DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 01-29-2010, 08:02 AM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

No the trouble code is only in the computer, It doesn't trun any lights on. It doesn't show anything on the screen since the truck doesn't know it's there and tech line refused to help me. But the brake controller works great, it talks on the bus to turn on the back lights when the headlamps come on. The display lights up as soon as a trailer is connected and the warns you when it disconnects with a large !. I really like it, I will be sure to get pictures of it with and without a trailer connected.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22  
Old 02-10-2010, 05:03 PM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Just got my factory trailer brake controller today. Did yours come with any wiring, or are the factory harnesses long enough to reach? Thanks.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport

Last edited by Yotaman96; 02-10-2010 at 07:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:28 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 598
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

You guys have it real easy with the 2010's. You don't need anything other than the bezel and 3 screws. Plug it right in. You can't mix the plugs as they are 2 different sizes.
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:48 AM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

The two plugs are taped up with the harness on the left side behind the dash. There is enough harness to reach the module.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-16-2010, 05:18 PM
jdolotina jdolotina is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shreveport, LA
Age: 30
Posts: 42
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Laramie Longhorn Crew
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Brown
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
jdolotina is on a distinguished road
Default

If you have a 2010, can you see the adjustments from the gain in the EVIC? If so, that makes it even more convincing to buy one.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-16-2010, 07:51 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 598
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

Not in the EVIC but on the controller display.
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-16-2010, 07:53 PM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

No, the controller has it's own screen. I love it simply because it looks good hidden up under the dash. Plus it works with the hill start assist.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-16-2010, 08:31 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 598
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

Never thought of that. So you can see the brakes continue to be applied when on a hill and you take your foot off the brake? That would mean it is indeed receiving info from the truck's systems.

I've got everything ready to install in my 09. Got the 2 harnesses made up and connected to the controller. Just need it to stop snowing so I can plug it into the truck.
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-17-2010, 12:30 AM
StuartV's Avatar
StuartV StuartV is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Age: 48
Posts: 94
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
StuartV is on a distinguished road
Default

Any brake controller *ought* to work with the hill start assist. All that is doing is activating the truck's brakes. Which ought to activate the trailer brake controller, no matter which controller you have.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-17-2010, 02:02 AM
jdolotina jdolotina is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shreveport, LA
Age: 30
Posts: 42
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Laramie Longhorn Crew
Trim Level: Laramie Longhorn
Color: Brown
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
jdolotina is on a distinguished road
Default

I am confused, what actually is supposed to show up in the EVIC with the controller. Considering your truck comes stock with one.

Thanks,
Josh D.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:40 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum