DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-16-2011, 12:35 PM
Kpass3490 Kpass3490 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denton Md
Age: 24
Posts: 37
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Green
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Kpass3490 is on a distinguished road
Default Aftermarket stereo

My friend and I just hooked up my new Pioneer flip out touch screen DVD head unit last night, and he did most of it since he had some training and has done many others. After we finished and put it all back together we learned it doesn't work right. When you go above around six on the volume it just gets a bunch of static and you can't here, it does this on all of the input settings. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-16-2011, 12:42 PM
Get Bit's Avatar
Get Bit Get Bit is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 357
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram RC 4x4
Trim Level: SLT Sport
Color: Silver
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
Get Bit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpass3490 View Post
My friend and I just hooked up my new Pioneer flip out touch screen DVD head unit last night, and he did most of it since he had some training and has done many others. After we finished and put it all back together we learned it doesn't work right. When you go above around six on the volume it just gets a bunch of static and you can't here, it does this on all of the input settings. Any ideas?
Did you use a wiring harness which is correct for the truck and deck, or did you just splice into everything?

Static could be interference caused by bad ground, insufficient power, swapped +/- speaker wires, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:07 PM
Kpass3490 Kpass3490 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denton Md
Age: 24
Posts: 37
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Green
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Kpass3490 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes I used a wiring harness that is specific to my truck but the truck itself has no ground wire so we have to find somewhere else to put the one from the head unit and aren't getting any good places there's not much metal in the dash either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:17 PM
CdnoilRAM's Avatar
CdnoilRAM CdnoilRAM is offline
I push the skinny pedal


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 17,290
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Blown 349 Hemi
Trim Level: Sport - Modified
Color: Brilliant Black/Snake Skin Green
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 20
Rep:3277
CdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

It does sound like a bad ground to me as well, you could ground the radio chassis to the frame and see if it helps.
__________________
Sponsored by Bully's Performance
Green Mamba '09 Ram 1500 QCRB 4x4 Sport - dropped, blown, and bottle fed
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2011, 01:42 PM
Get Bit's Avatar
Get Bit Get Bit is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 357
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram RC 4x4
Trim Level: SLT Sport
Color: Silver
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
Get Bit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kpass3490 View Post
Yes I used a wiring harness that is specific to my truck but the truck itself has no ground wire so we have to find somewhere else to put the one from the head unit and aren't getting any good places there's not much metal in the dash either.
Bad ground would do this, easily. Run a new ground out into the engine bay through a gromet and find a place on the frame to ground it too. You might also find a common grounding area that other things are grounded to.

Or run one down under your carpet and ground it using one of the bolts on the seats. Just use good washers and have the connector between them or something.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2011, 02:56 PM
Kpass3490 Kpass3490 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denton Md
Age: 24
Posts: 37
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Green
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Kpass3490 is on a distinguished road
Default

Finally got it right, thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-16-2011, 10:17 PM
Ram15002ndgen's Avatar
Ram15002ndgen Ram15002ndgen is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Age: 52
Posts: 479
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 97 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:55
Ram15002ndgen will become famous soon enough
Default

What do you mean there isn't much metal in the dash? The entire dash is held in place by a metal frame. All you have to do is tie into any of the screws that hold the panels to the metal frame. Maybe all you need is a little sand paper to clean the metal to ground it to. After years of accumulation of grime, the metal contact may not be very conductive. You are obviously getting ground or the unit would not work.
__________________
www.beatcraigslist.com - for posting dangers & secrets
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-16-2011, 10:29 PM
Get Bit's Avatar
Get Bit Get Bit is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 357
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram RC 4x4
Trim Level: SLT Sport
Color: Silver
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
Get Bit will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ram15002ndgen View Post
You are obviously getting ground or the unit would not work.
Not true, you can have a bad ground which is insufficient and it will cause interference. Electronics are touchy and not always black and white or working or not.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-17-2011, 12:08 PM
Kpass3490 Kpass3490 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denton Md
Age: 24
Posts: 37
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Green
Engine: 1998-2001 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 245hp(standard), 250hp(Sport package)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Kpass3490 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah there was the metal in there but he would have to drill into it and couldn't get his drill in there so he just ran it through the dash and finally used an area under the steering column that had a place with screw to metal to hold it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aftermarket stereo Guinnessboy 2010 Dodge Ram Forum 3 02-09-2011 01:15 AM
2006 Dodge Ram 1500 aftermarket stereo. Questions Jesse94 Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video 5 12-14-2010 11:50 PM
just put a new aftermarket stereo into my 98 ram.... 2 front speakers not working? newrammer88 Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video 4 08-05-2010 01:38 PM
Stereo switch with an aftermarket stereo jcasey10 Electrical 4 05-03-2010 10:47 AM
Having problems with an aftermarket stereo! teabbey Electrical 1 02-14-2010 10:30 PM


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum