DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:47 AM
rjs2005's Avatar
rjs2005 rjs2005 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Age: 51
Posts: 173
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Electric Blue Pearlcoat
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:35
rjs2005 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rjs2005
Default Sirius Antenna

Here's hoping the esteemed group here can provide a little assistance. Here's the scenario: I recently replaced the stock single CD/Sirius satellite radio in my 08 with an Alpine IDA-X303 digital media receiver and an Audiovox 700XMALP1 XM radio kit. I got from Crutchfield, and I know there are those who despise them, I've always been quite happy with my purchases through them, in spite of their higher cost. The install was very easy and quite uneventful, until I got to the antenna installation. Not knowing how to remove the factory Sirius antenna, I chose to route the XM antenna around the rear window, through the same hole as the wiring for the Cargo/high center brakelight assembly, and place the antenna on the roof directly behind the Sirius antenna. Here comes the rub: lately, I've noticed that in the morning, when heading east (I do that a lot going to work), I lose my signal. Often, the word "Antenna" will flash on my receiver. I have checked the connections and they are tight and clean. I can only assume that the signal is being blocked somehow by the Sirius antenna.

Here's my question. How is the factory antenna mounted? Does the cable go through a hole in the roof, or is it a magnetic field type setup? Finally, if there is a hole, how big's the hole?

Yes, I know I can figure this all out myself if I drop the headliner, I just don't want to go through all that if the hole's too big for my mini XM antenna to cover up. Hoping one of the experts here have already encountered this situation!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:55 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 14
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

1.Disconnect and isolate the battery negative cable.2.Lower the rear portion of the headliner as necessary to access underside of antenna.3.Disconnect the antenna cables.4.Remove retaining fastener.5.From inside the vehicle, and using a flat bladed tool, depress one of the retaining tabs on the antenna. Push up the one side of the antenna connector through the roof panel. Depress the other side of the connector and remove the antenna.


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:58 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 14
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

No info is given regarding the size of the opening for the antenna wire to pass through. Is there an adapter that woul allow you to use the factory antenna?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:07 AM
rjs2005's Avatar
rjs2005 rjs2005 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Age: 51
Posts: 173
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Electric Blue Pearlcoat
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:35
rjs2005 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rjs2005
Default

To the best of my knowledge no, since XM and Sirius use a slightly different frequency. Thanks very much for the info, I figured if anyone would be able to come through so quickly, it would be you Randy!

Again, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:31 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 14
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

If your antenna is a magnet mount, you might try moving it around a bit and seeing what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:43 AM
rjs2005's Avatar
rjs2005 rjs2005 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Age: 51
Posts: 173
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Electric Blue Pearlcoat
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:35
rjs2005 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rjs2005
Default

I'm thinking about relocating it, but asthetics are important to me too. Now that I know there's a plug up under the headliner, I'm going to try removing it and see if my existing antenna will cover the hole. A write up and pictures are to follow.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:10 PM
jjhwick119's Avatar
jjhwick119 jjhwick119 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Age: 26
Posts: 324
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram Reg cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:97
jjhwick119 will become famous soon enough
Default

at work we put them in dash all the time with no problems. where the infinity dash speakers would go, theres areas under that piece where a sat antenna can mount
__________________
04 Dodge Ram 1500 SLT 2WD. De-Badged
Regular Cab, Black. drop shackles in rear to level
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:24 PM
michael99's Avatar
michael99 michael99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: winston salem, nc
Posts: 126
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1999 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
michael99 is on a distinguished road
Default

It sounds like you routed your antenna the same way I did, above the headliner and coming out the third brake light. If so check the wire where the light cover makes contact with it. If you tighten the light too much it will cut into the wire and cause you to loose signal periodically. Mine has done this before, I relly doubt the other antenna is blocking your signal.
__________________


1999 Dodge Ram 1500 4X4, 5.9l V8 360, Airaid CAI, Extang Tuff Tonneau, SS Tubular Nerf Bars,
Flowsound single chamber exhaust duals out the rear
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:35 AM
rjs2005's Avatar
rjs2005 rjs2005 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Age: 51
Posts: 173
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Electric Blue Pearlcoat
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:35
rjs2005 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rjs2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael99 View Post
It sounds like you routed your antenna the same way I did, above the headliner and coming out the third brake light. If so check the wire where the light cover makes contact with it. If you tighten the light too much it will cut into the wire and cause you to loose signal periodically. Mine has done this before, I relly doubt the other antenna is blocking your signal.
It's funny you should mention that. That's exactly what I found. It was cutting into the insulation, grounding out the signal. I used some liquid electrical tape to reinsulate the wire, rerouted the cable to exit from the bottom of the third brake light (had a little water intrusion from the original install) and preliminary testing is good. No problem with the drive to work this morning!

Thanks to Randy and Michael99 for their help!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-09-2010, 09:36 AM
rjs2005's Avatar
rjs2005 rjs2005 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Homestead, FL
Age: 51
Posts: 173
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Ram QC
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Electric Blue Pearlcoat
Engine: 2008-2008 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:35
rjs2005 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to rjs2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjhwick119 View Post
at work we put them in dash all the time with no problems. where the infinity dash speakers would go, theres areas under that piece where a sat antenna can mount
I'll have to check that out, that would be a clean install. Do you have to pull the dash or does the grill pop out?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum