DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > 5.9L V8 Specific Topics


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:22 PM
bigjeff64's Avatar
bigjeff64 bigjeff64 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Posts: 415
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
bigjeff64 is on a distinguished road
Default Trasmission Help!!!

I didnt see a transmission section and my ram is a 5.9 so i figured it would be best here.

OK so my auto transmission wont shift out of 1st gear till around 3500 rpm. The other gears shift perfectly and this just happened yesterday. I noticed last week When I put it in drive it was sluggish in 1st but it shifted like normal and at the correct rpm. I checked the fluid and its where it should be. Could it be my torque converter? or am I up the creek without my paddle!!!!

Any help here would be great cuz when it comes to transmissions it all french to me.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-27-2010, 03:37 AM
hemiv8dodgeram1500's Avatar
hemiv8dodgeram1500 hemiv8dodgeram1500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 23
Posts: 8,602
Gender: Male
Vehicle: Jeep GC WK
Rep Power: 11
Rep:964
hemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to beholdhemiv8dodgeram1500 is a splendid one to behold
Default

im just moving the thread up
__________________
"Yup...Speed Kills.....mileage that is. "--brad12kx
"lol.... yeah, thats the answer! Just get under the dash and cut some wires! Im sure it will be fine!" --gregster
I dont always drink and drive, but when I do, I prefer Dos Equis. stay thirsty my friends
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2010, 04:14 AM
deanthecrabman's Avatar
deanthecrabman deanthecrabman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Posts: 948
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Ram 1500 Quad 4WD 5.9
Trim Level: Quad cab
Color: Garnet red
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 6
Rep:202
deanthecrabman has a spectacular aura aboutdeanthecrabman has a spectacular aura aboutdeanthecrabman has a spectacular aura about
Default

It's a Hail Mary, but mine had problems in lower gears when I got it. Turned out the throttle pressure cable had come loose from the tranny. It had been rebuilt before it ended up on the lot, and looks like it was missed. Hope it's something that simple.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2010, 03:47 PM
bigjeff64's Avatar
bigjeff64 bigjeff64 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Posts: 415
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
bigjeff64 is on a distinguished road
Default

I am thinkin of changin the TPS and the auto parts store told me to check the cable so hopefully ill get somethin out of this
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2010, 01:40 AM
bigjeff64's Avatar
bigjeff64 bigjeff64 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Posts: 415
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
bigjeff64 is on a distinguished road
Default

well i changed the Throttle Position Sensor and and the guy at the store told me that the computer needs to learn the new part. I checked the Linkage cable and that was snug but they told me that it could be the vacuum line to the transand there is also a check valve in the line that could be open as well. Can anyone clarify any of this? I have the 46RE tranny so any and all help will be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2010, 08:57 AM
Toms Blue Ram 1500's Avatar
Toms Blue Ram 1500 Toms Blue Ram 1500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dundalk , Md .
Age: 50
Posts: 21,491
Gender: Male
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport with Off-Road
Color: Intense Blue
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 19
Rep:1588
Toms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant future
Default

Need to scan it and see if you have any codes . Could be something as simple as a input or output speed sensor .
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2010, 09:13 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

The parts store guy is talking out of his ass. Throttle position isnt a learned input. Have you tried adjusting the cable?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:49 AM
bigjeff64's Avatar
bigjeff64 bigjeff64 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Posts: 415
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
bigjeff64 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remerson228 View Post
The parts store guy is talking out of his ass. Throttle position isnt a learned input. Have you tried adjusting the cable?
No i havent adjusted the cable yet!!! I havent had much experience with trans so is that hard to adjust? what do i have to do?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:51 AM
bigjeff64's Avatar
bigjeff64 bigjeff64 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Gainesville, Fl
Posts: 415
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
bigjeff64 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toms Blue Ram 1500 View Post
Need to scan it and see if you have any codes . Could be something as simple as a input or output speed sensor .
I scanned the truck when I bought it and there were three codes. 1 was about the gas tank and the other 2 had somethin to do with pressure and voltage with the govenor but these codes have been on there for months and there never was a problem until now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2010, 10:52 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

I'm a bit confused. Your profile says your Ram is a 2004 but you say it has a 5.9 (presumably gas) and your pic is the BE body. I can get you the adjustment procedure if you give me the specifics.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum