DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical

Notices

Electrical 4th Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 01-08-2010, 11:38 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer

Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Quadcab
Color: Red
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep:10
hipshot is on a distinguished road
Default Entry Alarm Malfunction

Okay guys and gals, I finally have a little bit of time to ask for some help here. I'm a cop (an investigator; I don't do all that TV trick driving) and my work ride is a new 09 quad cab half ton with the 4.7 (I know, I know, but I didn't get to spec it out. I needed a new truck and the dealership made the city a sweet deal on this one). Anyway, I ran a six gauge wire from the battery to a fuse block in the cab, and the lights, siren, switchbox, radio, and locking gun rack are powered through the fuse block. I ran a common frame ground with pigtails for everything; I am not intruding on any circuits. The truck has a keyless entry with an entry alarm from the factory. Other than the emergency equipment, there are no aftermarket mods.

The problem is that intermittently, the entry alarm goes off. It may go three or four days between trips and it may go off several times in one night. Did I mention that the bride, the neighbors, and I are getting a little fed up with it? I took it back to the dealership where we purchased it. The service writer told me that I don't have an entry alarm. When I asked him what was waking me up all week long he said that I must have put an aftermarket alarm in. That kinda aggravated me but I let it go.