT and yesterday, I bought the OEM Dodge Brake Controller and face plate. Originally I was going to get a Prodigy P3, but I loved the look of the integrated controller and decided to go that route.

While trying to install it this morning, I reviewed Luke's excellent write up and pictures. But, I can't find the second, smaller connector to go in to the brake controller. The larger 4 pin connector is right there and I couldn't miss it. But, I can't find the smaller of them. I have the tow package with the class IV hitch, the 4 and 7 pin connectors on the back bumper and (supposedly) the extra cooling for the engine and transmission.

Has anybody else that did this have the same problem? Where did you find the connector...or did you even find it? Will the controller work without that one? Can I still get it flashed to show in the EVIC? (I already have the appointment to do that on Tuesday)

Last edited by wobly; 05-30-2010 at 01:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #112  
Old 05-30-2010, 05:38 PM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

you need both connector's for it to function properly. The second connector should be tapped up with the harness. If it is not there maybe you are an unlucky one that didn't get pre wired.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 05-31-2010, 09:15 AM
wobly's Avatar
wobly wobly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 33
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wobly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cormacs View Post
you need both connector's for it to function properly. The second connector should be tapped up with the harness. If it is not there maybe you are an unlucky one that didn't get pre wired.
So, are there others out there with the towing package that don't have both connectors?
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 05-31-2010, 10:30 AM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wobly View Post
So, are there others out there with the towing package that don't have both connectors?
I bet it's taped up and you just haven't found it yet.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 05-31-2010, 06:15 PM
wobly's Avatar
wobly wobly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 33
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wobly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yotaman96 View Post
I bet it's taped up and you just haven't found it yet.
I would like to think that. Tomorrow, I am going to go to the dealer and have them help me find it...presuming it is there. If not, we will have a different discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 06-01-2010, 12:39 PM
wobly's Avatar
wobly wobly is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 33
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wobly is on a distinguished road
Default What I learned about the OEM Brake Controller

This morning, I went to the dealership and looked at another 2010 RAM 1500 to see where the two plugs for the brake controller are located. They were right where I expected and I tried to trace the smaller one back, but it was too covered in tape to trace. So, I went to the service writer and he confirmed that I had the tow package installed and didn't know why I couldn't find the second plug. He brought in one of the technicians and he was confused as to why I didn't have two plugs for the brake controller. We even went to a new truck together and looked at the harness. After this, we consulted with the parts guys. I talked with one of the guys that was willing to look up a lot of info and we seem to have figured out what is going on.

Evidently, there are over 15 different variants of the cluster wiring harness. My truck manufacturing date is 10-09. He pulled up my VIN and tracked down that I seem to have a version 1 wiring harness. He looked and found that the integrated brake controller was added after my manufacture date.

The bottom line is that I can't use the OEM brake controller because I don't have the proper harness.

If anybody wants to buy an OEM Dodge brake controller and gray face plate for a 2010 Ram 1500, I have one to sell. I can be contacted at woblytwo (a) gmail.com. I don't want to make a profit off of it, but just want to get my money back.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 06-01-2010, 02:59 PM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah, that's what I figured. The other thing to is you don't necisarily get both connectors just because you have the two package. The mopar brake controller was never meant to be an after sale add-on. Therefor there would be no reason for them to have the connectors if not equiped with it, they would just give you the one connector for an aftermarket controller.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 06-01-2010, 03:26 PM
sowardcustoms's Avatar
sowardcustoms sowardcustoms is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Burleson,TX
Age: 37
Posts: 490
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:145
sowardcustoms will become famous soon enoughsowardcustoms will become famous soon enough
Default

My truck was built 10/12/09 and it has the two connectors...it must be in how its optioned...
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 06-01-2010, 09:40 PM
RickMopar RickMopar is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 45
Posts: 31
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:33
RickMopar is on a distinguished road
Default

Does anyone know where the plug is in the 10's for the brake controler.

Also my "Ace" window lick'n parts guy doesn't know anything. Will an aftermarket controller work if I get the right plug?
__________________
Rick.Mopar@Gmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:53 PM
CHVYKLR's Avatar
CHVYKLR CHVYKLR is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 2,372
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram Crew 2WD
Trim Level: Lone Star
Color: Black
Rep Power: 6
Rep:252
CHVYKLR is a jewel in the roughCHVYKLR is a jewel in the roughCHVYKLR is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickMopar View Post
Does anyone know where the plug is in the 10's for the brake controler.

Also my "Ace" window lick'n parts guy doesn't know anything. Will an aftermarket controller work if I get the right plug?
Check out page 6 of this thread.
__________________
Turbo / Trans by L&M Customs (MGH)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:30 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum