DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101  
Old 09-22-2010, 12:48 AM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
Yes



Did you read the PDF on this post?

http://www.ramforumz.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=37
We read it, at least I did and for one it is describing a 2010 wiring. Now we are talking about 09's yes, how can we tell if those 3 wires are the same like Ken says we could check the one for power but how do we check for what is it frequency? on the other two??? No love for us 09 owners.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #102  
Old 09-22-2010, 03:36 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick980 View Post
We read it, at least I did and for one it is describing a 2010 wiring. Now we are talking about 09's yes, how can we tell if those 3 wires are the same like Ken says we could check the one for power but how do we check for what is it frequency? on the other two??? No love for us 09 owners.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Netman66 View Post
The small connector is wired as follows;
Terminal B1, CAN C Bus (-), Circuit D51 22g WT/LB
Terminal B2, CAN C Bus (+), Circuit D52 22g WT/LG
Terminal B3, Fused Ignition Run/Start Control Output, Circuit F943 20g PK/LG
Terminal B4, Unused
You can measure the canbus lines for voltage as well. With the key on with my 2010 truck, the WT/LB line measured ~2.65 VDC. The WT/LG line measured ~2.35 VDC. I may have these backwards, but I do recall about 0.3 VDC difference between the two white canbus lines. I do remember I measured the very same voltage on the respective white leads w/ darker stripes going to the OBDC connector. I would start with measurements of those lines to give you a frame of reference.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 09-22-2010, 11:31 PM
garrettj79 garrettj79 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North GA
Age: 35
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: TRX 4WD
Color: Stone White Grey Trim
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
garrettj79 is on a distinguished road
Default

.............

Last edited by garrettj79; 09-22-2010 at 11:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 09-22-2010, 11:40 PM
garrettj79 garrettj79 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North GA
Age: 35
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: TRX 4WD
Color: Stone White Grey Trim
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
garrettj79 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a copy of the tech essage from the dealer sitting rght in front of me. My dealer said they did not even make a 1500 with factory installed brake controller. We then went out on the lot and I showed him one on the lot with brake controller installed. He back pedaled and then looked up the notice and gave it to me. Basically the notice says.....The part is only to be used as a replacement part for a defective unit which was "factory" installed and is not to be used at dealerships to be "dealer" installed on a truck that did not already have one as it wold not work. I am not sure what to do? My dealer did not know anything about the reflashing or reprogramming either. It says there will be on available in early fall 2010 for the dealer installed option??? Any thoughts???

Last edited by garrettj79; 09-23-2010 at 12:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 09-25-2010, 02:19 AM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
You can measure the canbus lines for voltage as well. With the key on with my 2010 truck, the WT/LB line measured ~2.65 VDC. The WT/LG line measured ~2.35 VDC. I may have these backwards, but I do recall about 0.3 VDC difference between the two white canbus lines. I do remember I measured the very same voltage on the respective white leads w/ darker stripes going to the OBDC connector. I would start with measurements of those lines to give you a frame of reference.
Now we are cooking with spam! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:31 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

I need a bunch of 09 early build RAM owner in the Southern Ontario area that want to kick in on a trailer controller to see if we can get it to work. I got the wiring diagram etc from another forum and well I have to see for sure if the wires for the canbus are the same ones.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:10 PM
Regor's Avatar
Regor Regor is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 23
Gender: Male
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Regor is on a distinguished road
Default

Just got home, installed my controller on my 2010, 1500 ST, and I got the blinking CF ! on the controller, and the truck will not start at all.

Disconnected the larger of the two connectors and there is no error code on the Controller, the truck starts, but not sure what if all will work if/when I get ready to tow.

Anyone get that error and work around it?

Edit: Operator error - small plug was not "Snapped" in.

Last edited by Regor; 10-01-2010 at 08:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:39 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Take it back probably a bad one. Seems to be lots of them, why I am waiting. I don't tow often usually use rental trailers with surge brakes never had an issue. Never tried on hilly roads.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 10-02-2010, 12:27 AM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regor View Post
Edit: Operator error - small plug was not "Snapped" in.
So does the controller work properly when both pigtails are installed correctly?

Quote:
Just got home, installed my controller on my 2010, 1500 ST...
I'm still trying to decipher why some 1500 trucks have both connectors and others only have one. I thought it was likely trim related, but your ST disproves that notion.

Last edited by ken99; 10-02-2010 at 12:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 10-02-2010, 08:29 AM
RockStar RockStar is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 26
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RockStar is on a distinguished road
Default

Ya strange your ST has it and my 2010 SLT with tow package does not...

Has anyone found a dealer doing the EVIC flashing? Not only would I like to get my EVIC flashed for the brake controller but i also added the mirrors with the signals. Id imagine its just as simple as enabling them with the starscan tool? Ive seen videos on youtube for disabling DRLs so should be option to enable trailer brake there and enable mirror lights...

Wish aftermarket company would come out with a EVIC programmer so can enable your own options and shit as your purchase them. Should be a way to enable the 0-60 timer too like in the challanger.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum