DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 08-16-2010, 12:04 PM
bking bking is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn 4X4
Color: Bright Silver Metallic,Dark Slate/Medium Greystone
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bking is on a distinguished road
Default

Great post.

I was also told by my dealer that the brake control module must be dealer installed, they didn't have one and it could be a month. I ordered the module and bezel anyway, came in in 2 days.

installed in 15 minutes with the great directions posted and works fine with my 20' enclosed display trailer I have for work.

What would be the benefit of the dealer re-flashing for the module? Info on the dash?

Thanks.

Bob
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #42  
Old 08-16-2010, 01:47 PM
Netman66 Netman66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 166
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: Inferno Red / Light Greystone Pearl
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
Netman66 will become famous soon enough
Default

Hi Bob,

If the PCM is flashed to add the ITBM then the EVIC contains a line item for the controller which tells you how much pressure is being applied and if the trailer gets disconnected (which you'd know about the hard way regardless!).

If the PCM isn't flashed, then an error code will be set internally (no indication to you) that something has been attached to the CANBUS it doesn't know about. Flashing the PCM fixes this.

The only "problem" is that if you experience issues with your truck and they scan the computer for errors, this will show up and may lead to false diagnostics or wasted time troubleshooting. Functionally, there is no probem with not getting the flash.

Last edited by Netman66; 08-16-2010 at 07:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 08-16-2010, 03:55 PM
BradC BradC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 43
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BradC is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site since I just bought my truck a week ago but so far it's been really helpful - ton of great info so thanks to all!!

Anyway, I did the controller install yesterday. Mine had the two plugs luckily so it was easy as could be. But the dealer here told me this morning that they wouldn't do the program update. According to them there was a notice put out by Dodge last week telling them specifically not to when the controller has been added because it could mess up something. I saw the paper notice he had but didn't get my hands on it to read it.

Anybody know about this?

Brad.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 08-16-2010, 05:31 PM
Talayoe's Avatar
Talayoe Talayoe is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 91
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Blue
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Talayoe is on a distinguished road
Default

Netman,

Something that got me curious, is how can I source that trim bezel for my truck and get the correct part number for the correct interior? I am planning to make this 'mod' to my truck since it didnt come with the trailer brake, and your photos are incredible and makes it easy...Tks for that!

And TIA for any help figuring that out.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 08-16-2010, 05:50 PM
bking bking is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn 4X4
Color: Bright Silver Metallic,Dark Slate/Medium Greystone
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bking is on a distinguished road
Default

Netman;

Thank for info.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 08-16-2010, 05:57 PM
Toms Blue Ram 1500's Avatar
Toms Blue Ram 1500 Toms Blue Ram 1500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dundalk , Md .
Age: 50
Posts: 21,491
Gender: Male
Vehicle: '01 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport with Off-Road
Color: Intense Blue
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 19
Rep:1588
Toms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant futureToms Blue Ram 1500 has a brilliant future
Default

First time seeing this thread . You did a excellent job on the install and the write up . Rep for ya . Thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08-16-2010, 07:00 PM
Netman66 Netman66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 166
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: Inferno Red / Light Greystone Pearl
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
Netman66 will become famous soon enough
Default

The dark gray (black as far as I'm concerned) should be part number 1EB13XDVAA.

I think the interior color code is in the part number.

As far as why the dealers are no longer flashing the PCM is a mystery. Randy has already chimed in stating he hasn't heard of anything and he's a Chrysler Tech.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08-16-2010, 07:20 PM
BradC BradC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 43
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BradC is on a distinguished road
Default

I'll see if I can get a copy of the notice when I pick up my truck today.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08-16-2010, 09:43 PM
BradC BradC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 43
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BradC is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradC View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site since I just bought my truck a week ago but so far it's been really helpful - ton of great info so thanks to all!!

Anyway, I did the controller install yesterday. Mine had the two plugs luckily so it was easy as could be. But the dealer here told me this morning that they wouldn't do the program update. According to them there was a notice put out by Dodge last week telling them specifically not to when the controller has been added because it could mess up something. I saw the paper notice he had but didn't get my hands on it to read it.

Anybody know about this?

Brad.
Nevermind - I got a copy of the notice and it's just about the possible missing connector thing because it mentions the kit coming out later this year. I still couldn't get them to program it so I'll just search around for another dealer who will.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08-16-2010, 10:56 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

I'm not sure but I'm getting the impression that the problems are stemming from Mopar add on controllers and not factory installed units. I still haven't seen any bullitens as of yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum