DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 02-17-2010, 06:43 AM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

no controller will work with the hill start assist. The truck holds the brakes by useing the ABS solonoids. The only way a standard brake controller apply's trailer brakes is by having an input from the brake lights since that's what it is wired to. The brake lights do not stay on when hill start assist is active.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #32  
Old 02-18-2010, 01:51 PM
CosmicVagabond CosmicVagabond is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Clayton, NC
Age: 51
Posts: 62
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Austin Tan
Rep Power: 0
Rep:70
CosmicVagabond will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by topgun View Post
Never thought of that. So you can see the brakes continue to be applied when on a hill and you take your foot off the brake? That would mean it is indeed receiving info from the truck's systems.

I've got everything ready to install in my 09. Got the 2 harnesses made up and connected to the controller. Just need it to stop snowing so I can plug it into the truck.
So you had to have a harness made to use the '10 brake controller in your '09?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-18-2010, 04:55 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 597
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

On the 2010, you can plug in the controller. On the 2009, you have to wire it in yourself. There are no plugs installed on the harness. It is very important to connect to the correct wires or you could do some serious damage.

There are 2 plug connections on the controller. You can buy the larger one that fits from Mopar but the other is not available. So I just made my own with some terminals I had. The larger connector wires (4) connect to the pigtail that fits into your blue plug under the dash. (same as any aftermarket controller) The smaller connector wires (3) need a connection to power it up and to the can bus c + and -.
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-19-2010, 01:00 AM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

I installed the factory controller tonight. I think I got a bad one. The + and - button doesn't seem to funtion properly. The button feels very loose. Once hooked up, I could lower the numbers by hitting -, but I could not raise them. Also tried with a trailer hooked up and it still would not let me raise the setting.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-19-2010, 06:51 AM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

sounds like a defective box
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:00 AM
RKW RKW is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Gender: Not Specified
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RKW is on a distinguished road
Default

Have put the controller in my 2010. Went to rent a travel trailer and when they checked the brake output there was no voltage when the brakes were applied or levers squeezed together. They just saw the LED flashing dimly on the test plug they plugged in. Flashing rate or brightens did not change when brakes applied. Did the dealer have to flash the system after the unit was installed to make it work?

RKW
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-25-2010, 03:01 PM
Cormacs's Avatar
Cormacs Cormacs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Age: 27
Posts: 266
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Crew Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
Cormacs is on a distinguished road
Default

The brake controller will not work with a tester. The brake controller will only work with actual working trailer brakes connected. No the dealer does not have to flash anything. I just plugged mine in and away I went. Connect the trailer and test it, I bet it will work.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:59 PM
RKW RKW is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Gender: Not Specified
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RKW is on a distinguished road
Default

Great news, thanks. Will try that.
RKW
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-25-2010, 11:25 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 597
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

Just a note, the controller did not operate properly in a 2009 truck. The circuits I had to tap were the exact same ones as the 2010. Must be missing some of the software or something. Too bad as it solved the problem of where to put a controller when you have a console.

My controller went to a guy with a 2010. He said everything seems to work fine except the EVIC of course. One note though, he said that when he lets off the brake, the controller voltage goes to zero meaning it wasn't holding. Do you have to be in tow haul for it to function? The incline he was on was pretty steep.
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-04-2010, 07:34 PM
cyberbiker cyberbiker is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Gender: Not Specified
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
cyberbiker is on a distinguished road
Default

Anyone have any pictures of the installation process?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum