DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Towing

Notices

Towing 3rd Gen Dodge Ram Towing Questions

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 05-23-2010, 12:18 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

Vehicle: 2007 dodge ram
Trim Level: slt
Color: dark grey
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep:10
460hpmach1 is on a distinguished road
Default don't know what you call this for towing

ok i'm new to the truck world. and i'm needing to know what this part is call and where the best place to look for one at, i got told you can buy em from uhaul. but i have the normal bumper with hitch, but i was wanting the one that goes underneath the rear bumper that is call (i think) class 3 reciver hitch. i think that is what its called. so i need to know the proper name and where the best place to find one, i'm planning on pulling my car on a flat bed trailer or enclosed and was needing to know what that item is so i can buy it. thanks

ASh
Sponsored links
Old 05-23-2010, 12:21 PM
erm

"receiver hitch" is correct. They mount to the truck frame in the rear. You can get them online, at your local truck accessory story and places like your UHaul stores.

To tow something that obscures your truck's rear lights, you'll need lights on your trailer and a wiring harness with connector to plug in the trailer wiring to your truck's lighting.

It's all pretty much plug and play these days.
Old 05-23-2010, 12:26 PM
erm

Some things to consider when towing:

1. Your hitch class needs to be able to tow the load and handle the tongue weight.