Need help with '09 Cheby cobalt - DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum
DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Off Topic > Off Topic Discussion > Other Vehicle Discussion

Dodge Dakota Dodge Durango Dodge Nitro Jeep
Diesel Forums!
Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Nitro Forum Jeep Forum
Dodge Challenger Dodge Charger Chrysler 300 Dodge Magnum
Dodge Caliber
Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum Chrysler 300 Forum Dodge Magnum Forum


Notices


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Place your Ad Here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-31-2010, 05:14 PM
ramsport99's Avatar
ramsport99 ramsport99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 183
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 05 Ram quad cab
Trim Level: SLT 4x4
Color: light almond pearl
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:42
ramsport99 is on a distinguished road
Default Need help with '09 Cheby cobalt

I got a set of SilverStars for the wife for her Cobalt for Christmas as she wasn't happy with the stock headlights. Put them in today and now the auto function on the headlights dosn't work. You turn the headlights on and you got lights. Any ideas as to what may be the issue here?
__________________
If you're goin through hell keep on goin
Freedom isn't Free
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-31-2010, 09:05 PM
RootBeer RootBeer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson, AZ
Age: 59
Posts: 7,181
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: RootBeer
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 13
Rep:1287
RootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud ofRootBeer has much to be proud of
Default

All things being the same (connections, ground, etc) the sensor for the auto lights is just another switch/relay. It should turn them on when it is dark out or covered.

If you can't get it to work, try putting the old lights back in and see if it works. Just to be sure something else hasn't gone wrong.
__________________
Brian:
"A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2010, 09:13 PM
erm
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Good advice. It should still work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2010, 09:24 PM
ramsport99's Avatar
ramsport99 ramsport99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 183
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 05 Ram quad cab
Trim Level: SLT 4x4
Color: light almond pearl
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:42
ramsport99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yea, went out a little while ago. Turned the switch to auto off and then back through to lights on, noticed they came on at the auto position again. So set them to auto turned the car off and wa la...shut the car off lights went out started back up and...lights. Go figure. Thanks for your replies anyway guys.
__________________
If you're goin through hell keep on goin
Freedom isn't Free
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2011, 12:57 PM
ramsport99's Avatar
ramsport99 ramsport99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: iowa
Age: 55
Posts: 183
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 05 Ram quad cab
Trim Level: SLT 4x4
Color: light almond pearl
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:42
ramsport99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Well so much for them working. This morning they don't work again. Put in the old bulbs and still don't work. I'm thinking it must be a relay or someting. This is just typical of the way things go for me, I was born under the star of Murphy. lol.
__________________
If you're goin through hell keep on goin
Freedom isn't Free
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors