2010 Ram Factory Trailer Brake Controller Install - Page 34 - DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum
DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, & Solutions - Maintenance & Repair > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base

Dodge Dakota Dodge Durango Dodge Nitro Jeep
Diesel Forums!
Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Nitro Forum Jeep Forum
Dodge Challenger Dodge Charger Chrysler 300 Dodge Magnum
Dodge Caliber
Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum Chrysler 300 Forum Dodge Magnum Forum


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Place your Ad Here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #331  
Old 12-03-2013, 05:36 PM
tschimizzi tschimizzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 SLT
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
tschimizzi is on a distinguished road
Default

A note to add for those searching this thread: My 2012 Ram 1500 4x4 Tradesman only had the single plug. The ITBC did require that I splice the power wire and the CAN +/- wires to work properly. I got the "CF" error message when only hooked up to the power wire.

The truck has the base dash but also power doors/windows and tire pressure monitoring system so I assume the EVIC is still present despite not having the nice display on the dash.

After a quick test everything works perfectly, I'll stop by the dealer to see if they still have to reflash. Thanks for the writeup!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSilver View Post
kevinhann, thanks for the response. Because of your post I decided to go and hunt the pick-a-parts to see what I could find. I was able to find and buy an ITBM and gray/black bezel out of a 2011 3500 dually for $65. Bought three #8 x 5/8 trim panel screws from the hardware store to secure bezel to module and to secure rear of module to dash support . Everything came apart just like Netman66 post described. Installed ITBM and bezel plugged in the large "A" plug (no "B" plug, just spliced into the pink/greenwire and hooked up to B3). Hooked up to my neighbors 21ft Jayco travel trailer and went on a 20 mile test run. Worked great w/o the CAN + - wires. So if you have an ST or Tradesman w/o EVIC there is no reason to worry about the CAN + - wires.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #332  
Old 01-27-2014, 10:44 PM
Mojack's Avatar
Mojack Mojack is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bristol, 10 A C
Age: 58
Posts: 184
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 ST
Trim Level: ST
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:65
Mojack will become famous soon enough
Default

I'd be interested to hear what you found out tschimizzi, my truck has the same options as yours and no evic.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tschimizzi View Post
A note to add for those searching this thread: My 2012 Ram 1500 4x4 Tradesman only had the single plug. The ITBC did require that I splice the power wire and the CAN +/- wires to work properly. I got the "CF" error message when only hooked up to the power wire.

The truck has the base dash but also power doors/windows and tire pressure monitoring system so I assume the EVIC is still present despite not having the nice display on the dash.

After a quick test everything works perfectly, I'll stop by the dealer to see if they still have to reflash. Thanks for the writeup!
__________________
2012 Ram 1500, 1979 Trailduster,
1972 Duster 340, 1965 Valiant 340
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 02-01-2014, 10:19 AM
my87csx481 my87csx481 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: CT
Age: 46
Posts: 16
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT regular cab
Color: White
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
my87csx481 is on a distinguished road
Default

I plan to try this install at some point using the .pdf (and splicing - 2010 1500 with one connector). Does anyone know if the mopar developed splice-in pigtail mentioned in a couple places in this thread has ever been released? (so I can harass my parts guy)

Also, does anyone have the original first post (or first page) of this thread saved somewhere? I'm after the pictures that Netman66 posted in the original post.

@Netman66 - please fix the broken links if you can ever make the time, which can be virtually impossible for some, so I understand....just figured I'd ask.

Thanks all for this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 02-24-2014, 03:31 PM
RedDodge's Avatar
RedDodge RedDodge is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 54
Posts: 506
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Granite
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
RedDodge is on a distinguished road
Default

If anyone is looking to buy one of these controllers. In the "for sale area"....

http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=168223
__________________
Steve
www.monteman.com

Mods: Tinted front windows, UnderCover tonneau bed cover, step rails, bed mat, cabin air filter, 4 corner mud flaps, slush mats, drop in K&N filter.
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 04-17-2014, 01:51 PM
dannymk2 dannymk2 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 28
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dannymk2 is on a distinguished road
Default

there was a guy on ebay selling the splice in harness for the smaller brake connector. cant seem to find the link anymore. does anybody happen to know if these are still available?
Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 05-29-2015, 04:29 PM
grnwphil grnwphil is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Indiana U.S.
Age: 60
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Sport 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
grnwphil is on a distinguished road
Default

Hello. Can someone direct me to information on rigging one up on a 2009? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 03-12-2016, 07:21 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 181
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:31
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grnwphil View Post
Hello. Can someone direct me to information on rigging one up on a 2009? Thanks!
http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=95420
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 05-26-2016, 09:03 AM
bonedoc33 bonedoc33 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Orange, TX
Age: 36
Posts: 22
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bonedoc33 is on a distinguished road
Default

I know this has been beaten to death, but I still have a question I haven't seen answered. I have a 2011 Sport that has had a lot of mods and a custom Hemifever tune. If I put in a controller and have my TIPM flashed, will it mess with my ECM tune at all?

Anyone out there done this with a custom tune?
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 12-10-2016, 07:49 PM
svanarts's Avatar
svanarts svanarts is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: California
Posts: 11
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 ST
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
svanarts is on a distinguished road
Default

I know this is an old thread but it was TREMENDOUSLY helpful! I wanted to use the factory brake controller in my new-to-me 2012 RAM 1500 ST and couldn't have done it without everyone here. I also only had the single connector under my dash. I read where some guys had only connected the +12V switched pin (B3) and claimed it worked for them. It didn't work for me until I connected up the CANBUS + and - pins (B1, B2) as well. (Even though I don't have EVIC) I would get the CF message and flashing trailer icon. After I hooked up the CANBUS connectors the brake controller would power up and then go dark like it should.

Thanks again guys!
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 02-03-2017, 01:47 AM
quikduk quikduk is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram SLT 4 Door
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Gray
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
quikduk is on a distinguished road
Default

I have the correct Yazaki connector and will make up the harness and try it in a 2012 screw.

How critical is the wire gauge? I have similar colored and sized wires I got out of a dodge truck at a bone yard and was going to try them.

I'll let you know how it works out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:57 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors