DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting HID - HALO - LED LIGHTING - UNDERBODY LIGHTING - TINTED/SMOKED/PAINTED TAILS - ETC.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-10-2011, 05:50 PM
strafen's Avatar
strafen strafen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lubbock, Tx
Age: 29
Posts: 112
Gender: Male
Vehicle: "Beast" - '09 Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: Laramie - Crew
Color: Inferno Red Crystal / Lgt. Greystone
Rep Power: 0
Rep:42
strafen is on a distinguished road
Default question about wiring lights to overhead console?

ok i have a question here.... couldnt find anything on it.

has anyone figured out how to re wire the 3 garage door openers to operate offroad lights or anyother mod that requires a switch?

i know its kinda wierd thing to do, but i dont have a garage, and i think that would be a handy place to have your lighting, exhaust cutout or other mods.
if the current switch cant run anything else, i might just look into replacing them with toggle's or somethin else.

i didnt get as much back this tax time so bout all i can afford for now is some lights behind grill and upgrade halogens while im tearing into grill. no HID's for me yet, still havent seen a set in person to decide.
__________________
X'd seatbelt minder, 13" radio antenna - black, more to come.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-10-2011, 06:30 PM
APSTRAM's Avatar
APSTRAM APSTRAM is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 49
Posts: 1,426
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2010-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 383hp 400lb/ft (2500/3500)
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
APSTRAM will become famous soon enough
Default

My console has a blank plate were the 3 buttons would be and mounting switches to that may be easier than making the home link switches work as a light switch.

Maybe you can get a hold of just that piece and sell the home link set up to some one who could use it or better yet have them send you the blank piece as part of the deal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2011, 02:01 PM
Crash's Avatar
Crash Crash is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 1,441
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Deep water blue
Rep Power: 5
Rep:401
Crash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really nice
Default

Let us know if you figure a way to make this work. If I could use one switch for my garage and could use the other two for something else it would be awesome. It never even occurred to me to try it.
__________________
Frt 20%tint,Line-x,Bak-Flip,El T/gate Lock,Box Lights,LED T/gate Bar,Bilsteins,Timbren SES,Chrome Bug Sheild,Putco Vent Visors,Amp Powersteps,HID Lows,Fogs,Volant Cai,Engine Cover Painted&Lit,B Pillar Tape Removed,Weather Tech Mats,Mopar Mud Flaps,Shorty Antenna,SRT 22s,Diablo Trinity
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2011, 03:55 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 18,613
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 19
Rep:2608
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I did not think about using the overhead console for anything, i use the first switch for my garage door opener, that leaves the other 2
Behind the 2 courtesy lights, i installed a external speaker for my CB radio

i put my 2 extra switches on my front dash console, they are for my external lights & auxiliary gas tanks pump

[IMG]

another place to consider is right below your climate controls, the panel reads RAM on it as seen in the pix, that panel is used for the heated seats & steering wheel switches, when you have that option, so it is ready for any switches that you may wish to add.

[IMG]
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:06 PM
dodgeguy's Avatar
dodgeguy dodgeguy is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 126
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2000 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:61
dodgeguy will become famous soon enough
Default

Dude.. That's GENIUS!
I don't have garage door openers on mine, so I never thought about it.
But you should be able to rewire them so it works.
You'll have to get in behind the switches and find where they run to.
If they run down to the fuse box, you just need to clip the wire (or splice the new wire into the old wire, in case you ever want to be able to use that switch as a garage door opener again; just make sure you don't program that switch to anything!) after the fuse and run a new wire off of that to your lights or whatever.
If they don't run to the fuse box and they just run to a little transmitter somewhere inside the overhead console, it might be a little more difficult.
You would have to run a brand new wire, and that might be a pain.

Ooh, RamTech, I didn't even think of that.
Nevermind all that lol
__________________
"If it's smaller than a 5-cyclinder, it's just a glorified motorcycle engine."

Last edited by dodgeguy; 02-11-2011 at 06:04 PM. Reason: RamTech is smarter than I am haha
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2011, 04:37 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 14
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

Problem #1 - the buttons are momentary push switches, not on-off switches that you'd need to keep a relay energized.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:17 PM
Crash's Avatar
Crash Crash is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 1,441
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Deep water blue
Rep Power: 5
Rep:401
Crash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really nice
Default

[[IMG]

another place to consider is right below your climate controls, the panel reads RAM on it as seen in the pix, that panel is used for the heated seats & steering wheel switches, when you have that option, so it is ready for any switches that you may wish to add.

[IMG][/QUOTE]

Yeah I thought of that, even bought a center peice with switches from another member but have since read you cannot order or add any swithces to that panel those switches are programed to the comp somehow. I have yet to take it apart to explore this farther though. anyone who know differantly please chime in.
__________________
Frt 20%tint,Line-x,Bak-Flip,El T/gate Lock,Box Lights,LED T/gate Bar,Bilsteins,Timbren SES,Chrome Bug Sheild,Putco Vent Visors,Amp Powersteps,HID Lows,Fogs,Volant Cai,Engine Cover Painted&Lit,B Pillar Tape Removed,Weather Tech Mats,Mopar Mud Flaps,Shorty Antenna,SRT 22s,Diablo Trinity
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2011, 09:19 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Johnson City, TN
Age: 44
Posts: 12,120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 14
Rep:1824
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

The switches themselves aren't programmed but are in a LIN bus that goes to the cluster where the commands are sent to the TIPMCGW or other modules where they are executed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-12-2011, 12:41 AM
Crash's Avatar
Crash Crash is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Northern Ontario, Canada
Age: 54
Posts: 1,441
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Deep water blue
Rep Power: 5
Rep:401
Crash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really niceCrash is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamTech View Post
The switches themselves aren't programmed but are in a LIN bus that goes to the cluster where the commands are sent to the TIPMCGW or other modules where they are executed.
sorry Randy thats just a little over my head. is there any way i can take some of the switches from the piece i bought and add them to the blank spots by my seat heat switches and wire them to a power souce and use to control accessories?
__________________
Frt 20%tint,Line-x,Bak-Flip,El T/gate Lock,Box Lights,LED T/gate Bar,Bilsteins,Timbren SES,Chrome Bug Sheild,Putco Vent Visors,Amp Powersteps,HID Lows,Fogs,Volant Cai,Engine Cover Painted&Lit,B Pillar Tape Removed,Weather Tech Mats,Mopar Mud Flaps,Shorty Antenna,SRT 22s,Diablo Trinity
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2011, 10:46 PM
KLuna's Avatar
KLuna KLuna is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Hemi
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:22
KLuna is on a distinguished road
Default

Amazon.com has a 12v remote switch, just program the signal into the garage door button, wire up the remote switch under the hood, and there you go. Just search "12v remote switch" they are like $25 shipped.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overhead Console Wiring Vikefan4eva Electrical 3 02-13-2011 05:14 AM
Question about behind the grille lights 348 red ram 2009 Dodge Ram Forum 5 02-11-2010 04:31 AM
Overhead console removal. bones64 Dodge Ram General Discussion 11 02-08-2010 04:46 PM
A question about in-grille lights Marcelo Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting 20 01-30-2010 12:15 PM
Help! Looking for a stock overhead console for 2001 1500 quad cab BigE450 Newbie Checkin! 11 01-24-2010 02:18 PM


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:36 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum