DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion


Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-21-2011, 05:21 PM
jcasey10's Avatar
jcasey10 jcasey10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Age: 22
Posts: 2,885
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2003 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp 335lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:869
jcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to behold
Default Gauge Cluster Swap

Okay, so my gauge cluster circuit board is fried and only half of it lights up. I found a replacement from an 04 that had a hemi on CL and the guy said it works. Would I be able to plug it in to mine, since it's different motors? Or would it not matter? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-21-2011, 05:22 PM
jcasey10's Avatar
jcasey10 jcasey10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Age: 22
Posts: 2,885
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2003 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp 335lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:869
jcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to behold
Default

And I've already replaced all the bulbs. Nothing works.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2011, 07:51 PM
jcasey10's Avatar
jcasey10 jcasey10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Age: 22
Posts: 2,885
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2003 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp 335lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:869
jcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to behold
Default

I think it will work, I just don't know because I have OD off and I think they changed that over to tow/haul mode in 04
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2011, 08:39 PM
Ram15002ndgen's Avatar
Ram15002ndgen Ram15002ndgen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Age: 52
Posts: 479
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 97 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:55
Ram15002ndgen will become famous soon enough
Default

The motor makes no difference to electronics such as the cluster. What makes a difference would be the options on the truck. The ST will be different than an SLT, etc. I would call a dash replacement place and ask them if it would fit.
__________________
www.beatcraigslist.com - for posting dangers & secrets
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2011, 10:39 PM
jcasey10's Avatar
jcasey10 jcasey10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Age: 22
Posts: 2,885
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2003 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp 335lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:869
jcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to behold
Default

I don't see how the trim level could affect the cluster. It looks the same as mine. I'm going to call the guy and see if he'll let me install it real quick to see if it works
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2011, 11:35 PM
Ram15002ndgen's Avatar
Ram15002ndgen Ram15002ndgen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Age: 52
Posts: 479
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 97 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:55
Ram15002ndgen will become famous soon enough
Default

I know for a fact that on the 2nd gens they are different. The ST had a 4 gauge cluster while the SLT had 6 gauges. I don't know about the 3rd gens.
__________________
www.beatcraigslist.com - for posting dangers & secrets
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2011, 12:04 AM
05atlanticblue's Avatar
05atlanticblue 05atlanticblue is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: sw desert
Posts: 560
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 dodge ram
Trim Level: sxt
Color: atlantic blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:197
05atlanticblue has a spectacular aura about05atlanticblue has a spectacular aura about
Default

DO NOT PLUG IT IN TO YOUR TRUCK!

this is how to do a cluster swap correctly. it isn't just plug and play, the mileage and vin are stored in the cluster, if you just put it in it will throw flags with the computer.

you need a cluster from your year truck (you will need to verify further but i've read that cluster interchangeability is along 02-03 for older 3rd gens and 04-05 for newer 3rd gens) if your truck has power locks, the replacement cluster also needs to have come from a power lock truck. with power locks, you will reuse your rke module on the back of the cluster.

the replacement cluster will need to be sent to chrysler to have your vin and mileage programed into it (you will estimete how many miles you will have in two weeks, as long as you're close you will be ok).

as far as sending it in to chrysler, not a lot of dealers will know how to do this. the parts manager at avondale dodge in arizona knows how. you send it to him, he sends it to chrysler and it gets sent back to you. all this gets done for around $100.

i've done this procedure on two trucks- yes, that is a srt-10 cluster on a 4.7l sxt level truck

Last edited by 05atlanticblue; 02-22-2011 at 12:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-22-2011, 01:21 AM
jcasey10's Avatar
jcasey10 jcasey10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Age: 22
Posts: 2,885
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2003 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp 335lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:869
jcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to behold
Default

Thank you for that information! I think I'll just live with half of it out for that much trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-22-2011, 01:38 AM
05atlanticblue's Avatar
05atlanticblue 05atlanticblue is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: sw desert
Posts: 560
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 dodge ram
Trim Level: sxt
Color: atlantic blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:197
05atlanticblue has a spectacular aura about05atlanticblue has a spectacular aura about
Default

it's really not that bad. the hardest part is finding another cluster to use.

i still have the cluster from my "05 (non-power locks)
if you want it to play with, it's yours for shipping and enough to get a chipotle burrito

Last edited by 05atlanticblue; 02-22-2011 at 01:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-22-2011, 04:26 AM
jcasey10's Avatar
jcasey10 jcasey10 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SW Missouri
Age: 22
Posts: 2,885
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2003 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp 335lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:869
jcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to beholdjcasey10 is a splendid one to behold
Default

Lol thanks for the offer. This guy on CL is selling it for $40 which I'm sure is a steal. I'll call up Dodge tomorrow and see if they can send it in.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cluster swap question dankent 2011 Dodge Ram Forum 2 02-11-2011 10:59 AM
09-10 ram oem instrument panel gauge cluster semichigan Dodge Ram Parts and Accessories for Sale - Trade - Want To Buy! 7 11-29-2010 12:34 PM
Parttime Speedo Dragonslayer Electrical 8 09-08-2010 10:43 PM
Gauge Cluster and Heat/AC control problems jcasey10 Electrical 5 12-26-2009 01:18 PM
Gauge Cluster Light Is Not Working but radio lights are Goodfellas Electrical 2 08-21-2009 06:56 PM


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum