DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #331  
Old 01-21-2011, 09:54 AM
sjbower's Avatar
sjbower sjbower is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 6
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram Big Horn CC 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Dark Red
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
sjbower is on a distinguished road
Default

I know this says audio but thought it was worth asking anyway.
I have a 2010 Ram CC and the factory radio with sat and 1 disk mp3/cd. It has a button for hands free but is not equiped with the hands free. While the kit does not seem to expensive the labor to get it put in by Dodge is. I was quoted about 250 for the part and another 250 to 300 for install. I am looking to add hands free and like the idea of being able to run it through the radio speakers but it is not required. What do you guys think of the something like the escort rear view mirror with bluetooth built in? I have also seen it with video inputs for things like a backup camera.
Sponsored links
  #332  
Old 01-21-2011, 10:08 AM
BigHorn2010 BigHorn2010 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BigHorn2010 is on a distinguished road
Default

Would you happen to know which wires and their locations in the cab?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chithead View Post
I believe you'll still have to tap a few wires for the backup camera. Other than that, all will be good.
  #333  
Old 01-21-2011, 10:49 AM
dodgeman70592's Avatar
dodgeman70592 dodgeman70592 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Youngwood, PA (currently)
Age: 34
Posts: 5,642
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Custom
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 11
Rep:1648
dodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigHorn2010 View Post
A couple Questions for the audio gurus here. I've purchased everything for my upgrade to my 2010 ram crew cab (stock 6 speaker non alpine).

I didn't have a ton of cash to spend so I ended up with:
pioneer avh-3200bt
Scosche adapter
Axess metra steering wheel control adapter
Two sets of Polk 6x9's db691
Polk 3.5" for the dash
A sound ordnance 100x4 rms amp (to power the 4 6x9's)
Back up camera

My questions are (I'm new to Dodge) if I want the head unit to power the dash speakers do I need to do anything other than disconnect the factory wiring to the four door speakers because I will be running new speaker wire directly to the amp? And also for the backup camera do I have to tap into separate wires for the reverse signal and parking brake or with the can/bus will everything be taken care of with the wiring harness adapter?

Thanks in advance for any help!
In your case what I would do is this: You will have RCA's out from the head unit to the amp, then you should run speaker wires from amp back to headunit and splice in to the speaker wires on the adapter harness, and end up using the factory wires running to the door speakers. Then I would run new speaker wire from dash speakers to front speaker inputs on the new deck. As for the backup cam, your new headunit should have a reverse trigger wire that is very long, long enough to tap into your factory reverse wire at the back of the truck. As for the parking brake wire, most of those can be run to any common ground, giving you an overide so you can watch video/use GPS etc, while in motion..

Quote:
Originally Posted by sk8noregon View Post
I am getting ready to buy a double-din dvd/nav unit to replace the stock cd player in my truck and would like to do it myself. I am going to order a new bezel that is a factory bezel for the nav system that came as an option. My question is will a aftermarket unit fit this bezel or will there be a gap around it still ? Also can I buy a wire harness to hook up between the new unit and the trucks harness or will I have to splice the wires ? Any input would be Greatly Appreciated, Thttp://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=310289689575&ssPageNam e=STRK:MEWAX:IThanks.
To install a double din, you will need the nav bezel, appropriate Canbus/Pac adapter harness, double din dash kit for Dodge, and a aftermarket antenna adapter for Dodge. The adapter harness will splice into the wires from the new headunit harness, and the other end will plug into the factory plug.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoefstall View Post
i just got 2 jl w7 13 in subs put in the guy only put a 600 watt amp on them i also have pioneer 4200 pushing on them do i need to put more power to them?
Ummm, well seeing as they are optimum with 1000 watts RMS per sub, you are underpowering them by quite a bit, so more power would be better, or just use 1 sub..

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_s...p?series_id=10
__________________

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 CTD.....lightly modded

2008 Dodge Challenger SRT-8 #3560.....lightly modded
2013 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon....lightly modded (yeah right, it's a Jeep!)
2010 Jeep GC SRT-8.....lightly modded
  #334  
Old 01-21-2011, 10:52 AM
dodgeman70592's Avatar
dodgeman70592 dodgeman70592 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Youngwood, PA (currently)
Age: 34
Posts: 5,642
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Custom
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 11
Rep:1648
dodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant futuredodgeman70592 has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjbower View Post
I know this says audio but thought it was worth asking anyway.
I have a 2010 Ram CC and the factory radio with sat and 1 disk mp3/cd. It has a button for hands free but is not equiped with the hands free. While the kit does not seem to expensive the labor to get it put in by Dodge is. I was quoted about 250 for the part and another 250 to 300 for install. I am looking to add hands free and like the idea of being able to run it through the radio speakers but it is not required. What do you guys think of the something like the escort rear view mirror with bluetooth built in? I have also seen it with video inputs for things like a backup camera.
Check out the aftermarket Parrot bluetooth systems. I would think Best Buy would have one for around 250 installed..
__________________

2008 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 CTD.....lightly modded

2008 Dodge Challenger SRT-8 #3560.....lightly modded
2013 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon....lightly modded (yeah right, it's a Jeep!)
2010 Jeep GC SRT-8.....lightly modded
  #335  
Old 01-21-2011, 03:53 PM
KRAZYK's Avatar
KRAZYK KRAZYK is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 25
Posts: 288
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 CrewCab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2008-???? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:92
KRAZYK will become famous soon enough
Default

Sorry if this has been answered already, Ive been looking around a little on google and the owners manual and I cant find anything..

My question is does anyone have a picture or know off hand what the back of the standard AM/FM/Sat/Ipod receiver looks like in the 4th gen 1500s? Reason im asking is because I am looking into installing an amp and a sub (speakers too later on) but im curious to what the back of the receiver has for me. Do they have RCA-out connections for an amp?

thanks guys.
__________________
SuperChips FlashPaq | 6000K HIDs Hi/Low | custom DIY intake | CherryBomb Glasspack | Daystar 2.5" Leveling Kit + Bilstein Shocks | 5% tint front and back | smoked tail lights and 3rd light | Pioneer AVH-P3200 2DIN + SIRIUS tuner | Reverse Camera | Kicker ZX700.5 | Kicker S10L5 sub in a FoxBox
  #336  
Old 01-21-2011, 03:55 PM
chithead's Avatar
chithead chithead is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Landis, NC
Age: 33
Posts: 12,930
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: R/T Baby!!!
Color: Bright White
Rep Power: 16
Rep:2078
chithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Nope, no RCA connections on the back of the radio. You'll either need an amplifier that accepts high-level inputs, or a Line Out Converter.
  #337  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:22 PM
KRAZYK's Avatar
KRAZYK KRAZYK is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 25
Posts: 288
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 CrewCab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2008-???? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:92
KRAZYK will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chithead View Post
Nope, no RCA connections on the back of the radio. You'll either need an amplifier that accepts high-level inputs, or a Line Out Converter.
thanks for the reply

So I guess what ill do it go with the line out converter, and install an amp and a sub. Next I plan on upgrading the door speakers and running them off of the same amp as the sub. I shouldn't have any problems with this correct? How vital is it to upgrade the center speaker and the 2 front tweeters?

Lastly.. has anyone had any experience upgrading the Head Unit and getting Sirius to transfer over the "Free year"? I called them and they said that the free trial year cannot be transferred. So that means if i want to keep my satellite radio I cant upgrade my receiver for another 11 months haha.
__________________
SuperChips FlashPaq | 6000K HIDs Hi/Low | custom DIY intake | CherryBomb Glasspack | Daystar 2.5" Leveling Kit + Bilstein Shocks | 5% tint front and back | smoked tail lights and 3rd light | Pioneer AVH-P3200 2DIN + SIRIUS tuner | Reverse Camera | Kicker ZX700.5 | Kicker S10L5 sub in a FoxBox
  #338  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:35 PM
chithead's Avatar
chithead chithead is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Landis, NC
Age: 33
Posts: 12,930
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: R/T Baby!!!
Color: Bright White
Rep Power: 16
Rep:2078
chithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Could you draw out a diagram of what you are thinking about doing? You could run the door speakers off the same amp as the sub, as long as it is a four or six channel amp. It would definitely not be advised to run the speakers off the same channel(s) as the subwoofer.

I would definitely consider upgrading the dash speakers if you plan on replacing the door speakers as well.
  #339  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:49 PM
KRAZYK's Avatar
KRAZYK KRAZYK is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 25
Posts: 288
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 CrewCab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2008-???? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:92
KRAZYK will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chithead View Post
Could you draw out a diagram of what you are thinking about doing? You could run the door speakers off the same amp as the sub, as long as it is a four or six channel amp. It would definitely not be advised to run the speakers off the same channel(s) as the subwoofer.

I would definitely consider upgrading the dash speakers if you plan on replacing the door speakers as well.

I don't have a diagram just an idea in my head of how im going to do it.. obviously im going to make sure the amp has the extra channels to run the speakers and the sub separate. Reason I am thinking of leaving the front/center speakers out of the loop is because running out of channels on the amp is a concern I have.. and do I need to find an amp that has a "center speaker" output?..

I've never dealt with a center speaker in car audio so its kind of throwing me off. How many channels would my sub need to power a sub, all four door speakers and then the front tweeters/center speaker?
__________________
SuperChips FlashPaq | 6000K HIDs Hi/Low | custom DIY intake | CherryBomb Glasspack | Daystar 2.5" Leveling Kit + Bilstein Shocks | 5% tint front and back | smoked tail lights and 3rd light | Pioneer AVH-P3200 2DIN + SIRIUS tuner | Reverse Camera | Kicker ZX700.5 | Kicker S10L5 sub in a FoxBox
  #340  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:53 PM
chithead's Avatar
chithead chithead is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Landis, NC
Age: 33
Posts: 12,930
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: R/T Baby!!!
Color: Bright White
Rep Power: 16
Rep:2078
chithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond reputechithead has a reputation beyond repute
Default

You'd need at least seven channels plus the sub. Do you have the Alpine upgrade? Just want to make sure...

The center channel isn't "required"... but definitely helps. Have you looked at the MS-8 by JBL? It would allow you to keep the factory speakers and also give you a subwoofer output.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum