DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

Electrical 2nd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:40 PM
ramman1967's Avatar
ramman1967 ramman1967 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bracebridge,Ontario Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 01 ram 1500 quad cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red/Silver
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ramman1967 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ramman1967 Send a message via Yahoo to ramman1967
Default OBD-2 scanner

Just wondering if anyone has ever used or heard of the Toptak TP-270 OBD-2 CAN code scanner.Was wondering if it would work on my truck.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:55 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member



 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 44
Posts: 13,228
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1890
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

Never heard of it but it should work according to the description you posted. Does it do manufacturer specific codes or just generic OBD II?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:25 PM
ramman1967's Avatar
ramman1967 ramman1967 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bracebridge,Ontario Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 01 ram 1500 quad cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red/Silver
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ramman1967 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ramman1967 Send a message via Yahoo to ramman1967
Default

The add states that it will read both generic and manufacturer specific diagnostic trouble codes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:27 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member



 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 44
Posts: 13,228
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1890
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

If the price is right, it might be worth rolling the dice.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2011, 02:53 PM
ramman1967's Avatar
ramman1967 ramman1967 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bracebridge,Ontario Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 01 ram 1500 quad cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red/Silver
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ramman1967 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ramman1967 Send a message via Yahoo to ramman1967
Default

Thanks Ramtech,I think I will go for it.The one that I wanted from Canadian Tire is like $300.00 and this one is simular and a third the price.And I'm all for saving money..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2011, 05:11 PM
wermbang wermbang is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 10,365
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram 4X4 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport- Off Road
Color: Intense Blue
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:1930
wermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant futurewermbang has a brilliant future
Default

This is the scanner I have. Displays live data too
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/SUPER...motiveQ5fTools
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2011, 12:14 PM
ramman1967's Avatar
ramman1967 ramman1967 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bracebridge,Ontario Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 01 ram 1500 quad cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red/Silver
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ramman1967 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ramman1967 Send a message via Yahoo to ramman1967
Default

Got my code reader today.Hooked it up to the truck got the code P0135 o2 sensor heater circuit malfunction (cylinder bank #1 sensor #1)My question is how hard are these to replace?Something for the shop or can I do it myself?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2011, 08:57 PM
ramman1967's Avatar
ramman1967 ramman1967 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bracebridge,Ontario Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 01 ram 1500 quad cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red/Silver
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ramman1967 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ramman1967 Send a message via Yahoo to ramman1967
Default

O.K. I'm a little confused here.I seem to be finding only one o2 sensor on my truck.And it's attached to the catalytic converter.According to the internet I should have two catalytic converters and 4 o2 sensors.One before and one after each catalytic converter(correct?).Where should I be looking to find the other wayward sensors?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-05-2011, 07:43 PM
ramman1967's Avatar
ramman1967 ramman1967 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bracebridge,Ontario Canada
Age: 48
Posts: 34
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 01 ram 1500 quad cab 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Red/Silver
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:20
ramman1967 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to ramman1967 Send a message via Yahoo to ramman1967
Default

Found the other one, It was on the tail pipeTurned up out of sight.Had to crawl under the truck to find it.Why couldn't they put these where ya can get at them easily?.Would anyone know which brand o2 sensor would be the best to use.I'm watching some on Ebay NTK,Denso and Bosch.Also does it matter what part number they have?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:38 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors