DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #681  
Old 09-24-2011, 04:18 PM
ironchef2011's Avatar
ironchef2011 ironchef2011 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 456
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:120
ironchef2011 will become famous soon enoughironchef2011 will become famous soon enough
Default

There are no bolts like in the 3rd Gen Rams so it won't be as easy as removing it, drilling it, then bolting it back in.

So are 4th Gen guys just drilling it in place? What's behind there?
__________________
2012 R/T 392
Sponsored links
  #682  
Old 09-24-2011, 04:27 PM
MADDOG MADDOG is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,782
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 0
Rep:22
MADDOG is on a distinguished road
Default

Don't know what the 4th gen folks are doing but I just drilled through the plug to be able to pass a wire through.
  #683  
Old 09-24-2011, 05:20 PM
ironchef2011's Avatar
ironchef2011 ironchef2011 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 456
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:120
ironchef2011 will become famous soon enoughironchef2011 will become famous soon enough
Default

Well, here goes nothing! LOL
__________________
2012 R/T 392
  #684  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:06 AM
Frank Drebin Frank Drebin is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Age: 34
Posts: 356
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 RAM CC SPORT
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 1981-1987 225ci (3.7L) Slant-6 95hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:34
Frank Drebin is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ironchef2011 View Post
There are no bolts like in the 3rd Gen Rams so it won't be as easy as removing it, drilling it, then bolting it back in.

So are 4th Gen guys just drilling it in place? What's behind there?
There are bolts from the inside, and the plate can easily be removed.
__________________
Three Generation Dodge Ram Owner - 1998, 2003, 2011
  #685  
Old 09-30-2011, 07:25 PM
tat2dwiseguy's Avatar
tat2dwiseguy tat2dwiseguy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 40
Posts: 207
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 RAM 1500 SPORT
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Cherry Red Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:64
tat2dwiseguy will become famous soon enough
Default

Ok, Crutchfield couldn't help, and I don't want to sit here all night on a friday and read through 53 pages of posts to see if it's answered, but it's not obvious on the main A/V page.... I need a wiring diagram for the 2009 1500 Crew with the RES head unit so I can do a simple line out converter and sub install. Anyone out there have an accurate schematic for 2009? PS, I don't a factory amp. That seems to be the source of confusion, as everything is either for the 2500 or 1500 with amp.
  #686  
Old 09-30-2011, 10:20 PM
voodoochi1d's Avatar
voodoochi1d voodoochi1d is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: georgia
Posts: 132
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge ram 1500 slt
Trim Level: SLT
Color: silver
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
voodoochi1d is on a distinguished road
Default

Im not sure if Im right but, I upgraded to a RER and I had a RES unit. Would the schematic/pin out for my 2009 be any different than if my truck had come with a RER unit?
  #687  
Old 10-04-2011, 08:45 AM
LCJr's Avatar
LCJr LCJr is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 21
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Light Almond Pearl Metallic
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
LCJr is on a distinguished road
Default Request assistance with speaker install and amp question

Hey Guys,
I have a 05 Quad Cab with 5 speakers in the rear doors (passenger side speaker missing). I understand from this forum that 6 or 6 inch speakers will fit. My question is, how do I get the bigger speakers to fit? Im an office guy without a lot of technical skills or time. Is there a how to on this?
Also, when accelerating, the amp(?) behind the glove box under the dash is buzzing like interference perhaps and Im not sure if replacing the missing speaker will fix this or do I need to take my truck to some professionals?
Thanks
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram Laramie Quad Cab in Light Almond Metallic.
  #688  
Old 10-05-2011, 01:23 PM
MileHighRango MileHighRango is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Longmont
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Durango
Trim Level: Limited
Color: White
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
MileHighRango is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeman70592 View Post
I'm pretty sure the bus speed is different between the two, not 100% positive.
This is true.......after a lot of research the Can-Bus speeds are different and there is not yet a harness that allows the new ram's to run a stock system with after market amps so there is not way to make it work...at least without the $400 dash harness, and even then its questionable.
  #689  
Old 10-14-2011, 04:25 PM
2500hd's Avatar
2500hd 2500hd is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Alberta, Canada
Age: 27
Posts: 152
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 2500 HD
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:32
2500hd is on a distinguished road
Default

Call me crazy but my question regards doing the complete opposite of what most are doing on here. I have a 2010 ram 2500. I had the RES radio and I have swapped that out with a RBZ. I am a journeyman tech and parts tech apprentice at dodge so I have access to all the information and part numbers but I am unable to find a wiring harness or such to add a factory subwoofer to my truck. I, unlike most, dont have a problem with the factory system. I am no audio guru so the output of a factory subwoofer is plenty. My question is it possible to add a factory sub to a truck that does not have the harness for it. I would assume I will need the factory amp as well? Basically just want to know if it is possible and what would be involved. I know kicker has there add a sub option that comes with a harness and such but the price is not appealing for me, and reviews say its not much better compared to putting a customer set-up together like most do.
Thanks!
__________________

-Amp Research-Fuel Offroad-Nitto-Diablo-Rigid Industries-Craven-CJC Offroad-Carli-BT-
  #690  
Old 10-14-2011, 07:25 PM
bbessler199's Avatar
bbessler199 bbessler199 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Santa Rosa
Age: 25
Posts: 6
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:16
bbessler199 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi all I recently added some audio upgrades to my 2011 Dodge Ram Express. I installed a JL 500/1 amplifier and two 10inch JL 10" W1s. I made it about two weeks before I decided I had to get some speakers to match the awesome bass.

After talking with the local audio guy I ordered a set of Alpine Type R component speakers and a pioneer double din head unit. I also have another JL 300/4 amp that I am going to use to power the new speakers. For now I will just use the new HU to power the rear speakers.

I really like the look of double din head units but a nav unit really wasnt in my budget so I went with this set-up.

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_130P800...rand%7cPioneer

The main reason why I am posting is I have seen some people say you have to buy a nav bezel to install DD head units but then I have seen others say all you have to do is trim a small piece of the sub dash. I ordered a dash kit just in case but I was really hoping I wouldnt have to order the nav bezel.

Thanks for all the help guys!
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum