DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting HID - HALO - LED LIGHTING - UNDERBODY LIGHTING - TINTED/SMOKED/PAINTED TAILS - ETC.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #181  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:57 PM
InDeepWaterBlue's Avatar
InDeepWaterBlue InDeepWaterBlue is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida
Age: 27
Posts: 3,956
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:611
InDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Choquette View Post
thank you very much!
No problem, we all have/had those questions. Luckily for you we've all been through the trial and error method so you don't have to
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #182  
Old 03-26-2012, 05:44 PM
Choquette's Avatar
Choquette Choquette is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Age: 30
Posts: 49
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black and Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Choquette is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a question, I do not know if I'm in the right section cause its for Leds lights but its leds that I'll put insine my headlights, and fog lights, and ANgel Eyes, I was wondering if I could splice the cable that goes to the cargo light switch and plug my angel eyes and leds to it so that way when I turn on my cargo light on it turns everything ON at the same time!
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:47 PM
mikeski's Avatar
mikeski mikeski is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cary, NC
Age: 55
Posts: 340
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Quad Cab 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
mikeski is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to mikeski
Default

I am having trouble visualizing what you are trying to do. You want to run your cargo lights when you run your LED's and Angel Eyes? Or do you just want to tap the power that goes to that switch to run all the LED's and Angle Eyes?

me...
__________________
Mikeski.....

Morimoto Mini H1 Projector's w/ Digital 55watt 6000k HID's, 35W 10k HID Fog Lights, Blue LED's throughout the interior, Bed and Reverse LED's, Oil Catch Can, 4" vent to stock air box and two beady red eyes. Where will the madness end????
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:19 PM
Choquette's Avatar
Choquette Choquette is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Age: 30
Posts: 49
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black and Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Choquette is on a distinguished road
Default

I want to tap to the power that goes out of the switch so when I turn on my cargo light( The light behind the Cab that is with the 3rd break light) I turn on the others lights too! (Nevermind I read that there is always 12V on and it goes with a resistor to the CPU that detects the drop down courant. ANd btw the Cargo lights dont stay on plus than 20min) So I'll need to put another switch or you got an idea what switch I could use that stays on? If I want to put a relay for the led what kind should it be. Im trying to find an alternative to use a switch that Is already existant! I could use one of my Map light to use like a switch for my led and Angel EYes. COuld that work?

Last edited by Choquette; 03-26-2012 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 03-26-2012, 07:58 PM
SS4Luck's Avatar
SS4Luck SS4Luck is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Pleasant Lake, MI
Posts: 3,070
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Big Horn 4x4
Color: Bright White Clearcoat
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:310
SS4Luck is a jewel in the roughSS4Luck is a jewel in the roughSS4Luck is a jewel in the roughSS4Luck is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InDeepWaterBlue View Post
Well we could let them go off and have thousands of questions for you to answer, but that's just not very nice lol So I think helping others like you've helped myself and a few others along is the right approach, next time warn me when you go on vacation so I can charge you for my secretarial skills lol
Lol, secretarial skills. Y'all ate hilarious.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeski View Post
Where ya been vacationing?...
Haha I've been vacationing to my engine shop. We turned the key on the dyno for the engine in my camaro about a week and a half ago and been having tuning issues/problems that would make the most patient person pull their hair out
__________________

2011 Big Horn 4x4 -SnowWhite-
1 7/8ths catless ARH ceramic coated longtubes - Sport mirrors-55W 5000K HID low and fogs-LED EVERYTHING
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:57 PM
Pyroboy5000's Avatar
Pyroboy5000 Pyroboy5000 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: GA
Posts: 444
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1999 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie SLT
Color: Intense Blue Pearl
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:37
Pyroboy5000 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Choquette View Post
I want to tap to the power that goes out of the switch so when I turn on my cargo light( The light behind the Cab that is with the 3rd break light) I turn on the others lights too! (Nevermind I read that there is always 12V on and it goes with a resistor to the CPU that detects the drop down courant. ANd btw the Cargo lights dont stay on plus than 20min) So I'll need to put another switch or you got an idea what switch I could use that stays on? If I want to put a relay for the led what kind should it be. Im trying to find an alternative to use a switch that Is already existant! I could use one of my Map light to use like a switch for my led and Angel EYes. COuld that work?
you could cut into the park lights. or if you have drl's on your truck you could splice into them. me personally i have a swith in the cab and i have it straight wired to the battery with a 15a fuze. it has been running for at least an hour straight once when driving and the fuze hasnt blown. one really good way you could wire it is to splice into the ignition wire somewhere so that it is on only when the car is running, and you could have a switch on the dash to turn them off if you wanted to.

if it was me, and i wanted them on always, drl or parking light splice. the only reason i straightwired mine, is because i was in a hurry to wire them up and didnt have the time to locate the ignition wire. i kinda want my halos to be independent of the park lights for right now. but if i get the awesome headlights that go with my fog lights, i will wire the halos on the fog lights to the halos on the headlights and hook them into the parking lights.

the parking lights are always on unless you turn all lights off. they come on when the headlights are on. it would probably be best to use the parking lights if these are halos that are in the headlights. that is what ill do eventually when i get halo headlights.

i hope this helps you. good luck.
__________________
randomness rules!

Last edited by Pyroboy5000; 03-27-2012 at 02:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 03-27-2012, 02:28 PM
InDeepWaterBlue's Avatar
InDeepWaterBlue InDeepWaterBlue is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Florida
Age: 27
Posts: 3,956
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:611
InDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to allInDeepWaterBlue is a name known to all
Default

Glad you brought that up Pyro, why don't you want to splice into your side markers or the fog lights?
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 03-27-2012, 03:32 PM
Choquette's Avatar
Choquette Choquette is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Age: 30
Posts: 49
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black and Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Choquette is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyroboy5000 View Post
you could cut into the park lights. or if you have drl's on your truck you could splice into them. me personally i have a swith in the cab and i have it straight wired to the battery with a 15a fuze. it has been running for at least an hour straight once when driving and the fuze hasnt blown. one really good way you could wire it is to splice into the ignition wire somewhere so that it is on only when the car is running, and you could have a switch on the dash to turn them off if you wanted to.

if it was me, and i wanted them on always, drl or parking light splice. the only reason i straightwired mine, is because i was in a hurry to wire them up and didnt have the time to locate the ignition wire. i kinda want my halos to be independent of the park lights for right now. but if i get the awesome headlights that go with my fog lights, i will wire the halos on the fog lights to the halos on the headlights and hook them into the parking lights.

the parking lights are always on unless you turn all lights off. they come on when the headlights are on. it would probably be best to use the parking lights if these are halos that are in the headlights. that is what ill do eventually when i get halo headlights.

i hope this helps you. good luck.
What is DRL ? I wanted to use an existing switch so I didnt have to drill a hole and put a switch. So I thought the Cargo light would have been a good idea! I could use a relay with the cargo light switch so when I turn on the cargo light I turn on all the leds and the halos. I switch to do All! But I do not know what kind Of relay I should use!
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 03-27-2012, 04:15 PM
mikeski's Avatar
mikeski mikeski is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cary, NC
Age: 55
Posts: 340
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Quad Cab 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:25
mikeski is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to mikeski
Default

This remote would be interesting to wire your accent lights into.

http://www.superbrightleds.com/cgi-b...te_control.htm

Otherwise, just your standard horn relay should do the trick.

Me...
__________________
Mikeski.....

Morimoto Mini H1 Projector's w/ Digital 55watt 6000k HID's, 35W 10k HID Fog Lights, Blue LED's throughout the interior, Bed and Reverse LED's, Oil Catch Can, 4" vent to stock air box and two beady red eyes. Where will the madness end????
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 03-27-2012, 10:26 PM
Choquette's Avatar
Choquette Choquette is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Age: 30
Posts: 49
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black and Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Choquette is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeski View Post
This remote would be interesting to wire your accent lights into.

http://www.superbrightleds.com/cgi-b...te_control.htm

Otherwise, just your standard horn relay should do the trick.

Me...
Thank You I'll look into that! :P
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with starting problem after truck is warmed up Giddyup 5.7L V8 Specific Topics 12 01-11-2013 01:05 PM
The third truck break in Seattle uktitus Off Topic Discussion 7 07-24-2011 07:00 PM
Driveshaft came off truck.. Xxbrittox 5.7L V8 Specific Topics 13 07-22-2011 01:18 PM
Returning member with 2nd truck - 1992 Dodge D250/350 w/ 5.9L Cummins Turbo Diesel Mavericke Newbie Checkin! 14 03-21-2011 11:19 PM
Ontario Dealerships cuda71 Dodge Ram Dealer Issues - VIN and Order Tracking - Dodge Ram MSRP & Pricing Discussion 6 04-07-2010 04:10 PM


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum