DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting HID - HALO - LED LIGHTING - UNDERBODY LIGHTING - TINTED/SMOKED/PAINTED TAILS - ETC.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-06-2010, 02:53 AM
YamiCaru's Avatar
YamiCaru YamiCaru is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 28
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT Lonestar Edition
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
YamiCaru is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down BS Lag with the Tire Pressure light and HIDs!!

Hey ya'll!
So i have a 2010 Ram that has the separate highbeams and lowbeams.
So i just put an HID kit on it and the damn tire pressure light keeps turning on!
I noticed that it turned on everytime that the headlights flickered, i installed a capacitor to end the flickering...it worked, but now there's a very odd problem at hand.
The tire pressure monitor crapped out!
the little yellow light remains on constantly and it's not reading the two back tires.
The light turns on when i turn on my HIDs....I just dont see the connection between lights and tires....
Does anyone out there have any clue as to WTF to do?!
This is really bugging me!
Just a few mins ago, the dash had a message: Service tire presssure monitoring system.
Any clue???
Why must Dodge make it so complicated to have HID lights?!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:46 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

The HID's are interfering with the TPMS because of RFI. Try moving your HID ballasts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:28 AM
agjames agjames is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 32
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 , crew cab, 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: inferno red
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
agjames is on a distinguished road
Default

Also try some RF chokes on the wires. these are the square blocks you find attached on the outside of cables that come with computer equipment. they can be purchased separately as some electronic stores.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:55 AM
YamiCaru's Avatar
YamiCaru YamiCaru is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 28
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT Lonestar Edition
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
YamiCaru is on a distinguished road
Default

Kk, ill try moving the ballast first...
If i get some of these Chokes, where do i put them--on the HID wiring?
On the ballast or where exactly???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2010, 02:04 PM
CdnoilRAM's Avatar
CdnoilRAM CdnoilRAM is offline
I push the skinny pedal


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 17,261
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Blown 349 Hemi
Trim Level: Sport - Modified
Color: Brilliant Black/Snake Skin Green
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 20
Rep:3277
CdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

The chokes are your best bet to remove the interference, you install them on the larger guage wire(s) running TO the ballast.
__________________
Sponsored by Bully's Performance
Green Mamba '09 Ram 1500 QCRB 4x4 Sport - dropped, blown, and bottle fed
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:49 PM
YamiCaru's Avatar
YamiCaru YamiCaru is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 28
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT Lonestar Edition
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
YamiCaru is on a distinguished road
Default

okay so i moved the ballast and im still getting the BS Lag issue with the tire pressure monitor.
How much are these Chokes and where can i get them??
are they hard to put on??? (any hard wiring needed??)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2010, 09:00 PM
YamiCaru's Avatar
YamiCaru YamiCaru is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 28
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: SLT Lonestar Edition
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
YamiCaru is on a distinguished road
Default

Gawd this is some major Lag....
I thought getting a 2010 Ram with the separate High and Low beams would make HIDs much easier than my 2007's H13 headlight...Grrrr..
Damn these damned complicated electrical systems!!!
ANywho, yeah so how do i do the choke deal??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-17-2010, 01:38 AM
BrentCRX BrentCRX is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 31
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BrentCRX is on a distinguished road
Default

I also have a 2010 , 1st thing I did was HID Headlights and Fogs.

I had the same TPMS problem. Assuming it was a botched install I look in too what the Shop had done. I removed the Headlight kit , now all is well. When the HID fogs come on instant failure of the TPMS.

It is the interference with th ballast. Or so I have assumed. I tried to shield them , to no avail. Since you also are losing the rear TPMS just like me I am thinking there is a larger problem than RF like we think.

This is too much BS for a truck that is still on paper plates.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hid lights, hid problem, tire pressure monitor

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum